We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean & nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed two nights at Sundaras and it was overall the best place in Sri Lanka. The room was big, clean and we had nice terrace in front of. It is very close to the Dambulla caves and to the centre of the town. Food was also good, but just next to it you can find a very good local restaurant too.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for Sundaras Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 603 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

Sundaras hotel is probably the closest hotel to the Cave temple. its a 5 min walk away. the place is clean and has friendly staff. Rooms are acceptable, but on the poorer side for the amount charged for the rooms. on some booking site, this was rated as a 3 star hotel which was surely not true. it is a basic hotel / guest house. through my trip i stayed at cheaper and better accommodation.
best part of the hotel is the location. it is on the highway which goes to towards Kandy and not far from the Dambulla junction (5 mins by local auto rickshaw). Sigriya is about 20 mins away by the local cab.
i found a lot more backpackers towards hotels in Sigriya than Dambulla (if that is consideration for any of travellers).

Room Tip: Rooms towards the side porch were smaller but more modern and nicer.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We visited Sundaras resort on the 28th of December and were offered a comfortable family room for the four of us. Our stay was for 2 days and completely worth it. The service that was provided and the location were great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

As i arrived late to Dambulla, did not had patience to search for other hotels plus son was sick. Owner and caretaker were excellent host but for the price, i felt it was an average rooms and service.
Food was very expensive.
they have limited, i think only 4 rooms and their capability to cater is also very limited. In instance they said that their kitchen opens only by 8 am.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santoshbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed there for one night. The rooms are basic, clean with hot water and tea boiling facilities. The bed is too short for most of the foreigners. The cieling fan is very noisy. All the rooms can be booked as AC or NonAC!
The prices mentioned on the website are much to high for this so called resort. We got a good price when we inquired locally.
But we have to say that the stuff is really very friendly and helpful. Good place to stay for the nearby attractions Sigiriy and Dambulla!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koni21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great place with friendly staff and great service. Better for sights near to Dambulla or on the way through to other places. Nice table for breakfast or a candlelit dinner outside of your room. This is a good touch. Staff bend over backwards to help you. Room clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsjhines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

At the edge of the fence of Dambulla temple with a nice breakfast, also good as starting point for Sigiriya and Polonnaruwa.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niederfelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
1.0 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
138 reviews
4.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 15 in Dambulla
3,585 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gimanhala Hotel
Gimanhala Hotel
#12 of 15 in Dambulla
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,657 reviews
4.4 mi away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#10 of 15 in Dambulla
119 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pelwehera Village Resort
Pelwehera Village Resort
#11 of 15 in Dambulla
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundaras Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundaras Resort & Spa

Address: 189 Kandy Road, Dambulla 7777, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Price Range: $41 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundaras Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the middle of the Cultural Triangle, Sundaras Resort & Spa offers you quiet and relaxing stay as well as a great variety of activities and tours to many destinations in Sri Lanka. Awarded by TripAdvisor with Traveler’s Choice Award 2016, Sundaras Resort & Spa stands out for its cozy and chill atmosphere, multicultural staff and a great variety of trips, which can be booked in advance or upon arrival. Located just 5-minute walk from Dambulla Golden Rock Temple, the resort is also just 20-minute drive from Sigiriya Lions Rock and a 25-minute drive from Minneriya National Park. Colombo International Airport is a 2.5-hour drive away. An airport transfer can be arranged upon your request. Welcoming guests with outdoor swimming pool, pool bar, gym and Ayurvedic massages, Sundaras Resort & Spa offers air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, spacious bathrooms, free Wifi and a patio or balcony overlooking peaceful greenery views. The on-site restaurant serves Sri Lankan and Western dishes, which can be enjoyed at breakfast and dinner buffet or ordered from the menu at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Sundaras Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing