We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive staff, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had a good price for this accommodation including breakfast. If you order an evening meal, then it gets served on your table in the patio outside your door. Room had aircon and free wifi. Evening meal was ok. The crisps at the start weren't great but I had a chicken fried rice which was ok. I'd agree its a bit pricey for what it is, however. Breakfast was fine. Got woken by monkeys. The house is built on the monkey road between where they sleep and the temple which is only about 250m down the road. Owner told me they have to replace the plastic sheeting which acts as a roof over the shower area of the washroom once a year because of the monkeys. i think they've designed the washroom that way to get more light in. if it rains, i reckon that area would get wet, however. Rest of room area was properly roofed. Damian was very friendly and made an effort to chat to all the guests. Gave me good travel advice. Need to improve the food and washroom roofs to get excellent, unfortunately.

Room Tip: I think they're all the same design, although thre may be some in the main building too. Wifi wa...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for Sundaras Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 603 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

A great hotel that is good value for money. Is only a short distance from the caves and easily accessible to Sigiriya Rock. Staff were amazing - unbelievably accommodating! We arrived at 11:30pm and they organised drinks and food for us. They are also more than happy to organise cheap and efficient transport to most places. Rooms were large, clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend Sundaras!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

A nice Hotel , good location, clean rooms with AC, comfortable beds, best value for your money, it is the best choice to stay in Dambulla,we can really satisfied with the service, they'll give you fresh fruit juice when the checkin time, we are very admire your service,,,,!! this is our second time in sundaras resort, they've improved their facilities than last time i'v been there,10min Walking distance to the Caves, food selection was good, you won't disappointed if you come here, see you next time in Dambulla

Room Tip: Down stair all suites are Nice & quieter,
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KevinSiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very welcoming staff. We were welcome with nice fruity cocktail and ice cold face wipe . Very easy to get to Sigiria and 5 min walk to the Caves . The receptionist advice us to go to the caves after 5 pm to see the sunset . It was amazing . Good advice given from the hotel staff. Would highly recommend this hotel , defiantly would stay here on my next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leod7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The friendly and helpful staff is Sundaras' strongest point. The interior of the rooms are probably in need of an overhaul (decor is quite dated) in light of the cost. The little patios in front of each room are a big winner and the location is central, walking distance of the Dambulla Rock Temples. We had a great stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tans_in_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A nice guesthouse, good location, clean rooms with AC, comfortable beds, it is the best choice to stay in Dambulla, owner is very friendly and helpful ,also his families. you won't disappointed if you come here.

Room Tip: Rooms not many , very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank he m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed for two nights here with a friend and had a great time. All the staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms were large, nicely decorated and clean with good bathrooms too!

The owner is Sri Lankan/Australian so knows what guests expect and gave us honest, unbiased advice about tourist attractions and transport. When we struggled to sort out a car to Negombo he even drove us himself despite it being about a 10 hour round trip!

On top of everything else you wake up to breakfast on the veranda served by the friendly staff - a perfect start to the day!

Overall great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
1.0 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
138 reviews
4.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 15 in Dambulla
3,588 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gimanhala Hotel
Gimanhala Hotel
#12 of 15 in Dambulla
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,657 reviews
4.4 mi away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#10 of 15 in Dambulla
119 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pelwehera Village Resort
Pelwehera Village Resort
#11 of 15 in Dambulla
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundaras Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundaras Resort & Spa

Address: 189 Kandy Road, Dambulla 7777, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Price Range: $41 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundaras Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the middle of the Cultural Triangle, Sundaras Resort & Spa offers you quiet and relaxing stay as well as a great variety of activities and tours to many destinations in Sri Lanka. Awarded by TripAdvisor with Traveler’s Choice Award 2016, Sundaras Resort & Spa stands out for its cozy and chill atmosphere, multicultural staff and a great variety of trips, which can be booked in advance or upon arrival. Located just 5-minute walk from Dambulla Golden Rock Temple, the resort is also just 20-minute drive from Sigiriya Lions Rock and a 25-minute drive from Minneriya National Park. Colombo International Airport is a 2.5-hour drive away. An airport transfer can be arranged upon your request. Welcoming guests with outdoor swimming pool, pool bar, gym and Ayurvedic massages, Sundaras Resort & Spa offers air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, spacious bathrooms, free Wifi and a patio or balcony overlooking peaceful greenery views. The on-site restaurant serves Sri Lankan and Western dishes, which can be enjoyed at breakfast and dinner buffet or ordered from the menu at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sundaras Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing