We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 7:15 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Golden Temple of Dambulla
from $449.30
More Info
from $90.00
More Info
from $110.00
More Info
Reviews (5,193)
Filter reviews
3,053 results
Traveler rating
1,627
1,048
287
52
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,627
1,048
287
52
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golden temple worth the climb sri lanka remove your shoes ticket office world heritage site your feet long climb well worth the effort entrance fee half way lion rock walk up wall paintings century bc take your time cultural triangle
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,053 reviews
Reviewed today

Nicely done temple in Dambulla and probably a must see for every buddhistic human. For me as a Cristian it was impressive to see this temple. There are two entrances to enter to the temple. As a foreigner you are used to take the entrance on the back of the temple. It is impressive to see this historical building and don't miss the view from the entrance of the citizens to take a photo.

Thank travelbuddiesallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We only stopped here as our driver to Sigiriya basically added it you our itinerary and I’m so pleased he did.

It was hot and the climb all the way up was hard work but once inside the caves, they were very impressive. Really worth seeing as it’s so different to anything else and unique.

Thank SeldonJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Nice cave temple. Lots of Buddhist statues inside and amazing inside decorations. Lots of steps to climb. Must see in Sri lanka

Thank Jayhart1597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

We stopped here on our way to Sigiriya - and would highly recommend it in that capacity for a couple of hours' stop. The temples are built 'into' the rock, creating very impressive and atmospheric temple-caves/caverns. Great views from the top (including of Sigiriya) and we walked past the Golden Temple & Buddha on our way down.

Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Stunning temple with 5 caves of a incredible Buddhist artwork. Make sure to arrive early to miss the crowds of largely disrespectful, noisy bus tours that ruin the atmosphere and any chance of soaking up the peace and quiet of a Buddhist site

Thank DharmaBum1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our guide took us up here, which was very useful for our understanding. The history is fascinating. Worth spending an hour/hour and a half here.

Thank WymeswoldOFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As many others have said, this is a bit of a climb, but certainly nothing too strenuous.
The temple itself is gorgeous with great views of the surrounding areas and the caves are extremely serene.
Women must have shoulders covered and both must cover knees, but sarongs and wraps can be hired for a small fee.
The only thing that stops me giving it 5 stars is that there's quite a lot of rubbish I the way back down (to the golden Buddha statue). Given the entrance fee is 1500 LKR each person and it's busy all the time, please employ someone to keep it clean (plus tourists, stop throwing your empty water bottles away)

1  Thank Craigogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We came back to Sri Lanka so that we could come here and other places. This temple is amazing, I seem to be at piece with myself just from being here. I also found That some people had no respect of where they were, chatting all the time, which kind of pissed me off.

1  Thank Paris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Bit of a climb but worth it, with 5 temple caves to explore and fantastic wall/ceiling paintings. Views amazing.

Thank richardsQ2803ZI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The golden temple (large golden Budda) and the Temple caves are slightly apart. Pop to the large golden Budda for a quick view and photo opportunity and then get a lift around to the temple caves, tickets are 1500 rupees and its a short walk up the stairs (15 mins) to get to the temple entrance. If it's a hot and sunny day take some water and maybe socks for you feet to protect against the hot stones. Cave temples have great painted ceilings and remember to look at the back of the doors.

Dress appropriately, cover shoulders and knees and remove hats/caps when entering. You can take pictures of the statues but not with people in the photos next to them.

1  Thank 748philj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews