We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here only for one and a half day and the staff is super helpful and friendly! The lady at the front desk (manager supposed?) helped us a lot for the rest of the journey by giving us fair advice. The location is also a plus!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caleb_nkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for Sundaras Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 603 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

We felt very good during our stay. We didn't eat there as during the day we were away and for dinner we just had something light.
There is good wi-fi connection everywhere including the garden, very peacefull by the way. The room with AC, big bathroom and shower. We didn't try the hot water as the weather was hot enough.
In general very good relation quality-price and staff very helpfull on all the ways. We deffinetly would go back.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Nice place to stay. Friendly people. Very good location just 100m from the golden temple (in truth the only thing to see here). Probably a bit too much expensive. The garden is nice and the room is clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tartaruga02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The team at sunduras are great. Damien is always on hand if you need any help and very caring. The minibus driver Roy is also great and knows what was doing on the tours. Although the food and prices of the driver is quite expensive, the service in return is immaculate.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Huy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here only 1 night, and its very nice, with some amazing staff! food and room excellent! however, its a bit pricey for the poor location, as most places in badulla are dirt cheap! If you have the budget its ok, but beware that the sights in the area are expensive also in terms of sri lanka prices!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jheron1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed there just 1 day.
I'm impressed because hotel staff were so kind and the owner gave us good advice for Sri Lanka trip!
One more thing, curry set that is served in their restaurant was awesome!!!
Please visit there and try it!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yukiii2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I booked Sundaras Resort through Booking.com. Beside the standard confirmation email, I also received an email from the hotel themselves confirming the booking and my special request for a vegetarian breakfast.

I emailed them a week beforehand to re-confirm my reservation.

I arrived early, before the room was available, but did all the check in procedures, paid, and left my bags with them, and they said my room would be ready when I got back in the evening.

That evening I got back and: Surprise!!! We have no room for you, sorry but we’re overbooked and we’re putting you in a different hotel. What????

The other hotel was fine, but far from the cave temples.

The hotel registered me as a “no show” on booking.com, meaning I can’t leave feedback on that website, and more worryingly, that they were going to charge me 40USD as I hadn’t shown up. Luckily I’ve seen the money didn’t go out of my account.

I’ve always booked through Booking.com as I thought it was more of a guarantee than phone or email reservations, but this is clearly not the case. I had the same problem with Forest Paradise, Ella, (separate review).

Booking.com should make sure all its hotels have good, secure, unequivocal booking systems in place to avoid this sort of problem.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
5  Thank lolly p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
1.0 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
138 reviews
4.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 15 in Dambulla
3,588 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gimanhala Hotel
Gimanhala Hotel
#12 of 15 in Dambulla
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,657 reviews
4.4 mi away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#10 of 15 in Dambulla
119 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pelwehera Village Resort
Pelwehera Village Resort
#11 of 15 in Dambulla
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundaras Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundaras Resort & Spa

Address: 189 Kandy Road, Dambulla 7777, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Price Range: $41 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundaras Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the middle of the Cultural Triangle, Sundaras Resort & Spa offers you quiet and relaxing stay as well as a great variety of activities and tours to many destinations in Sri Lanka. Awarded by TripAdvisor with Traveler’s Choice Award 2016, Sundaras Resort & Spa stands out for its cozy and chill atmosphere, multicultural staff and a great variety of trips, which can be booked in advance or upon arrival. Located just 5-minute walk from Dambulla Golden Rock Temple, the resort is also just 20-minute drive from Sigiriya Lions Rock and a 25-minute drive from Minneriya National Park. Colombo International Airport is a 2.5-hour drive away. An airport transfer can be arranged upon your request. Welcoming guests with outdoor swimming pool, pool bar, gym and Ayurvedic massages, Sundaras Resort & Spa offers air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, spacious bathrooms, free Wifi and a patio or balcony overlooking peaceful greenery views. The on-site restaurant serves Sri Lankan and Western dishes, which can be enjoyed at breakfast and dinner buffet or ordered from the menu at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sundaras Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing