We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing hotel in a lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Heritance Kandalama
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We stayed at the Kandalama in early December for two nights as part of our tour around the cultural triangle.

This was by far the best hotel of our trip. The rooms were amazing with wonderful views across the lake to Sigiriya Rock. The monkeys running along the balconies early in the evening were great entertainment as long as your balcony door was shut!

The standard of service was excellent, the only area that wasn't up to the same standards set throughout the hotel was at the hotel's own travel desk, were they don't seem to actually give you any information unless you specifically ask.

Whilst there get your driver to drive around the lake and look back at the hotel to fully appreciate how well it blends in with it's location.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NarkedStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,033 - 3,039 of 3,673 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2007

Loved the whole experience, This was our first sri lankan hotel, breakfast was superb follwed by the wildlife experience on your balcony, watching the jungle come alive with birds & monkeys (the monkey on th balcony were unforgetable), to sitting in the bar at night with lizards running up the walls & fruit bats swooping trough the corridors. The veiws were brilliant. We only had 2 days but this is a place I would like to visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davejg999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2007

It's an original building and a most interesting place. As a hotel I'd rate it as 4 stars, if only because at the time of our visit (me + girlfriend) the rooms felt a bit dated. But apart from that I can't really find anything to complain about. The staff was absolutely great, very attentive, friendly and helpful. Food was fantastic, and I can only regret we had to cancel that special thing when the chef cooks only for you and you watch everything and hang around in the kitchen (we were too tired after a very busy day).

There is also a funny story to tell and a bit of advice: don't go outside on the balcony, inadvertently sliding the balcony door behind you as it might "click" and you'll find yourself locked outside. And don't do it especially if:

• It's a middle of night and all lights in your room, surrounding rooms and balconies are off
• the air is full of huge insects and bats
• there's nothing on that balcony that you could use to raise an alarm
• the surrounding rooms seem to be unoccupied anyway
• you are naked and have absolutely nothing to cover yourself apart from one small tea towel
• you are not wearing your contact lenses so are half-blind
• your room door is also locked, from inside

This really happened to me and my girlfriend. I was actually grateful I couldn't see very well as it was very high (40 feet?) and I had to climb from the balcony to the nearest corridor. They are open space corridors, so fortunately "accessible" from the balconies. Then I had to find the reception, encountering a mandatory group of 30-odd German baby boomers on my way. The duty manager organized a rescue team, which consisted of some six members of staff. It took half-an-hour of deliberations - remember, no way of getting to the balcony via our room. Eventually a member of staff forced a bathroom window open and finally our ordeal was over.

I've got some photos from Kandalama on Flickr (plus more from our trip to Sri Lanka, which was absolutely fantastic):

http://www.flickr.com/search/?q=kandalama&w=22376030%40N00

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

Hotel has good reviews but we were surprised!!
The Hotel is not really in the jungle as advertised. Monkeys on the balcony and a great view but hard to imagine any jungle. We asked for a double room on check in but it never happened. Its a clever design built into a rock face but the Atmosphere is deadly. Only buffet available at best average and served in a school hall like atmosphere. The omlettes at breakfast very hit or miss as was the service. Very willing but cant deliver!
The value by Sri Lankan standards was not good and we wished we had stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMEESBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2007

The hotel is like no other I have stayed in before, there are vast open spaces which are beautifully set out with one element in mind- the view!! Due to the space you do not get on top of the other hotel visitors and you can truely have a relaxing & private stay. The room was excellent we stayed in a standard room but was very impressed with the space, the furnishings- we have a massive shower that over looked the jungle! I would recommend to anyone that wants to chill out and see some culture, as Kandamala is an excellent location to stay if you wants to see the temples and lions rock.

I have been to plenty of beautiful holidays by the coast and always lap up the beautiful views of the beach. Kandamala has something unique to offer, the views are more breathtaking due to the dramatic backdrop of the mountains, the jungle and the lake where you will have lots of opportunity to see wildlife.

There was plenty of choice of food and the staff couldn't do more to help you. I would recommend one of the hotels speciaility cocktails which is brandy, apple and lemongrass.

Enjoy your holiday if you have already booked.

I would rate this a 5* hotel

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RUSHBYEMERY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

Wow, Stunning location, great rooms with brilliant views. Fantastic swimming pool with one of the best views. Fantastic bathrooms. Food was great. All in all a great hotel. Only stayed one night due to tour commitments. Loved every minute I was there.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank inneedofadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2007

We were expecting great things and we were not disappointed. We deceided to stay for a whole 2 weeks at Kandelama and use it as a base to go on trips. What a wonderful decision this was.

The first site of the hotel is breathtaking with views of the lake. The reception is excellent but the rooms are something to die for. We had to get used to the plain glass in the bathrooms but it added to the experience! There is nothing like a jacuzzi in front of a clear window watching the sun set and being watched by monkeys!. The macaques were very inquisitive. We were not sure who was watching whom!

The food was unbelieveable and plenty of it and plenty of choice. I maintain a gluten free diet and there was plenty that I could eat.

The staff are absultely wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble and they never seem unhappy.

All in all it was absolute paradise and we look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Non-fogies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
3.2 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,711 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 16 in Dambulla
171 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 16 in Dambulla
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,522 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,649 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amaya Signature
Amaya Signature
#4 of 16 in Dambulla
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Kandalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Address: | PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range: $152 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Kandalama 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Otel, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing