We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel room with an amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Heritance Kandalama
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Only stayed here for one night in one of their suites. Best choice if your a family and no interconnecting rooms, ask for some extra beds. There is quite a distance between the dining area and rooms, may be a disadvantage for some. The dining area did have limited seating at the start of the meal time by bus loads of tourists, coming back an hour later and we practically had the place to ourselves! Loads to do at the hotel including nature walk and elephant rides.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kvanrooyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature. Your kind sentiments and comments are highly appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,311 - 2,317 of 3,673 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

A very good, well managed hotel built in and on the rock, with comfortable rooms overlooking the lake and surrounded by farms and forest. The room decor and bathroom were a bit "tired" but it was clean and everything worked. Do pay attention to the monkey warnings and shut the balcony doors! The public areas were well appointed and the buffet food excellent. The staff were unfailingly charming and helpful. If you are a bird watcher, the daybreak walk with guide is great. It is well placed for visiting Dambulla, Sigiriya and not too far for a day trip to Polunnaruwa.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature. Your kind sentiments are highly valued and looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights when visiting Dambulla and Sigiriya rock - the hotel was designed by Geoffrey Bawa - it is positioned within the jungle and so you're surrounded by monkeys and all sorts of other creepy crawleys! There is an element of damp in the bedrooms and the hotel is tired looking. The main restaurant serves delicious buffet breakfast (don't miss it) however for a more intimate atmosphere try 7th floor restaurant where you can have a delicious rice and curry - the main restaurant feels too much like a canteen.

As the hotel is too large it lacks atmosphere and ambience as its geared to mass tourism - staying 1 night is more than enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newt81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature. Your comments are highly valued for further development while looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Could not help feeling disappointed arriving here from the Jetwing Beach at Negombo although the peaceful location surrounded by wildlife was a very different experience.

On arrival we were given a welcome fruit juice in the bar overlooking the amazing infinity pool but the loud Xmas pan pipe music on a very short loop that was always playing in this area is enough to send anyone crazy.

The small room we were taken to was not the superior room we had paid for and had a view straight into bushes. The bell boy rectified this straight away and we were then taken to a large room overlooking the lake but we could not understand why this had happened when the hotel was not near full occupancy. We were more than happy with the standard of this room and large bathroom, a little strange that the wardrobe was in the bathroom but a minor point.

One aspect of our stay we did not like was due to the open plan corridors and the location once you stepped outside your room you were enveloped in a cloud of tiny insects and these were also splattered heavily all over the walls.

It took us a while to get used to the unusual design and layout although we did not mind. The hotel is 1km long and is cut into the rock so although we were on the 7th floor we had to go down to 5th and back up to have a look at the swimming pool at the other end of the 7th.

I think our visit was marred really by the disappointing restaurant. I know some reviews have praised the food but in my experience although there was a great selection it was just barely kept warm and the cold curry available at breakfast was the exact same curry from the night before. On top of this the drinks prices here were far more than any of the other four hotels we stayed in and looking round the restaurant we noticed very few people ordered anything other than water, presumably because of this. Also the restaurant seemed a bit reminiscent of Joe's Canteen.

The best aspect of our stay was the grey and brown monkeys that appeared on the balcony, by the outside breakfast area and around the infinity pool, especially the odd one carrying offspring. I would give 5 stars to the excellent and friendly staff, especially the pool attendant who would go to the trouble of spotting monkeys, iguanas in the trees for you.

The carvings in the corridors and large white Santa in his sleigh were a nice touch. There were some traditional musicians in the bar some evenings.

With a better dining experience I would have rated much higher.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZebraLindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and regret very much that we could not live upto your expectaions. Your comments are being seriously looked at and remedial action taken and we are so very appreciative of your feed back for further improvement. Looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a big hotel, but nicely designed so that it blends in reasonably well with the surroundings and the rooms have great views & you are very likely to find monkeys looking at you through the window.

As other reviewers have said, it is a bit brutal & the architecture reminded me of a car park - lots of concrete. The bar on the lobby floor was particularly characterless.

I stayed two nights, but didn't have much free time to get the best out of the hotel.

We ate both nights in the al a carte restaurant (other guests told us that the buffet restaurant food was no more than ok) and the food was good - but the service on both nights was awful, almost everyone complained about the time taken to get food out.

We did have the buffet breakfast which was good.

I probably would try somewhere else if I came back to the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robh9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking time off your busy schedule to give us important feed back for further development. Your kind sentiments and comments are highly appreciated. We hope you would give us yet another opportunity to make your stay a truly memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our first stay here was in 2006, post-tsunami. We were stunned by the architecture, the surroundings, the people, the accommodation, the food. Subsequent visits have served to confirm that we were right to be stunned! Everything just gets better; thank you to all...you know who you are!

Room Tip: Leave it to the staff... they really do know best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us again and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature. Your kind sentiments are highly valued and looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Not the finest, but still a good hotel. I found the award winning architecture not to my taste. Rather too much cement, though it looks excellent from outside and the service was very good. The views are very plesant and in the morning with amist over the lake and surrounding forests it is quite idyllic.
I'm not really into large buffet dinners, but they were OK.
They serve properly cold beer which is a great plus.
I also liked the idea of the hotel keeping an elephant. Rather grand !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kigoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience. Your kind sentiments and comments are much appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
3.2 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,711 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 16 in Dambulla
171 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 16 in Dambulla
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,522 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,649 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amaya Signature
Amaya Signature
#4 of 16 in Dambulla
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Kandalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Address: | PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range: $152 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Kandalama 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Otel, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing