We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a night.”
Review of Saman's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saman's Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 93 Dambulla B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Saman's is a fine choice for those wanting to stay in Dambulla for a night. Comfortable rooms, good food, friendly service, reasonable prices. The only problem is the terrible roar of traffic as Saman's is right on the main road. This is especially noticeable in the dining area. Also, there is not much of a garden area to relax. All in all, fine for a night. But you would not want to tarry in Dambulla after you seen the caves anyway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sptravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 195 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Excellent rice and curry, quickly and cheerfully served, followed by delicious fresh fruit. Lion beer and papaya juice. All at a reasonable price. Happy to provide curry with spices other than chilli, using fresh local vegetables - and to show you what each is (all those mysterious gourds ....). Just right to break our long journey up to Polonnaruwa, but would be very handy for a visit to the Dambulla caves.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I went to there late and got a room on the ground floor, the room smells bad, toilet seat is broken, the tent is smaller not enough to cover the bed, dinner is expensive and not good, they charged me 10% tax without notice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate9660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We arrived a bit late at night and evyrthing was ready (I phoned before.)Very nice dinner, not so expensive as in other reviews. We had a room at first floor and sure is better than gound floor People very friendly.

Room Tip: First floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Quaglia65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nice people, delicious Lassi, new bathrooms but the bedrooms on the ground floor would need to be polished.

The helpful manager is always available to talk and exchange with guests, which makes this place a bit more than a just hotel. It is a real guesthouse.

Maybe a bit expensive by comparison to other accomodations of the same range though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Myosotys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Arrived cold and wet from a long bike ride from negombo. Was warmly welcomed by Saman, who is an interesting and multilingual owner who was extremely keen to make a recently vacated room ready for me quickly. A hot water shower and big cookup dinner soothed my shivering soul and I woke up refreshed for a day's sightseeing in the area. Was provided with plenty of tips on how to get around, and was implored to stay another night for a speciality fish dinner that wAs planned. But, alas time was not on my side and I had to move on to kandy in the afternoon. All in all a great stay and will definitely come back if in Dambulla again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
6  Thank kalakuto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Friendly, relaxing accommodation with enough food to feed a small army. The rooms are modern and tidy though a little dark due to hills behind the house. On the main road so easy to find though a little noisy too but this is more due to the troops of monkeys swinging around the place!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Robbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dambulla hotels
4.1 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 17 in Dambulla
3,691 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dignity Villa
Dignity Villa
#1 of 93 in Dambulla
251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dambulla Rock Arch
Dambulla Rock Arch
#5 of 93 in Dambulla
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Golden Rainbow Inn
Golden Rainbow Inn
#4 of 93 in Dambulla
169 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rangiri Dambulla Resort
Rangiri Dambulla Resort
#3 of 93 in Dambulla
138 reviews
2.9 mi away
Thilanka Resort and Spa
Thilanka Resort and Spa
#7 of 17 in Dambulla
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saman's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saman's Guesthouse

Address: 245 Kandy Rd, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla
Price Range: $34 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Saman's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing