We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Monkey Mania” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritance Kandalama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heritance Kandalama
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Monkey Mania”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Spent part of my our honeymoon here and thought it just wonderful. We stayed at a number of hotels in Sri Lanka and some were more obviously luxurious but the Kandalama had a unique blend which made it wonderful. We had been recommended to go by someone who had celebrated their marriage at the hotel and we were not disappointed. We love wildlife and certainly this is a hotel which shares its space with the original inhabitants of the area.

The staff were unfailingly helpful and pleasant. The food was good and just sitting on the balcony looking out towards Sigiriya with wildlife all around (and sometimes in) the room was amazing!.

I would certainly recommend the hotel and of all the places we stayed, all of which had charm, uniqueness and often luxury this is the hotel we think of most.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fans!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance_Kandalama, Front Office Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Dear Mr.Sir / Madam,

It was our pleasure to have had the opportunity to welcome you at Heritance Kandalama, it was truly a pleasure to serve you. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and trust that you had a memorable holiday. We hope that the accommodation and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Heritance Kandalama.

We would love the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the near future, should you need any assistance with regard to your future stays with us please do not hesitate to contact us, we would be delighted to be of assistance. We look forward very much to your next visit and wish you and your loved ones the very best until we meet again.

Thank You,
Yours Sincerely,
Team Heritance Kandalama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,064
    842
    286
    75
    50
See reviews for
855
1,603
107
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bahrain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights during our honeymoon and I should say, it stood upto our expectations in every possible way. This hotel is located in a secluded area with many secluded placed you can indulge with your loved one in your own private way. The hotel staff were outstanding in looking after your needs even without you having to ask starting from serving you at the restaurant and taking lovely pictures of you in some of those spectacular architecture around the hotel. Overall ,we had a superb time at the hotel and we would like thank the staff for going the extra mile and the management for keeping its standards high. Free WIFI is a plus. (dont forget to go on a Elephant ride beside the hotel by the lake)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shivanthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance_Kandalama, Front Office Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Dear Mr.Sir / Madam,

It was our pleasure to have had the opportunity to welcome you at Heritance Kandalama, it was truly a pleasure to serve you. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and trust that you had a memorable holiday. We hope that the accommodation and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Heritance Kandalama.

We would love the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the near future, should you need any assistance with regard to your future stays with us please do not hesitate to contact us, we would be delighted to be of assistance. We look forward very much to your next visit and wish you and your loved ones the very best until we meet again.

Thank You,
Yours Sincerely,
Team Heritance Kandalama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

I was in the kandalama Hotel for our lunch stop. Located blended with the lake, forest and rocks in the hill, Kandalama hotel is a great place to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shajega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance_Kandalama, Front Office Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Dear Sir / Madam,

It was our pleasure to have had the opportunity to welcome you at Heritance Kandalama, it was truly a pleasure to serve you. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and trust that you had a memorable holiday. We hope that the accommodation and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Heritance Kandalama.

We would love the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the near future, should you need any assistance with regard to your future stays with us please do not hesitate to contact us, we would be delighted to be of assistance. We look forward very much to your next visit and wish you and your loved ones the very best until we meet again.

Thank You,
Yours Sincerely,
Team Heritance Kandalama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel-aviv
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

great hotel, Very nice well equiped clean rooms, very good food locall as well as international. We had a problem with our reservation done through the website of otel.com. Even tthough we had prepaid vouchers for this & additional two hotels in sr i
there was no reservation on our names. The guys at the reception provided us a room for two days as planned & made reservation for the upcoming days after they checked with the hotels the status of our reservation. We travel a lot but this was the first time we had problem of such a kind with our prepaid reservatin & the first time we've met such a kind & helpful stuff. The hotel is located in the jungle facing the lake with a lot of different kind of animals .Highly recomended hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tel_avivBillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance_Kandalama, Front Office Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Dear Sir / Madam,

It was our pleasure to have had the opportunity to welcome you at Heritance Kandalama, it was truly a pleasure to serve you. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and trust that you had a memorable holiday. We hope that the accommodation and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Heritance Kandalama.

We would love the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the near future, should you need any assistance with regard to your future stays with us please do not hesitate to contact us, we would be delighted to be of assistance. We look forward very much to your next visit and wish you and your loved ones the very best until we meet again.

Thank You,
Yours Sincerely,
Team Heritance Kandalama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
172 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

HERITAGE KANDALAMA HOTEL , DAMBULLA.
We could never imagine in our dreams that we will find such a gorgeous hotel in Dambulla .Driving towards the hotel we saw it emerge out of thin air from the lush green foliage of the mountain side. The hotel itself is embedded in the mountain side you could barely make out its existence. The five star luxury was just there in a natural dreamscape. We relaxed by the sapphire blue of the infinity pool and let our eyes wander the cool blue of the Kandalama Lake & greenery of the Forest surrounding it.
Wandering the corridors & from our room we befriended the monkeys lazing among the branches & on the balcony outside our room. The rooms were timber paneled with exotic floor to ceiling glass wall with all luxuries thrown in were just superb. We admired the beauty of outside world to our heart’s satisfaction. The glass fronted bathrooms made us feel as if we were a part of the picturesque natural landscape outside our windows. The food was just excellent although with local Sri Lankan flavor thrown in and up to the standard of HERITAGE KANDALAMA & with courteous and friendly staff we just enjoyed and enjoyed our stay. Another jewel hidden in the forest. Just fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UDAY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance_Kandalama, Front Office Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Dear Sir / Madam,

It was our pleasure to have had the opportunity to welcome you at Heritance Kandalama, it was truly a pleasure to serve you. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and trust that you had a memorable holiday. We hope that the accommodation and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Heritance Kandalama.

We would love the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the near future, should you need any assistance with regard to your future stays with us please do not hesitate to contact us, we would be delighted to be of assistance. We look forward very much to your next visit and wish you and your loved ones the very best until we meet again.

Thank You,
Yours Sincerely,
Team Heritance Kandalama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

A huge Geoffrey Bawar hotel built into the cliffs, with the most perfect infinity pool, stretching across the bushland and towards the lake in the distance. This hotel was built around a traditional monkey habitat, and perfectly blends into the cliffs behind. It has open air corridors on either side - so you get to share space with its original wildlife residents. We were woken one morning by a monkey staring at us through our balcony windows, and you're never alone on your evening walk back to your room. It is a big complex and it can get over-run, but it's still worth it for the unique experience, and it is an ideal base to explore Sigiriya Rock or to join an elephant safari from.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Kandalama was more than we had imagined what it would be. We took a cab and reached earlier than the check-in time but the staff was considerate enough to check-in, what more we got an upgrade from a Superior to a Deluxe room for a nominal rate. We were awe-stuck by the view of the jungle and the lake from our room. The bathroom was pampering with a perfect Jacuzzi which also faced the lake. We felt like we were one with nature with all the luxuries and the architecture blends with nature. The food was yummy with a mix of Srilankan specialities and Continental food. The infinity pool experience is heavenly. The serenity around rejuvenated us totally. There are lot of activities offered by the hotel but we just loved to lay back and enjoy the peaceful ambience. It just made the perfect Honeymoon getaway for us :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joepane82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
3.1 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
1.6 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#3 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
4.6 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
5.6 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#9 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Kandalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Property: Heritance Kandalama
Address: | PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Kandalama 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing