We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Amaya Lake(Dambulla)
$147
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$335
$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $226/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$166
$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
MPS Village(Dambulla)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dignity Villa(Dambulla)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,116)
Filter reviews
4,116 results
Traveler rating
2,599
997
354
101
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,599
997
354
101
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolgeoffrey bawasigiriya wingrock faceunique hotelsri lankapanoramic roomelephant ridelarge hotelstunning locationoverlooking the lakea la carte restaurantour honeymooneco parkkandalama tankeco friendly hotelluxury room
Filter
Updating list...
2,848 - 2,853 of 4,116 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

What can I say.... too much in mind....but less words to explain. Simply put, Architecture, surroundings,service, rooms, facilities, food and beverages all justify every penny you pay for the place. We had a stunning weekend at kandalama and Kandalama Thank you. For all nature loving people this is the place to visit and I can guarantee you won't be disappointed. Kachchan Pool, Kaludiya pool, entrance, the walk way form entrance to the Kachchan pool, roof top, spy glass are some of my favorite places of the hotel and I'm pretty sure most of the guys who visited the hotel would agree with me. Without a doubt this is one of the best 5 star hotel in Sri Lanka and people who value nature and comfort this is the ideal place to visit. I would definitely love to revisit the place again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vimuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at Heritance Kandalama and sharing your experiences. We are truly appreciative of your kind sentiments and look forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had faultless service, lovely staff and wonderful food. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the royal suite which was absolutely superb. The drive to the hotel gave no hint of the amazing hotel at the end of our journey. We wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the facilities.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed your stay. Your kind sentiments are truly appreciated and looking forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

When we arrived we were welcomed very well.Excellent service and accomodation.Friendly and nice staff.No doubt,this is the the best hotel in Sri Lanka.But there were lot of monkeys and had real fun with them.Please take the key with you when you leave the room.It was so better.Love to visit again.

Room Tip: Choose Dambulla Wing area rooms.they are much better.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amilindu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thanking you for staying with us and glad that you really enjoyed the experience of being one with nature. Do hope to welcome you back at Heritance Kandalama sometime soon. Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Heritance was a lovely hotel in a stunning setting and had a great 2 night stay with my family. For the price tag I would say the rooms could definitely use some refurbishing as we have stayed in much nicer for the $240 p/ night we paid for the upgraded room viewing Sigiyra rock. Other than that the restaurant and food was fantastic and outstanding service.

Room Tip: Definitely go for rooms on level 3 and up, below that is dark and now views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thanking you for staying with us and posting positive feedback regarding your experience. We have taken your comments positively and would definitely take corrective measures in the future to upgrade the category of room you occupied to serve you better. Hoping to see you soon at Heritance Kandalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was agreed by the whole family as the very close 2nd best hotel of our trip to Sri Lanka. The staff were brilliant, the food (try the egg breakfast hoppers!), rooms, views stunning. You're surrounded by jungles & each of our 3 days brought sightings of new birds, mammals, snakes or lizards. We used it as our base for trips to surrounding historical sights & it was lovely to look out at Sirgriya. Do remember to take your key when leaving the room, our kids got locked out twice! The monkeys do climb everywhere & you must keep your windows closed, but they are so much fun. The bathrooms are great & provide the monkeys with a show.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrekkerJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance K, Executive General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thanking you for staying with us and glad that you enjoyed the experience in being one with nature. Looking forward to welcome you back at Heritance Kanadalama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews