We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel”
Review of Gimanhala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gimanhala Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our experience is similar to others who have recently reviewed the Gimanhala. The staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. There are good mosquito nets and clean rooms but the bathrooms could be better. The breakfast was good - we didn't eat lunch there although I noticed it was really busy with tours. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was OK. We used their bikes to visit the caves and cycle round town. We also went for a walk at the back of the hotel and it was a great place to see birds especially the kingfishers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gimanhala, Hotel Secretary at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
First of all we are Thanking you for your comment on us.
Its help us to improve as well as serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    75
    56
    13
    4
See reviews for
43
61
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire, uk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is a little tired looking but clean enough. Our room was large and well equipped eg with tea/coffee making facilities, TV, bedside lights and mosquito nets (just remember to use them!) The bathroom was small and a little gloomy but clean enough. The staff booked us a decent driver for day trips out. The hotel is well located for trips to Polonnaruwa, Dambulla cave temples and Sigiriya Lion Rock (take tuk-tuk for last 2 sights). We booked 4 nights but only stayed 3 as we ran out of things to do and Dambulla itself isn't very exciting. Breakfast wasn't too bad and filled us up enough to skip lunch. The hotel restaurant, whilst offering nice views of the pool and countryside, was hugely overpriced and not great but there seemed to be little choice in eateries nearby. We didn't use the pool though we did see it being cleaned. There was free WiFi at the hotel. Altogether not an unpleasant stay and probably quite good by Sri Lankan standards.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo_and_luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

we spent 3 nights here and had such an amazing stay. staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and were always smiling. the room was clean and very well presented each day and the food was amazing with a wide variety of choices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pawan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Good location, nice room and good pool area. The hotel staff were friendly and the place was ver clean. Nice walk in the country towards back of hotel.

We did not eat at the hotel - so can not comment on the quality or the price.

The one slightly annoying thing was that the restaurant is a popular stop for several busloads of group tours and gets very loud around the pool area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planetseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gimanhala, Hotel Secretary at Gimanhala Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

While thanking for your comments on us, its really help us to improve.
Keep in touch !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

It was our first nights outside of Colombo - we thought the staff were friendly, the rooms were clean and fine, but the food was way over priced so we went to the local (second place on your left from hotel) who served great rice and curry for pennies! They were alot more appreciative for our company and the food was superb...not the first local restaurant but the second!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathanandkatinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

It´s januari, and we came by localbus from Kandy. Got good reviwes from a friend in colombo. Nice atmosphere and pool too. Nice people and a bar too. The food was poor for that rate, and lazy staff who was dreaming thro the days. The chairs in the restaurang is very very uncomfy too. Rooms was great and with big beads, nice to realx on, then the fever took me. Two nights in urban dambulla was a experience. The hotellstaff help us find a good tuk-tuk driver for a halfday cruice to SIGIRY. Thats something folks....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielfrilans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We spent one night here as a base for visiting Dambulla and Sigiriya. In terms of facilities, this was probably the best place we stayed at in Sri Lanka. Rooms were very comfortable, with tea/coffee facilities, tv, great shower and lots of towels and toiletries. The only issue could be noise from the very busy road running past the hotel. Not a problem for us as we were getting up early, but probably not the place for a lie-in!

The on-site restaurant and bar was also very good, although could get quite busy with tour groups coming through. Prices were also very high for Sri Lanka, but there isn't really much choice in Dambulla. The setting is great, looking out onto the pool and the rural landscape beyond.

The staff were also very helpful, with the guy at reception pointing out to us where to catch the local bus to Sigiriya (we'd never have known otherwise!), and also advising us of the best way to travel on to Negombo. The cave temples are also very close, only a 5 minute, 100 rupee tuk-tuk ride away.

Overall, I'd recommend this place as a good base for visiting the cultural triangle, especially if you're relying on public transport. If you have a car, maybe the countryside around Sigiriya would be more rewarding. Just wish the restaurant prices were a bit more reasonable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalhamWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
4.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,440 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#4 of 15 in Dambulla
81 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pelwehera Village Resort
Pelwehera Village Resort
#12 of 15 in Dambulla
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,555 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
542 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Paradise Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gimanhala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gimanhala Hotel

Property: Gimanhala Hotel
Address: 754 Anuradhapura Road | 754, Anuradhapura Road, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, Gimanhala located in center of Dambulla, Sri Lanka since 1988 for last 28 years as two (02) star Hotel. We are capable in catering 150 odd guests meal during the Lunch hour. (12.00 to 03.00 - daily) Daily Breakfast Buffet is also available from 07.00 to 09.30 am. 30 standard guest rooms are most popular among the both Transit & Leisure based guests. Outdoor swimming pool, free push cycles, are available for resident guests. Traveler's cafe, Traveler's Boutique will be also open from 07.00 am to 10.00 pm. We handle Airport transfers, round tours, special events, and many more which meets guests requirement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gimanhala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing