We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!!! what a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Golden Temple

The Golden Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.00*
and up
Full-Day Tour of Sigiriya Rock Fortress and Dambulla Cave Temples by Luxury...
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“WOW!!! what a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

These caves cannot and should not be missed on your trip to Sri Lanka. I took so many photos from this fantastic place. And I went as soon as they opened which meant I had the whole place to myself for about 90 minutes. Go early before the crowds come in. A must!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank edwuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,466
    908
    217
    35
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique place- a must to see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's location and the religious art that is displayed can take you back to ancient times to experience Buddhism.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rossana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fascinating series of temples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Most beautiful cave temples with astonishing paintings. Not to be missed, and well worth the effort of a short climb up.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guimaraes, Portugal
Level Contributor
226 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 805 helpful votes
“Ancient Art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

It is almost unbelievable the amount of designs and patterns painted these caves. Many statues of Buddha but in my opinion the paintings are what stands out the most. All walls and ceilings painted .... out of this world

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vmimartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Buddhas , Buddhas and More Buddhas , A good experiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Well its a climb similar to Sigiria rock, personally i found it more steep than that. Its an fun adventure getting up, i think the journey is more fun that reaching there. On top you have caves filled with Buddhas, there is no explanation why so many Buddhas were made sitting next to each other, the significance etc. i guess you have to pay a guide to learn more.

Half way up, there is the option of going up the slope rather than take stairs, slope was better for me.

Worth the climb.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zoeb Habib H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Temple also viewed

Sigiriya, Central Province
 
Dambulla, Central Province
 

Been to The Golden Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing