We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Amaya Lake(Dambulla)
$147
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gimanhala Hotel(Dambulla)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MPS Village(Dambulla)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
JC's Village(Dambulla)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,110)
Filter reviews
4,110 results
Traveler rating
2,597
995
353
101
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,597
995
353
101
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolgeoffrey bawasigiriya wingrock faceunique hotelsri lankapanoramic roomelephant ridelarge hotelstunning locationoverlooking the lakea la carte restaurantour honeymooneco parkkandalama tankeco friendly hotelluxury room
Filter
Updating list...
2,836 - 2,841 of 4,110 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

What an experience! I was completely taken away by this beautiful hotel, everything from Geoffrey Bawa's beautiful architecture, to the hotel's strong environmental protection approach, the delicious meals, beautiful outdoor infinity pool - this is an experience you should definitely take up if you are visiting Sri Lanka. Go on the eco tour or other trek tours run the sustainable manager, Navin if you can. He's a passional bird watcher, soft spoken, and full of wonderful information.
The atmosphere of the hotel staff is really friendly. Sometimes the younger staff struggled a little with English, so we had some trouble getting the right order by the pool once.
I had a spa treatment which is outsourced. It was extremely pampering. The therapist was very good.
Whilst it takes a while to get to the hotel by road, once you get there, you realise it's definitely worth it. Do not miss this one!!

Room Tip: Suite room - the views from the balcony and bathroom are magnificent.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and also for giving us feed back of your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed it and have taken your comments for further improvement very positively. Hope to see you soon at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great hotel, amazing setting, nice pools, good service and great rooms. Loved our stay here for one night and had an amazing time. Monkeys all over at certain times and the views from the room and infinity pool are breathtaking. Food consists of a buffet (as it always does in Sri lankan hotels) it was tasty but not good for the gut!!!!!!!!! All in all an amazing place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewisY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and glad that you enjoyed the experience. Appreciate very much your positive comments and hope to see you soon at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed for 3 days, the location is just wonderful, in the midst of a sleepy village adjoining the large reservoir and national park. The views are stunning. I cant fault this place..food..staff..location..everything is perfect. Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damien h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us and glad that you enjoyed the experience. Your kind sentiments would definitely motivate us to do even better in the future. Looking forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Thanks to a weekend promo by a local bank, we decided to opt Heritance Kandalama as our holiday outing. 1st impressions; the welcome drink & the cold towels were indeed "welcoming". The rugged terrain that lead to the hotel & the dry weather did drain our energy levels. The waiting to check into our room, including the basic form filling was handled very swiftly & courteously. The Room; Not the greatest I've been to. In simple terms, though it was an upgrade to a "DELUXE ROOM", it's more of a basic standard in modern day hotel comparisons. Though the sanitary-ware were stained, we were told it was because of the ground water conditions. Next stop, the pool; KACHCHAN in the 5th floor & KALUDIYA pool (right above) were flooded with all the people that crowded the hotel that weekend. So I'm sorry I shall refrain commenting on that. But I was told by a fellow guest that Kaludiya is a must try. However, I opted to enjoy the Jacuzzi in our room, instead. (5 stars) Here comes the best part, THE FOOD!! ; Hands down, I've not had the abundance choice that Kandalama offered in any other hotel in Sri Lanka. It's an experience one needs to indulge, rather than being told about. My thoughts run amok thinking over the dishes, which I missed out. Maybe, I should take more time during my return to a brilliant hotel that has exceptional hospitality. My wife & I enjoyed a deserving break, though it was a just one night, but hopefully we will return one day for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Obey the sticker warning on your balcony glass. Those monkeys could ruin your holiday if you do not heed!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chummy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thanking you for staying with us and taking time to give your honest feed back. We are very appreciative of your comments and sentiments expressed and would definitely take these in to consideration for future development. Hope to see you soon at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were warmly welcomed and escorted to the Pool area till our are ready. Welcome drinks in Huge glasses were so refreshing.

Service / Rooms / Food - No faults at all....100% Excellent

We will be back soon....

Room Tip: Sigiriya Wing rooms are better
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anuranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you Anuranga for staying with us and taking time off your busy schedule to share your experience. We appreciate very much the sentiments expressed and look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews