We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sun Flower Inn
Nearby Hotels
Amaya Signature(Dambulla)
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$74
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$511
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$99
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jetwing Lake(Dambulla)
$143
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$32
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$44
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amaya Lake(Dambulla)
$74
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
13
25
14
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
25
14
13
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 70 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel is located in a poor area. So it's quite a walk to the city center. The room was very basic and clean, but enough for one night. There are mosquito net over the beds. The bathroom is ok but when you took a shower the whole floor is wet because there is now shower curtain.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Definitely the area is not the best, as others have pointed out, but still walking distance from everything you'll do in Dambulla so it's not too bad (I'd probably walk back while there is still light, though). Food is alright and reasonably priced (about 1500 rupees for a dinner for 2 with beer). The day tour the husband organised for us (Sigiriya, a safari and drop off in Pollonaruwa) met our expectations; our driver (his brother) is pleasant and patient, although we didn't get to ride in the nice SUV!
The room in itself not particularly nice, with one of those curtain-less showers that make a mess every time, and possibly the worst pillow I've seen in my life, unusable shape, hard as a rock and, on top of that, smelly.
Overall not a bad experience, but could have used a better sleep before that long day!

Room Tip: We got a room with fan only; probably the A/C ones are better.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayleono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Bed whitout the over sheet. music and dogs all the night. nothing around the guesthouse (also completly no light in the street). Bad food,horrible bed. One of the worst night in all my life. A nightmare!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superzeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The approach to Sunflower was rather off putting, narrow laneway off main road with old shack homes, street dogs and in a poor area. Wonder what I was getting myself into. My room was in newer building on top floor, very clean, small balcony where I could sit outside. Family just lovely and friendly. Food very fresh, simple but tasted great. Very affordable rates and Dambulla good area for day trips to Kaudulla NP and Sigiriya - good bus service. Dambulla quite pleasant town compare to some and interesting market to wander and watch locals.

Room Tip: Rooms in newer building, upper floors.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 369Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Clean room, Best food, and Great family.
We spent 3 night in this nice house.
Mother made us Sri lanka food. It was absolutely delicious.

Father is such a kindness person.
i assure you that his advice will be helpful to you.

I recommend Safari tour too. That was amazing. There ware a lot of Elephants.
We had really good time with them.
We will come back again!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 恵里 吉
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews