We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 07/21
$167
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dambulla City Hostel(Dambulla)(Great Value!)
$24
$4
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Sky Guest House(Dambulla)(Great Value!)
$11
$9
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Lake(Dambulla)
$196
$156
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$144
$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dignity Villa(Dambulla)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/23
Book now, pay at stay
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$335
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/22
$205
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$189
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
34
84
66
18
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
84
66
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsintrepid tourmosquito nettingsri lankaair connice poolnice sizecolonial stylebusy roadpacked breakfastceiling fanlobby areamain roadwestern dishestea coffeebase for exploringperfect place to staystayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 211 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2017

This hotel is located on a main street, close to many restaurants, shops, and the local weekly market. The rooms are quite spacious, provide mosquito nets (which we didn't feel a need for), had nice hot water, and staff that were eager to please. The breakfast buffet was extensive with both Sri Lankan and Western options. There is a lovely swimming pool with plentry of chairs for lounging. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

Dear Valuable guests,

We are highly trilled to see your comment, and Thank you for commenting on us.

It is our pleasure to make guests happy, satisfy and comfort while their stay @ Gimanhala.

Wish to see you, family again.

All the best for your future !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2017

This place is for peace lovers! Very calm and quiet. Nice quiet garden and restaurant. Very nice service. Has a very good interior and decor. Great balcony with comfortable chairs for reading or just sitting and having a coffee. Highly recommended!

Stayed: November 2016
1  Thank Sadaf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

Mr. Sadaf,

It is pleasure to know your thought on us.
We always look for guests satisfaction and comfort while their vacation.

Thank you for recommending us.
Wish to see you again
All the best !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2017 via mobile

The staff were friendly. The room was clean and the mosquito net was very clean and in perfect condition. The room/bathroom was dated but serviceable. The pool area was good with towel and bar service, if a little slow. They even bought me a mosquito coil to burn.

Breakfast was good with a large selection and the lamprice dish they made for us the second night of our stay was fantastic. As is normal in Sri Lanka the coffee was awful

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Nomes74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

Dear Valuable Guest,

It is pleasure to go through your comment on us.
We would like to Thank you for commenting and visiting us.

We believe that you had a joyful stay @ Gimanhala.

Hope to see you again !
Best of Luck !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2017

I used this hotel as a transit hotel with my family to have lunch. Superb service and very teasty food. Haven't stayed here to comment on rooms. Excellent location and very clean. very nicely welcomed and friendly staff.

Room Tip: I haven't stayed here to comment on rooms as I used this hotel for lunch as a transit guest.
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manjula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gimanhala, Front Office Manager at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2017

Mr. Manjula,

Thank you for your valuable comment on us.
It shown that we have met your requirement @ you are happy with service & the food.

Hope to see you again.
Wish you all the best !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2016 via mobile

We went here for lunch in a day of sightseeing. I'm sure it's the tourist place where the drivers eat for free, but we enjoyed it. Good selection of food and desserts, and with a nice view of the pool. Great service as well.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
2  Thank natnoodle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews