We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Friendly Management, Nice Room”
Review of Saman's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saman's Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 82 Dambulla B&B and Inns
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good, Friendly Management, Nice Room”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Nice bright clean room with thoughtful decor. All staff genuinely interested in you and friendly and eager to please. No road noise. Good rice and curry meal. Outside space very pleasant. Perhaps scope to open up the rear garden more to guests and provide more outside seating area to take advantage of this.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    52
    29
    19
    14
See reviews for
13
85
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I took a room on the ground floor which was clean with fresh, crisp bed linen & towel.
The shower room had a proper shower with good pressure, hot water and a welcome change to the usual shower head sticking over the toilet?
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The greatest plus though was the incredible vegetarian dinner i ordered that was freshly prepared and featured a plate of rice which was enough to feed 3. Then came around 10 side dishes that were just exquist! The best food i have had in 10 days of being on the island and great value.
The breakfast the next day was a more simple affair of 2 fried eggs and a mountain of toast, butter & marmalade plus a pot of Tea. Not inspiring but for a vegetarian = satisfactory.
They also kindly agreed to do my laundry which i gave to them upon arrival circa 11am. The following morning i got it back which as it was not dry they kindly did not charge me for it - although it was clean.
Wifi was ok too and the owner helped me get to the bus the following day to Polonnaruwa.
The only criticism i had was that (although the guest house was very close to the Golden Temple & caves) being located by the side of the busy through road was slightly noisy and as such despite the above, i think the room was slightly over priced for the what you got. The curry though certainly made up for it and the fruit juice they gave to me on the house. Thankyou!!

Room Tip: choose a room as far away from the front of the hotel as possible and if you give them washing - mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We had a room on the first floor, what was really good.
The dissapointing is the bad service. (Waiting one hour for dinner and 40 minutes for breakfast)
We did our laundry here and brought it the first day. It would be ready the second day. That was not true.
We told them we had to leave early the third day and laundry had to be ready at 8am. They said that was no problem, but eventually it was
We had to wait on the third day for our (still wet) laundry to be picked up from somewhere else and we missed the morningbus

When we got the bill, they charged us 10% service tax. Because this was the first time I heard about it in this hotel (it is not on the menu and wasn't told) I complained and within two seconds he told me that I didnt had to pay the 10%.

With a bit of extra care in the restaurant (be more helpful) this is a good place to stay. For now, I dont understand this place is in the rough guide

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gillende_bizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch following recommendation in Rough Guide. Had rice and curry, a vast array of food, more than 8 curry dishes with enough rice to feed an army for 400rupees each and the freshly made fruit juices were large and excellent. Another plus was they served beer! Highly recommended don't bother with anywhere else.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mactravel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Saman's Guesthouse was clean, friendly and accommodating. The manager was accommodating. He assisted us get transport for an excellent price to Sigiriya return in tuktuk (1200 rupee). The guesthouse is only 5 mins walk from the Cave Temples which was very convenient. He speaks Italian so that would greatly assist any Italian travelers.

It was pleasing to have hot water (some places say they do when they don't) however some of the lights & fittings weren't working. The manager was telling us he was getting new beds for some of the rooms. This will help improve the accommodation. There was no wow factor but the experience at Saman's was pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We thought this place was excellent value considering what we paid - bargain/negotiate for a better price. The rooms were clean and there was even a proper shower, with hot water, instead of the usual shower head hanging over the toilet:)
The food on the other hand we didn't even try as it was way too overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LivingTheDream_KN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The family which runs the hotel was very friendly and helpful. They charged our SIM Card for us and we could use their personal computer because we didn't bring any Laptop or Smartphone. They offer reasonably priced Tuk Tuk rides but we had to start our trip to Sigiriya one hour too late because their Tuk Tuk wasn't ready.
We tried Rice and Curry which was delicious but cold and the breakfast was terrible. It contained some toasts (nearly untoasted), deep-frozen butter, a litlle jam and an egg that wasn't properly cooked.
The rooms on the ground floor seem to be better but we had our room on the first floor. The furniture was nice and comfortable, but the sheets were dirty and there was too little water coming out of the shower. There was a mosquito net but it was too small for the bed with its large wooden construction around.
The monkeys looking through the windows of the room were funny but very loud at night.
If the hotel was cheaper I would recommend it, but it is definitely not worth the price.

Room Tip: The bathrooms on the ground floor are much better than on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dambulla hotels
0.6 mi away
Dambulla Rock Arch
Dambulla Rock Arch
#5 of 82 in Dambulla
76 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dignity Villa
Dignity Villa
#1 of 82 in Dambulla
240 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#9 of 15 in Dambulla
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Paradise Resort and Spa
2.6 mi away
Sevonrich Holiday Resort
Sevonrich Holiday Resort
#6 of 82 in Dambulla
107 reviews
3.9 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saman's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saman's Guesthouse

Property: Saman's Guesthouse
Address: 245 Kandy Rd, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing