We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Amaya Lake(Dambulla)
$110
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$130
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

JC's Village(Dambulla)
$68
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MPS Village(Dambulla)
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,122)
Filter reviews
4,122 results
Traveler rating
2,603
999
354
101
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,603
999
354
101
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolgeoffrey bawasigiriya wingrock faceunique hotelsri lankapanoramic roomelephant ridelarge hoteloverlooking the lakestunning locationa la carte restaurantour honeymooneco parkkandalama tankeco friendly hotelluxury room
Filter
Updating list...
2,848 - 2,853 of 4,122 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great hotel, amazing setting, nice pools, good service and great rooms. Loved our stay here for one night and had an amazing time. Monkeys all over at certain times and the views from the room and infinity pool are breathtaking. Food consists of a buffet (as it always does in Sri lankan hotels) it was tasty but not good for the gut!!!!!!!!! All in all an amazing place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewisY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and glad that you enjoyed the experience. Appreciate very much your positive comments and hope to see you soon at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed for 3 days, the location is just wonderful, in the midst of a sleepy village adjoining the large reservoir and national park. The views are stunning. I cant fault this place..food..staff..location..everything is perfect. Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damien h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us and glad that you enjoyed the experience. Your kind sentiments would definitely motivate us to do even better in the future. Looking forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Thanks to a weekend promo by a local bank, we decided to opt Heritance Kandalama as our holiday outing. 1st impressions; the welcome drink & the cold towels were indeed "welcoming". The rugged terrain that lead to the hotel & the dry weather did drain our energy levels. The waiting to check into our room, including the basic form filling was handled very swiftly & courteously. The Room; Not the greatest I've been to. In simple terms, though it was an upgrade to a "DELUXE ROOM", it's more of a basic standard in modern day hotel comparisons. Though the sanitary-ware were stained, we were told it was because of the ground water conditions. Next stop, the pool; KACHCHAN in the 5th floor & KALUDIYA pool (right above) were flooded with all the people that crowded the hotel that weekend. So I'm sorry I shall refrain commenting on that. But I was told by a fellow guest that Kaludiya is a must try. However, I opted to enjoy the Jacuzzi in our room, instead. (5 stars) Here comes the best part, THE FOOD!! ; Hands down, I've not had the abundance choice that Kandalama offered in any other hotel in Sri Lanka. It's an experience one needs to indulge, rather than being told about. My thoughts run amok thinking over the dishes, which I missed out. Maybe, I should take more time during my return to a brilliant hotel that has exceptional hospitality. My wife & I enjoyed a deserving break, though it was a just one night, but hopefully we will return one day for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Obey the sticker warning on your balcony glass. Those monkeys could ruin your holiday if you do not heed!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chummy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thanking you for staying with us and taking time to give your honest feed back. We are very appreciative of your comments and sentiments expressed and would definitely take these in to consideration for future development. Hope to see you soon at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were warmly welcomed and escorted to the Pool area till our are ready. Welcome drinks in Huge glasses were so refreshing.

Service / Rooms / Food - No faults at all....100% Excellent

We will be back soon....

Room Tip: Sigiriya Wing rooms are better
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anuranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you Anuranga for staying with us and taking time off your busy schedule to share your experience. We appreciate very much the sentiments expressed and look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We visited here as part of a tour around Sri Lanka and this hotel was ideal for visiting the historic sites of Sri Lanka such as Dambulla rock caves, Sirigiya fortress and Anuradhapura.

It is a very unique hotel, built into the mountain with an eco-slant and you do feel very much part of the jungle and part of the mountaim when staying there. Entering the hotel really has the wow factor with a reception open to the elements! All of the staff wear sarongs and are barefoot on black marble floors. The staff are very polite and attentive for the most part.

They request that you close all doors at night to stop monkeys breaking in.

The rooms are very eco-minded with biodegradable this, and recycled that with rainfall showers. The TVs have all the normal channels you would expect in an international hotel - BBC World, CNN etc

There are two restaurants at the hotel, a la carte and buffet and both are pretty high quality and cook both local and international food. The breakfasts were pretty special. The only downside is that you are pretty much a captive audience here and prices are high by Sri Lankan standards.

It was also a very romantic place with the flutist playing while the sun set with a view of the local lake (well, hundreds of years old reservoir - SL is full of them!) and the occasional wild elephant.

Now for the negatives, I think the major problem lies with lack of upkeep. There was only one pool available while we there, now that's fine as pools need work from time to time but they had hardly any sunloungers and if you are visiting ancient cities, you tend to get very hot and dusty when sightseeing! Allied to this were sun towels with holes in them was unacceptable for a hotel with aspirations.
The bar service was funereally slow, I understand wanting to convey a chilled ambience but waiting fifteen minutes for a beer is ever so slightly too laid back.

But these issues should not detract from what is a magnificent and beautiful hotel. You should go there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonymacaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thanking you for staying with us and glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are most concerned and disturbed about the areas you have mentioned needing our urgent attention, and assure you that remedial measures would be taken immediately. Appreciate very much your time and effort to keep us informed and looking forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews