We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heritance Kandalama
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Signature(Dambulla)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amaya Lake(Dambulla)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gimanhala Hotel(Dambulla)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,925)
Filter reviews
3,925 results
Traveler rating
2,476
955
339
94
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,476
955
339
94
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolgeoffrey bawasigiriya wingrock faceunique hotelsri lankapanoramic roomelephant ridelarge hoteloverlooking the lakestunning locationour honeymooneco parka la carte restaurantkandalama tankeco friendly hotelluxury room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,471 - 2,476 of 3,925 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Kandalama hotel was our stop for 2 nights during our visit on the cultural triangle of Sri Lanka.
The location is great and the setting is beautiful! The building is perfect integrated with the nature surroundings.
It’s a huge hotel, with great amenities, great rooms and good food.
I really loved the bath Jacuzzi where we good relax and admire the amazing views of outside. One morning I woke up with a family of monkeys knocking at my window – I went to see, opened the curtains and then we stared each other by the glass for long time. Nice experience.
The pool view was amazing and we could enjoyed the pool bath till 8pm, after a long day tour, it was really nice to the kids.
At night, they always provide us a little entertainment music.
Truly recommended this hotel when visiting the cultural triangle area, one day we went to Anuradhapura and the next day we visit Polonnaruwa and Dambulla.
Very easy access, 2h driving to the sites.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PateLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature. Your kind sentiments are very much appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is like a dream, it is so big and lots of different areas. Our room was fine and the bathroom (I love bathroom's that you can look out to the view) this one did just that.
The hotel itself is a little dated goes with the times, we had a few blackouts but quickly remedied, the restaurant is very busy lots going on, each night they have a theme food night which was interesting. It does have Wi-Fi with a code which is provided when you are shown to your room. We also visited the Six Senses Spa a few time such an indulgence but after flying we needed it, just wonderful so relaxing.
This place has a magic all of it's own just unique.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrishayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature.Your kind sentiments are very much appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Room:
We stayed in a Standard Room which was finished to an extemely high standard.
The only slight disappointment was the view over the car park but we didn't spend much time in our room during our stay so we were to bothered.
The only other thing was the old fashioned brick of a television.

Hotel Facilities:
All the facilities you could possibly think of were avalible at the hotel and in the room.
Laundry Service - Rather pricy but I used it anyway as I ran out of clothes from sweating so much (it was 36 degrees).
Room Service - Not much choice on the menu. The sandwich and chips were very oily!

Staff:
Greeted with fresh fruit juice and a cold towel upon arrival.
Staff were very helpful when we needed anything or had any queries.

Breakfast:
The best buffest style breakfast in Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebekah1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature. Your kind sentiments and comments are very much appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have always wanted to go to this hotel and was extremely disappointed that it did not live up to expectations. Room was not ready, son was sick and we had to wait ages for them to provide a bed. Used up all the towels and it took 3 hours to get more the next morning. We were upgraded from a deluxe sigirya to a suite in the Dambulla wing (after being badgered straight away to book a £250 cave meal). Unfortunately we did not get to go to the meal because we were all very sick (first time ever in Sri Lanka) and the refund they promised is still not on our credit card. Fortunately we had a very efficient Kuoni rep to help us get things sorted. The views from the original Sigiriya Deluxe room were superior to the 'upgraded' Dambulla Suite which did not have a balcony. The standard of food for a 5 star hotel was poor and over priced. Service was a nightmare and trying to get anything done took forever. Orders constantly wrong e.g. chicken given instead of beef, chips instead of rice and no flexibility with the kids meals. The infinity pool was great and the pool attendant the best. The rooms we had were 502 deluxe which was quite noisy being near the bar but with fab views. Suite 627 Dambulla wing was tired and needs some attention. All rooms have fab views. Will not return and the other two hotels we stayed in Colombo and Negombo respectively had far better food at a good price with excellent friendly / helpful customer service. This hotel has a monopoly in the area so probably does not need to try anymore and can charge twice as much for inferior food and drink.

Room Tip: Definitely aim for Sigirya wing and a Deluxe room was perfectly sufficient. I heard most people being upgraded anyway, without having to book a ridiculously priced cave meal!!!! Room 502 was quite noisy.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sincerely apologize for not being able to live up to your expectations on this occasion. Your comments are very much valued, while taking remedial measures to overcome such situations in the future. We appreciate you taking time off your busy schedule to keep us informed of the areas of concern and hope you would give us another opportunity of making your stay a truly memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was our first hotel in Sri Lanka after stopping in Colombo for one night on arrival.

The setting for the hotel, built into a hill overlooking the lake is glorious. It's a great example of Geoffrey Bawa architecture, lots of open space. The bedroom and bathroom were the best we found on our whole 18 day holiday in the country.

The buffet dinner is ok, nothing special, and service in the bar area by the pool was quite slow.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevo101_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature. Your kind sentiments and comments are highly valued while looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews