We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heritance Kandalama
Nearby Hotels
$655
$270
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jetwing Lake(Dambulla)
$141
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Lake(Dambulla)
$295
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Amaya Signature(Dambulla)
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$137
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$32
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,925)
Filter reviews
3,925 results
Traveler rating
2,476
955
339
94
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,476
955
339
94
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolgeoffrey bawasigiriya wingrock faceunique hotelsri lankapanoramic roomelephant ridelarge hoteloverlooking the lakestunning locationour honeymooneco parka la carte restaurantkandalama tankeco friendly hotelluxury room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,556 - 2,561 of 3,925 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Flew in to a wet Colombo and was becoming increasingly concerned at the tedious 2-3 hour 'road' journey until we arrived.... Totally worth the long road trip..... a gorgeous place, amazing views from our beautiful room, with lovely people throughout, great selection of food at every meal, a friendly elephant in the grounds, bonkers monkeys visiting, stunning sunsets. Pure peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature. Your kind sentiments are highly appreciated and looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent 4 days this Christmas at The Heritance Kandalama and it was a very nice experience. The property is located on a hilly slope in the forest area of Kandalama, around a large lake , close to Dambulla and various other cultural attractions such as Anuradhapura and sigiriya. The only spoilsport was the rain, but it subsided and we were able to enjoy the extensive property, the nearby attractions and the wonderful Christmas dinner the hotel had organised. While the hotel seemed slightly high-priced compared with other hotels we tried in Sri Lanka, this is probably because of the location.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors. It provides a view of the lake and surrounding areas - very picturesque..
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royskdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature. Your kind sentiments and comments are highly appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

All you have to do is read some of the other great reviews of this hotel to get an idea. I won't repeat it all, but I will say hat the experience of monkeys climbing down vines next to you balcony and the amazing way that the hotel is built into the landscape is something to be admired. Additionally the day spa (while a little expensive) is worth visiting.

We stayed in the Sigiriya Wing of the hotel which has great views of the lake and the rock fortress Sigiriya. It's has to be a "must stay" if you visit Sri Lanka

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank mblaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience being one with nature. Your kind sentiments are highly appreciated and looking forward to welcoming you back at Heritance kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The best hotel in Dambulla! This amazing eco-friendly hotel is built into a rock face and you can tell as soon as you walk in. We had a large room on the main floor and it was my favorite room that we stayed in during our Sri Lanka trip. The rooms are air conditioned (a must for an American in Sri Lanka in April) and the bathrooms are well-outfitted with a nice tub and rain shower. The hotel was kind enough to give us some fruits and provisions to snack on in our rooms during the day. These were handy for our hike up to the top of Sigiriya which you can see on a clear day from the hotel. The views from our room and the excellent infinity pool were unsurpassed. Our package included food and board so we ate at the hotel restaurant which consistently had a wonderful variety and quality of food. At night we got to enjoy Kandyan dancing at the hotel as well as some lovely musicians who had me singing along to old Bollywood songs my parents would play when I was a kid. Overall, excellent quality and service and probably one of the best hotels in Sri Lanka. My only complaint (and I'm not sure if this is avoidable in Sri Lanka or at an eco-friendly hotel) was that there were lots of bugs, especially mosquitos, in the corridors and in the restaurant (never in the rooms), especially at night. If you hate bugs like I do, make sure to bring bug spray!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Lotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for having stayed with us and glad you enjoyed the experience. Your kind sentiments and comments are very much valued. The mosquito look a like found on walls and light coloured surfaces is called a " tank fly " and is harmeless. They are found in the hotel as we are very close to nature and an eco friendly property. We hope you'll come back and looking forward to welcoming you at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

450 meters from reception to rooms is a long hike , to a tiny room with agreat view of the Kandalama lake.
Step out side to the balcony and guess what?..... no seats only a bolted down table......20 minutes and still waiting for room service! Guess its a long way to bring a drink from the bar.
Value for money this place is certainly not it, suggest travellers look else where - this place is huge ,empty and no heart.
We stayed in room 528 for two nights around 6 meters by 4 , crowded with useless sofa and oversize desk.
Unimpressed !!!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Desarnolda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and sincerely regret that we could not make your stay a memorable one. Your concerns and comments are highly appreciated and we would take remedial measures. Hope you would give us yet another opportunity to make your stay a pleasant and memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews