We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the middle of farmland” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sanda Diya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dambulla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sanda Diya
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“In the middle of farmland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a pretty new establishment, 200 metres down a narrow concrete track off the main road about 5 km from Dambullah. There is a bit of a local feel to it, the staff live next door and it is in farming country. Most of the staff have rudimentary English skills & struggle with any questions. All the rooms have single beds and they are a bit stuffy although the balconies are a nice touch. Wifi is only available in the reception/restaurant area which is a bit restrictive. The menu has quite a bit of variety; I would recommend the club sandwiches at 500rupees they are great value. Electricity supply seems to be intermittent so the a.c does not run properly. There is a well looked after swimming pool in the centre of the complex. All in all quite good.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    33
    38
    11
    8
See reviews for
23
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I went with high expectations over a long week end. The service is very slow, check in not very efficient. Meals tasty but very repetitive if one stays for more than one day, lunch menu and dinner menu and the buffet fare are identical without variety or imagination, but tasty.

Pool is OK. Rooms very Spartan, bathrooms with excellent fittings but emanating a pungent smell.

Room Tip: Ground floor overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prevessin Moens, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

It is a beautiful property, the room was very clean. Their rice and curry was the best we had in Srilanka. The waiters are really professional dispite of their age, the service is excellent. The owner was very kind with us, she served us the dinner at 9.30PM after the closing of the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank szire85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Really great place! Superfriendly owners, new buildings and rooms, very clean, nice pool. Ideal place to visit things. If you have any requests, they are always open to help you. I had the chance also to see weddings and inauguration of the house. Loved it and would stay here again! If you like a personal, real sri lankan experience, please choose this over a 5 star hotel. It's worth it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed there july 2013, after 2 nights they sent us the Bill with a more expensive night raté than the one agreed upon. The manager was for the first Time during our stay now here to be found and she was the only one Who talked english. Pompous hôtel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimboelbimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dambulla hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
colombo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

New Building is very comfortable and pool was fantastic. garden and staff service was excellent. my clients who visit there on 18th of june 2013 and wanted to extend his stay for one more night.

this location is convenient place to visit anuradhapura or sigiriya or polonnaruwa all locations withing easy reaching distances.

Room Tip: select deluxe room that is in new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank explorsrilanka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
246 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed only for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and fairly spacious but poorly lit. The bathroom was rather small and could do maintenance (the shower was old and the sink tap ran constantly no matter how hard we tried to turn it off - staff looked at it but could do nothing so said somebody would fix it after we left). The pool looked very nice although we didn't get time to try it out, unfortunately.

Food was very good, especially in the evening - although there was very limited choice on the menu. On our 2nd night we were lucky enough to be served a variety of really delicious Sri Lankan food outside our bungalow as there was a wedding being held in the dining room (the food possibly came from the wedding buffet and really was excellent).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKbadiabranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
3.4 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pelwehera Village Resort
Pelwehera Village Resort
#12 of 15 in Dambulla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Gimanhala Hotel
Gimanhala Hotel
#11 of 15 in Dambulla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
8.0 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#9 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#10 of 15 in Dambulla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sanda Diya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sanda Diya

Property: Hotel Sanda Diya
Address: Polonnaruwa Road | Palwehera, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing