We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can’ t wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heritance Kandalama
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is fantastic designed at the top of a mountain and in a wild jungle environment. The room was perfect and the Jacuzzi was great. We had 2 terraces (close the doors and windows for the monkeys!). The food for the dinner and the breakfast was good and with a lot of variety. Staff was very professional and made our stay unforgettable. The location allows a lot of day trips (even mountain biking – what was great). Free internet on the room (ask password at the reception). The Spa was also pleasant and very good. The bar (with soft live music) was very relaxing after our visit of Sigiriya and Polonnaruwa. There you have free coffee and thee.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc1560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature. Your kind sentiments are very much appreciated and looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,588)
There are newer reviews for Heritance Kandalama
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,245 - 2,251 of 3,588 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

Came to this hotel at start of a 10 day tour of Sri Lanka. It is quite a long drive from the airport, about 31/2 hours and along ever narrowing roads culminating in a track to the hotel. Fabulous first impressions and check in after a cold flannel and a welcoming drink. You enter the lobby through a lovely breezy rock lined tunnel and come out onto a light airy reception area where the bar areas and infinity pool are. We were taken to the room which was cool and with floor to ceiling windows opening to a balcony with table and chairs. Slightly old fashioned bathroom with a bath and glass sided shower looking out onto the balcony and tree canopy. Lots of tree creepers soften the balcony edges . My reservations are that it is a shame to have lovely glass windows that look like they haven't been cleaned in ages.the toilet bowl and shower floor were both badly stained, not dirty I don't think but worn.We ate in the a la carte restaurant both nights and the food was ok. Not wildly exciting but we are not enthusiasts of buffets, the only other choice . The bar areas downstairs were also small and not very atmospheric. Breakfast was self service and good choice, refreshed constantly. Staff were all,pleasant. The best feature of he hotel,is undoubtedly the view and this is amazing. We were only here two nights and out all day so I feel we didn't see some of the features that might have redeemed the hotel overall.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noddie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature. Your kind sentiments and comments are highly valued while looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is located in the deep and wild countryside of Sri Lanka. While the road leading up to the hotel feels like a bumpy roller coaster, when you finally get there the view blows you away.
From the outside this hotel is stunning. Not a fault in sight. The views are endless, you feel immersed within a wild 'rainforest' of tropical and green Sri Lanka.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The hotel however from European standards is not in my opinion a 5 star. The rooms are basic and comfortable but there is a lack of 'luxury feel' to them. The only differentiating factor from a 3-4 star hotel are the windowed showers and if you are lucky a monkey will come and say hi while you are getting washed :) (don't worry if you are scared of monkeys the glass separates you from the outside!!!).

The food here is probably the most disappointing factor. It is catered for the mass tourists and provides food from all over the world with very little authentic Sri Lankan food. The breakfast however is very good and caters for every taste.

There are no restaurants here. It is an extra large buffet which doesn't scream out luxury! For people with big appetites however it is a dreamland of endless food.

Overall this hotel is very good and comfortable but don't expect it to be luxurious because you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: As for a room with a view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OCNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and highly apprciate your kind sentiments and comments for improvement while looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I arrived in Sri Lanka celebrate their 25th wedding anniversary. Land of amazing beauty. The first hotel we came to was this hotel, its location within the Gongl, amazing hotel design, service and food. Strongly recommends reach to the hotel and admire a different thinking of design.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avivit l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature. Your kind sentiments are highly valued while looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you are looking for incredible scenery and a remote location in a beautifully designed hotel,, then by all means, this is the place. Deluxe rooms are lovely--comfy beds, gorgeous hardwood floors (I detest carpet floors in a hotel), and views that are breathtaking, but, and here's the big but...the dining options were less than adequate.

Another review was spot on when they described the main dining room as a "school dining hall." We likened it to a cruise ship without the service. Because of the busy Chinese New Year holiday,the main dining room on the sixth floor was pure chaos. They had plenty of staff running around like crazy, but I can not tell you what they were actually doing.

Example: we asked for water once, twice, three, four times over a 20 minute period, and no one brought us water. I saw some pitchers on a nearby table, got up, served our family water, then and only then did a waiter come around to pour the water, grabbing the pitcher away from me. Same thing when asking for tomato ketchup. Twenty minutes, no ketchup, the kids had already eaten their food. Next day, I didn't even wait, I not only poured my own water, I bused my own table. It was the only way anything got done. Cafe lattes never showed up until I went straight to the manager of the dining hall and told him how frustrated I was by the entire dining experience.

But, you are at their mercy. There is nothing around within a 10 km. radius which on the road is at least 30 minutes. Dining doesn't even begin until 7:30 pm...not a good option when traveling with a four-year-old with a 7:30 bedtime. I don't recall reading this on any reviews.

That said, they need to do something about this. It does not warrant the four stars except that I loved the setting so much.

One last bit: replace the drapes please. Our blackout liner was covered in mildew.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and sincerely apologize for the lack of attention and poor service you experienced during your stay. We value your comments and would take immediate action to remedy the situation. Hope you would give us yet another opportunity to make your stay a truly memorable one. Thanking you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night as part of a five night tour of Sri Lanka. The hotel informed us on our arrival that we had been upgraded and we would have to wait for the room to be prepared, this was not a problem as we were made comfortable on the shady terrace with cool drinks. The rooms are stunning, the staff are attentive without being obtrusive, the entire hotel is spotlessly clean, which is no mean feat when the corridors are totally open to the elements! The food was excellent, plentiful, and catered to all tastes. In the morning we went for a short jungle trek, this was excellent value (about £2.50 ph). The guide was knowledgeable, friendly and we saw some beautiful birds, plants and wildlife whilst learning a little about the area and the hotel. Really can't recommend this hotel enough, felt totally relaxed after just a 14 hr stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spacefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature. Your kind sentiments are very much appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Heritance Kanalama Hotel for 3 nights at the start of our tour of Sri Lanka. The hotel is very isolated, along a very long bumpy road but you are greeted by the most welcoming staff. The rooms are lovely, with a view of the jungle and the wildlife, a monkey sat on our patio table showing great interest in our fruit bowl through the window. We were based at this hotel for our tour, so generally we were out all day, but we did have the opportunity to swim in the infinity pool, overlooking the lake. The breakfast and evening meal were buffet style, we had a huge choice and all the food was beautiful particularly if you like spice! We did discover that Sri Lankans go to bed very early, we were usually the last in the lounge at 11.00pm. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilloBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience. Your kind sentiments are highly appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
3.2 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,657 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,492 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
118 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,603 reviews
11.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Kandalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Address: | PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range: $147 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Kandalama 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing