We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for food.”
Review of Saman's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saman's Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 87 Dambulla B&B and Inns
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good place for food.”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stopped at Saman's restaurant for dinner when we were in Dambulla. They serve a nice typical Sri Lankan rice and curry spread for 500Rs per person (around midrange price fo Sri Lanka; but it's way more than you can eat - includes lots of vegetable dishes - the mango curry was excellent - probably a chicken one and loads of rice, then fruit afterwards) Beer was 300Rs and a fanta was 100Rs. It was one of the better rice and curry spread we had in SL, although could have been slightly spicier (although I'm sure if you asked they could sort this out!)

The owners were very nice and chatty. They seemed to be undergoing renovation at the time, so not sure what it would be like to stay there - food was very good though!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    53
    29
    19
    14
See reviews for
13
85
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed for one night there - and I cannot recommend to go to this place now. They are renovating the ground floor rooms, rain water is running down the walls, the diningroom is dirty, the curry was not good at all - with one word: everything overpriced! They charged the standard rates for these rooms - better stay away - maybe next year it is better! Owner speaks German and English well.

Room Tip: This year not a good choice - not yet renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed a couple of nights in Dambulla and had a warming welcome by the Saman's house owners. Very friendly service and the rooms are descent for the price.
The food was just Yummy ! They serve a typical Curry rice with many side dishes. Everything is home made and we can feel the Sri lankan spirit on every bits.

The Garden is nice to relax surounded by the sound of nature and silence.
Highly recommanded

Room Tip: The rooms will depend on your budget. As a backpacker without penny, i had a cheap room but with val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IvanArtyukh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Called in to Saman's for lunch, fantastic service, probably the best Sri Lankan food so far. Try the breadfruit and jackfruit curry. Very friendly service. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Me and my mate had lunch at this restaurant, the food was quite good but did not worth for the price we'd paid which was Rs: 750 per person. Yeah, they served you with different kinds of vegetables (about 7 side dishes) and a chicken curry (which tasted normal), i have tried several different Sri Lanka dishes which were much, much better than this. In terms of restaurant services the owner himself and the staff are friendly, making sure of their customers are alright.

I hope this piece of information help travellers. Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KoKo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We had a lunch here on the way to Polonaruwa and it was one of the best curry (actually the third one in my ranking) we had on the island. I loved the jagfruit and banana flower one.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Poustevnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

For starters: location! 5-7 mins walk to Golden Temple and the caves.
If you are fussy about your accommodation and arrive late you'll be immediately discouraged by the dark hallway and the rooms at the ground floor. Rather big, but old with old and half-broken furniture the one we had for 2500 rs no a/c. Wouldnt be a problem if only the bed was more comfortable after long bus travel!
For 2nd night we moved to one of the 2 new rooms on top floor. Huge difference. Big, clean, a/c, great bed, great! 3500 rs was the cost. Only setback wifi not working on top floor, only ground one. Also a small "veranda" overlooking the garden.
Owner willing to help and provide you with info for various day trips.
Would recommend for top floor rooms, location and food

Room Tip: Choose 1 of the 2 rooms upstairs despite 1000 rs more than ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eratoR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dambulla hotels
6.3 mi away
MPS Village
MPS Village
#11 of 87 in Dambulla
197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dignity Villa
Dignity Villa
#1 of 87 in Dambulla
241 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sevonrich Holiday Resort
Sevonrich Holiday Resort
#5 of 87 in Dambulla
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#9 of 15 in Dambulla
582 reviews
3.9 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,527 reviews
3.3 mi away
Amaya Lake
Amaya Lake
#5 of 15 in Dambulla
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saman's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saman's Guesthouse

Property: Saman's Guesthouse
Address: 245 Kandy Rd, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing