We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamy...!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dambulla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Dream Guest House
Ranked #45 of 86 Dambulla B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dreamy...!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had such a great time at this out-of-the-way gem.
There are now two sets of rooms - the newer ones are huge and gleaming with fan, mosquito wire on windows, pretty impressive.
They're also twice the price of the older rooms, but these are only like 10 bucks or something.
Sure, the older rooms are a bit darker and sparse, but what do you expect for 10 dollars?
There are provided mosquito nets so if you get bitten by bugs you're not very smart.
Across the road is an enormous lake to swim in and hang out with the locals as they wash their cars and bikes in the torrent whilst somehow not being swept away.
Wait long enough and you'll see larger vehicles (ie - buses) cross the ford as they can't fit across the bridge. Hilarious.
We ate there twice in a sweet family setting with other guests and the food was awesome - homecooked Sri Lankan goodness.
Maybe a bit of a haul from town if you're in a tuk-tuk, but if you have a car or bike then it's real easy, just look for the sign near the end of the bridge.
Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBBlocksberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    5
    7
    7
See reviews for
1
17
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Dark, damp rooms. Dirty bed linen. The plumbing in the bathroom didn't work. Windows that cannot close so mosquitos have free play. And on top of in all both my partner and I got sick after having diner there.
The location is great, and the owner very nice, but the place needs a lot of work done before it could be anyone's dream.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dambulla hotels

sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

this place is just off the road outside of dambulla, about a 10 min tuk tuk drive/bus into dambulla city.

it's close to all the main attractions of dambulla, but far enough out for you to escape the bustle of the city, noise, heat etc.

it's opposite a huge, stunning lake which you can swim and boat in, and which the locals wash in at dusk. as it's down off the road it's quite peaceful, and the surrounds are lovely and green. there are HAMMOCKS!

the family who run this are absolutely lovely people. the woman in charge is probably the sweetest person we met in sri lanka, who always took care of us, showed us her wedding album and explained sri lankan marriages, warned us of the dodgy scamsters in the area, got up early to make us amazing vegan curries, and was just gorgeous.

they've also got a dog rosie who is gorgeous and they are a bit of a refuge for some wandering street dogs who are great too.

because they don't pay commission to tuktuk drivers and most hotels do, if you get into dambulla and ask to be taken there, they may tell you it doesn't exist/has closed down, as they don't get $$ for taking you there, whereas they do for other hotels. assert that you have a booking there and it is indeed open, then don't tip the tuktuk driver for being a little [--]

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronniespector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

It's a little bit far away from Dambulla, the drive will be around 300 roupie from Dambulla bus station with a Rickshaw. The routes is going just above the lake from where you can see Sigiriya! If you want to go to Sigirya not using the main road, Little Dream is on the way!

The guesthouse has 3 rooms i think and they are building new ones with AC. For the moment, the rooms have a double bed and a single bed + a fan. Its a little bit dark in the room but there is such a nice terrasse u can share with other guest that i didnt think it was a problem.
Breakfast and dinner are the best as you go to the family dining room and share everythg with all the guest: so many plates, everythg is fresh and homemade, the fruits are delicious...

Well i would defo recommand it for a night or 2 while visiting Sigirya and Dambulla.
it was 1000 roupies for a single room i think.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were quite cheap at 1200rs and breakfast lunch and dinner was 300 - 400 - 500. Its quite a way out of town and a rick will cost you 350 - 400 to get there... There isn't much around except for the stunning and expensive (600rs to use the pool, well worth the visit) Kandalama Hotel across the lake so you'll have to eat the delicious fresh fruits and curry's the family prepares. The atmosphere is great and they can organize rick-trips to Sigria (1500 return).

Its a nice little place with 3 rooms, 2 double beds in each, with clean sheets and bathrooms. The beds could be more comfy and you need to ensure they give you a fan to put in your room, but for the price you cant complain! I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great home stay experience and traveling on a budget! The french LP says there's a oneman guitar show that turns up every now and then... didnt make an appearance :-(

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Great to swim in the river, lovely home cooked meal and very sweet hosts.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RnoAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

We honestly did not have to many expectation but we were pleasently overwhelmed when we reached here. Little dream lives up to the Our Pick recommendation in the lonelyplanet guidebook. Ravi and his wife run this place of 3 rooms which are neat and clean, relaxed ambience. Although there are a few things that go against this place which i though i must write about, #1 its is about 10 km from the main dambulla city which was not much concern for us as we had rented bikes. 2# they do not have a geyser... a bit of a bummer when its cold, but in a budget accomodation category not much of a big deal. 3# Food will be customised for you but a bit pricey for the place, i suggest dig in somewhere else. 4# does not accept advance booking despite all rooms being vacant till the time we reached there. May be he would like to change this. 5# lastly carry a print out of the your interaction with them to ensure you pay what you agreed on.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidewindere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dambulla hotels
0.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,523 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amaya Lake
Amaya Lake
#5 of 15 in Dambulla
1,521 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relax Guesthouse
Relax Guesthouse
#12 of 86 in Dambulla
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Kandalama Gate Hotel
#26 of 86 in Dambulla
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Takeshi Inn
Takeshi Inn
#8 of 66 in Dambulla
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avinka Holiday Home
Avinka Holiday Home
#5 of 66 in Dambulla
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Dream Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Dream Guest House

Property: Little Dream Guest House
Address: Vihata Janapada Road | Kandalama Lake, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing