We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nice Place Bungalows
Ranked #7 of 89 Dambulla B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I traveled with my fiance to Dambulla and stayed at Nice Place for two weeks. We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality and natural surroundings of this outer district in Dambulla. Our room was spacious with large bed, air conditioning, hot water and balcony. The courtyard is well tended and restaurant is decorated an and Old West motif which reminds me of campgrounds where I stayed as a kid. The radio station even played old American songs which I heard many years ago. Natasha compared the compound to dacha villas which are located on the outskirts of Moscow. We enjoyed many good meals in this restaurant as well as the raised dining area at the back of the grounds which overlooks the creek.
The owner of Nice Place was an attentive and hospital host. He organized excursions in the surrounding area, a picnic with his friends at the nearby lake, and dinners which were attended by his driver, Lall. Natasha and I took long walks through the surrounding countryside and swam at the lake which is about two kilometers from Nice Place. We were always accompanied by the owner's dogs who enjoyed the outing as much as we did. We were also entertained by the pet mongoose, Kiri, who lives on the grounds and plays with the dogs.
Natasha and I have fond memories of the time which we spent at Nice Place. I recommend this establishment to anyone who will visit the area around Dambulla.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEW_1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
There are newer reviews for Nice Place Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 397 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2011

I enjoyed my stay in this guesthouse, it is a great base for travelers to visit both Dambulla and Sigiriya, because the guesthouse is situation in between them. The location is in a lovely rural area and the guesthouse has a large and nice garden. I stayed in the cheapest room, which was quite ok for me, but nothing particularly good or bad. The better rooms have hot water and AC. The owner and the employees are very friendly and helpful. The rice and curry is one of the best I had during my 3 months in Sri Lanka. And generally the service is really good.
I can really recommend this nice place.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mart3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Clean room with hot watter. Near to Sigirya rock and Dambulla caves.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chika19821008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Nice Place was recommended by our driver - and it was indeed a Nice Place after the previous two places. The room was airy and clean, the bathroom pleasant to use. The meals were good but service was slow but friendly. (Our two very small children were climbing up the walls by the time our meals were served on two occasions and we'd ordered earlier the second time to avoid this). The host was extremely pleasant and they did a load of washing for us for very little after a rather messy Jeep Safari excursion. The beds were clean but the slats were really uncomfortable in the small bed (even after moving them around a bit in the middle of the night). The surroundings were calm and relaxing.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingwith2kids2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed here for two nights under the recommendations of Upul from Sri Lanka Tailored Tours whilst we were touring the cultural triangle - mainly Sigriya and Dambulla Caves for here.
It really is a lovely little place, very quiet and only a few guests can stay at a time.
It has a very peaceful ambience and an abundance of local wildlife living in the trees.
The rooms were sparse, but incredibly clean and modern and the food was amazing. I can not recommend their Sri Lankan curry enough - it was one of the tastiest we tried in Sri Lanka. We were also introduced to another local delicacy, Arrack, by our tour guide whilst here and I definitely think that it worth a try as well (it's the main Sri Lankan spirit and very very nice).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We had really pleasant time with family like service, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. This is a place to really enjoy nature, to walk or ride your bike and get the most out of the wonderfull surroundings. The staff was perfect, we had breakfast a nd diner, which was an everyday surprise from excellent Sri Lanka kitchen. Any time we had an idea to make a trip to old cities Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa, Sigiría it was easy to get as Dambulla is close to many historical places. We enjoyed even ayurveda massage and a herbal garden near the Place. The bungalows are hidden deep in the garden and one can have feeling he stays really ina jungle with thousands of different funny noises...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikola40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We were in the NICE PLACE from November 20 - 23, 2010. The room was very nice - we can saw Sigiriya from our balcony. Very nice service, very nice chief, very nice food and very nice atmosphere. If you make culture trip to Anuradhapura (1st capital city in Sri Lanka) and to Polonnaruwa (2nd capital city in Sri Lanka) you will have a good position to drive around. We had a wonderful driver for 8 days - he is a friend from the owner of NICE PLACE. His name ist Sumith.

Regards,
Susan Rau from Munich, Germany

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan_rau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
2.9 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 15 in Dambulla
3,588 reviews
5.7 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
138 reviews
4.2 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#9 of 15 in Dambulla
603 reviews
6.6 mi away
Thilanka Resort and Spa
Thilanka Resort and Spa
#7 of 15 in Dambulla
535 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amaya Lake
Amaya Lake
#6 of 15 in Dambulla
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Place Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Place Bungalows

Address: Inamaluwa Junction, Bellanneoya, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Dambulla
Price Range: $50 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nice Place Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice Place Hotel & restaurant has been created in a unique design with a vision to blend the accommodations in a natural surroundings of trees,bushes,birds and innocent wild animals.You can select a room with a private balcony overlooking world famous Sigiriya rock and a forest setting or select a seperate private cottage to get complete privacy. You can just relax and enjoy the natural beauty in your own garden setting or go on one of the many excursions on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Nice Place Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nice Place Bungalows Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing