We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Anniversary!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Heritance Kandalama
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed 3 days for our 1st wedding anniversary @ Kandalama. Had very nice time with this truly nature friendly hotel and staff was extremely caring and fulfilled all our requirements without any fail. Initially we were given deluxe 4th floor room though we had booked 5th floor one and later at the check in itself they changed it as per our requirement. The view from the room was really magnificent facing Dambulla lake and Sigiriya.

Foods were delicious and had plenty of verities and theme nights including BBQ night. Plenty of space to hang around within and out side the hotel. Swimming pools are unique here and view is excellent.

Only negative for us was the expensive bicycle ride which was not worth for money.

overall, we had good time and it was perfect selection to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: 5th floor deluxe room in Sigiriya wing was excellent with magnificent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArunaGamage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature. Your kind sentiments are highly appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,140 - 2,146 of 3,668 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

we stayed there for two nights. during day time the hotels looks fine but as the sun sets there is an attack of lizards and bats from everywhere which was a huge drawback for people like me who are hell scared from such species. hotel is quiet huge and it was very tiring for us to walk from our room which was at one end to the restaurant which was at the other end. but the view from our room was amazing.. breakfast and dinner buffet were great. had wonderful time at the spa. although a bit expensive but the service at the spa was great. the manager at the spa was very friendly and helpful. we slept so well in the night after getting our massage from massages.

Room Tip: try to take a corner room on upper floor. we stayed in room 541... amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sincerely regret that the concept of the hotel created some unpleasantness to you during your stay. Your kind sentiments are highly appreciated while looking forward to being of assistance to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Good hotel that is built into a cliff. Good green foliage. Good food at the restaurant. Concern is that the hotel chain mgmt has a policy that states that persons over 12 years are considered as adults. Thus we a family of four had no choice but to get two separate rooms, which restricted the family fellowship. In North America, this manner of restrictive policy is not prevalent, expecially in establishments such as Homewood Suites by the Hilton chain.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Aubowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature. Your kind sentiments and comments are very much valued. Looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We spent one night here and it was very good although we spent most of our time walking to and from our rooms! The 3 pools were amazing but the one at the end of the hotel was the best (opposite end to lobby) although lacked a decent amount of sun loungers which was ridiculous considering how much they charge per night!

The only slight dissapointed were the rooms which were nowhere near 'five star' quality. They were generally quite dark with the jungle blocking light through due the questionable design of the building. Beds were hard and there was a small boxy tv from the 90s - in a 5-star hotel?! Overall the quality of the rooms just simply wasn't as good as it should've been.

Wouldn't stay here more than one or two nights but generally good for relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Planet-Vs-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature. Your kind sentiments and comments for further improvement are much appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this hotel on full board basis. The setting of this hotel is truly magnificent. The three pools are all fab and the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The food was amazing and there was a huge selection.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonesGirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature. Your kind sentiments are much appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

lets start with the good points
- the location with wide views on the countryside and the lake
- the design of the hotel. some may think that it looks like some WWII military facility, but it has something, it is interesting from an architectural standpoint
- the room, clean, comfortable, with a beautiful view
- the staff who is extremely friendly and helpful
- the car excursions we did which were well organized and handled by a very friendly and helpful driver.

and the bad...
- it is a huge hotel with plenty of rooms and plenty of people. busy, crowded, noisy. difficult to find a quiet place, especially the pool. the buffet breakfast is a mess.
- we might have been unlucky but our room had twice air conditioned and/or electricity problem; and above all we were right under the restaurant which meant almost non stop noise (chairs banging) from very early morning (setting breakfast buffet) until late at night (cleaning diner buffet). that was difficult to put up with.

therefore how to rate it ? average.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CPC1PCP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and regret very much that we were not able to make your stay truly memorable on this ocassion. Your kind sentiments and comments for further improvement are highly appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our 8 day tour of Sri Lanka could not have begun any better than the 1st three nights spent at Kandalama. From the moment we arrived we were impressed by the beautiful architecture and amazing views which include Sigirya. The openness of the hotel and the way it blends into the natural surroundings creates a good vibe and relaxing atmosphere.
The hotel staff were extremely attentive, friendly and caring to our needs. They certainly helped to make our stay most enjoyable, going out of their way to organise an elephant ride despite our busy schedule.
The food was amazing the BBQ grill night being a favourite, not to mention the best Pina Colada's we've had.
The room was fabulous especially the bathroom and Jacuzzi which was definitely worth it.
Kandalama was our favourite hotel out of the many that we stayed at, and we cannot wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avanthi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature. Your kind sentiments and comments are very much appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
3.2 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,709 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 16 in Dambulla
171 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 16 in Dambulla
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,518 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,644 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amaya Signature
Amaya Signature
#5 of 16 in Dambulla
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Kandalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Address: | PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range: $142 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Kandalama 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing