We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Dambulla
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and truly enjoyed the place which was cosy, situated a bit off the city centre and with helpful staff. We had good big rooms on groundfloor and heard many animal sounds all over the place! Staff assists with organising day trips.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennipda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 628 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

Looks better in the internet, the rooms are clean and big but not attractive, and clearly far too expensive for what you get. We booked a Deluxe room, but it was very noisy, as located next to the kitchen or so. Through our trip we stayed at much cheaper and better accommodation. Sundaras hotel is probably the closest hotel to the Cave temple, but one might be better off going to Sigiryia or Polonnaruwa for staying which are nicer and more quiet. Food was okay, but almost cold and very expensive. There are not many restaurants around (at least the female manager says there is nothing), but just next to Sundaras we found Samans, a simple guesthouse that offers food. Not much choice, in fact there was no menue and the owner(?) said he had rice and curry, but that was the most copious curry we've had during our entire trip, and for the best price, and the staff was very sweet and explained all the ingredients to us.
The best thing about Sundaras was the main waiter (I'm sorry I don't know his name), the young man was very attentive and helpul and took good care of us. He also organized us a room for our next stay in Kandy, at the Suisse View Residence. That place was in a nice location and could have been beautiful, but unfortunately the room was not clean at all and the bathroom stank terrible, but that was not our waiters fault.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoD78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This resort is expensive given the facilities and lack of staff. There are some additional costs on arrival. The staff were friendly enough, and tried hard to accommodate our needs, but there were only two members of staff for the duration of our stay, resulting in more than an hours wait for food (the food was not bad however) each night.

Additionally, the rooms were average. We have travelled throughout Sri Lanka and extensively elsewhere, and this was a disappointment, primarily, due to the cost vs quality. The location is good however, especially if you want to see the caves and other local sights.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Having found Sandaras on the Internet, we booked the family room for three nights through Agoda. On arrival, they had never heard of our booking and had already rented out the family room. This seems to happen a lot in Sri Lanka, where hotel management is still at low levels. Eventually they found us a room and we headed off for an elephant safari in the nearby Eco Park, a truly wonderful experience. When we got back, we found our bags had been moved to another room which was to be better suited to our needs. Sometime that day, $2000 Aussie dollars and a small camera were removed from our bags by a well-organised thief. It was done in such a way as to not arouse our suspicions until after we had moved on. A strong piece of advice is to lock your bags in Sri Lanka.

Like most of Sri Lanka, there are very few restaurants so meals are taken in your accommodation. The first night's food at Sandaras was very good, but the second night's was very poor. We were able to get wine and beer at the resort and the manager's son taught us how to drink the local Arak (with Coke, lime and a dash of beer).

The bed was comfortable and the room relatively clean. The bathroom however was a disaster with virtually no hot water. The Resort does employ a very good driver with a good vehicle for sightseeing. We got him to drive us on the next leg of our trip and he was able to find us very good accommodation when we found our own booking to be unsatisfactory. The staff at Sandaras were very friendly and helpful. Just a bit more training would be a good idea.

Room Tip: Check the hot water and Internet, ring and confirm your booking (a number of times), try for one wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMcGrathMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

If your in Dambulla, a nice place to stay is the Sanduras. We had four nights here just last week. The place is clean and light. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was good. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pegyertent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very good location close to Cave Temple and the biggest in the world Budda's statue. Rooms are big and clean, they have also very nice menu so you can eat on your terrace and be totally relaxed:) Service is very friendly and they are helping eveerytime you ask.

Room Tip: Try to book rooms with terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

There was a mix up with our booking and the hotel overbooked. When we arrived they had no room even though we had booked and paid for 2 nights with Agoda. They sent us to a house they owned nearby. It was awful! A rusty tin was catching water in the bathroom. Bathroom never been cleaned. No hot water. No toilet roll. Thin dirty small towels. Dirty bedding and smelly pillow. They had no bed cover so gave us a table cloth.
Cocroaches under the bed and in hall way. Electical wires hanging out of the wall.
Bitten many times by mosquitoes.
We paid for 2 nights but left after 1 night. Manager was very opologetic but said she could do nothing. Told it was not possible to contact owner. The English owner should be ashamed of himself, how could he get away with this! On a plus side, the evening meal we ordered back at the actual hotel was quite good.

Room Tip: If they offer you the house we went to, don't take it. We saw the hotel which could be ok for bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
1.0 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 16 in Dambulla
171 reviews
4.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,673 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gimanhala Hotel
Gimanhala Hotel
#12 of 16 in Dambulla
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Pelwehera Village Resort
Pelwehera Village Resort
#11 of 16 in Dambulla
197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,711 reviews
4.4 mi away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#10 of 16 in Dambulla
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundaras Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundaras Resort & Spa

Address: 189 Kandy Road, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Dambulla
Price Range: $41 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundaras Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the middle of the Cultural Triangle, Sundaras Resort & Spa offers you quiet and relaxing stay as well as a great variety of activities and tours to many destinations in Sri Lanka. Awarded by TripAdvisor with Traveler’s Choice Award 2016, Sundaras Resort & Spa stands out for its cozy and chill atmosphere, multicultural staff and a great variety of trips, which can be booked in advance or upon arrival. Located just 5-minute walk from Dambulla Golden Rock Temple, the resort is also just 20-minute drive from Sigiriya Lions Rock and a 25-minute drive from Minneriya National Park. Colombo International Airport is a 2.5-hour drive away. An airport transfer can be arranged upon your request. Welcoming guests with outdoor swimming pool, pool bar, gym and Ayurvedic massages, Sundaras Resort & Spa offers air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, spacious bathrooms, free Wifi and a patio or balcony overlooking peaceful greenery views. The on-site restaurant serves Sri Lankan and Western dishes, which can be enjoyed at breakfast and dinner buffet or ordered from the menu at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Sundaras Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing