We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but nice”
Review of Hotel Sanda Diya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dambulla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sanda Diya
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simple but nice”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Simple accommodation, room with comfortable bed, mosquito net, small cupboard, hanger, mirror. Bathroom is small and very hot as there is only a small window. Pipe was leaking. A/C was great to have! I couldn`t sleep very well because of the birds noises. Restaurant has preety good food, portions are very big, but service is a little slow, also the food was not always warm. Staff is friendly. The pool was really nice, clean, relaxing - at 7pm (night). The hotel is settled 100meters from the main road in a nice garden. For just 1 night is ok!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank znj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    33
    38
    12
    9
See reviews for
25
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Jumping to the swimming pool after long day of visiting was priceless:-)
This hotel is very nice located in quite area, swimming pool is great and all looks nicely done. Comfortable room, god bed and quite relaxing atosphere. Downside of this hotel is reastaurant - food is not very good, staff does not speak english. So if just to score rooms I would give 5 but because of restaurand it's only 4. Still would recommend this hotel for:-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The property is definately more comfortable, affordable and clean. Situated slightly away from the main market, it works well for those who are tired of the day long sight seeing.

The only setback is the restricted menu.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZAASHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We started our stay in Sri Lanka with Hotel Sanda Diya in Dambulla. The hotel has a large, open campus facing rice fields away from the hustle and bustle of the main city.

The rooms are quite spacious and well-maintained. The food (except for the breakfast), however is something you'd want to have outside of the hotel. It didn't taste too great and was quite overpriced as well. The staff doesn't know English very well, but we didn't find any issues in interacting with them as they're quite friendly and helpful.

Would recommend this place if you're planning to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikhilnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurch
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The best hotel I found during my 10 days in Sri Lanka.Good food and nice staff too.Evening walk to the village behind the hotel was very relaxing and nobody asked bon bon.I think they have to add extra light because you cant read in the room.

Room Tip: Find a room close to the rice field and away from the staff room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdevoryh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We enjoyed our 2 nights The quiet lane location and swimming pool were an oasis away from the heat and traffic noise. We were on half board and the food and service were good. The rooms were clean and the place well maintained. Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithbMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We were here for 2 nights. The rooms are very large and very clean. We had a lot of insects creeping in and out, but the place is very beautiful and quiet. the menu spread though is very small and we had a tough time communicating with the boys. they could add a few more options to the breakfast menu. The TVs were not working, but then we did not want to watch TV. Geetanjali, the lady who runs the resort was however very friendly and helpful and always with a smail on her face. It is worth staying there for the peace and its maintained very well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
3.4 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pelwehera Village Resort
Pelwehera Village Resort
#12 of 15 in Dambulla
186 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
114 reviews
5.2 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#6 of 15 in Dambulla
85 reviews
2.0 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#5 of 15 in Dambulla
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sanda Diya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sanda Diya

Property: Hotel Sanda Diya
Address: Polonnaruwa Road | Palwehera, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing