We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and refreshing pool”
Review of Gimanhala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gimanhala Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice room and refreshing pool”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

It was our first nights outside of Colombo - we thought the staff were friendly, the rooms were clean and fine, but the food was way over priced so we went to the local (second place on your left from hotel) who served great rice and curry for pennies! They were alot more appreciative for our company and the food was superb...not the first local restaurant but the second!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathanandkatinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    75
    56
    13
    4
See reviews for
43
61
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

It´s januari, and we came by localbus from Kandy. Got good reviwes from a friend in colombo. Nice atmosphere and pool too. Nice people and a bar too. The food was poor for that rate, and lazy staff who was dreaming thro the days. The chairs in the restaurang is very very uncomfy too. Rooms was great and with big beads, nice to realx on, then the fever took me. Two nights in urban dambulla was a experience. The hotellstaff help us find a good tuk-tuk driver for a halfday cruice to SIGIRY. Thats something folks....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielfrilans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We spent one night here as a base for visiting Dambulla and Sigiriya. In terms of facilities, this was probably the best place we stayed at in Sri Lanka. Rooms were very comfortable, with tea/coffee facilities, tv, great shower and lots of towels and toiletries. The only issue could be noise from the very busy road running past the hotel. Not a problem for us as we were getting up early, but probably not the place for a lie-in!

The on-site restaurant and bar was also very good, although could get quite busy with tour groups coming through. Prices were also very high for Sri Lanka, but there isn't really much choice in Dambulla. The setting is great, looking out onto the pool and the rural landscape beyond.

The staff were also very helpful, with the guy at reception pointing out to us where to catch the local bus to Sigiriya (we'd never have known otherwise!), and also advising us of the best way to travel on to Negombo. The cave temples are also very close, only a 5 minute, 100 rupee tuk-tuk ride away.

Overall, I'd recommend this place as a good base for visiting the cultural triangle, especially if you're relying on public transport. If you have a car, maybe the countryside around Sigiriya would be more rewarding. Just wish the restaurant prices were a bit more reasonable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalhamWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Clean and comfortable accommodation and a gorgeous pool for a 2 star hotel. Sadly the innocuous home-style cooking comes at 5 star Hotel prices. Chicken in a basket @ LR 950 leaves a bad taste in the mouth.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericefrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val-des-Monts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

After staying in decaying guest houses this hotel is idyllic. Despite being on the main drag, the rooms are spacious, clean with a TV, kettle, tea or coffee and wash up items. Mosquito nets a also available. The staff are helpful and courteous. The pool is spotless, no signs of mould from monsoon times and the restaurant, while not inexpensive, has a lovely setting and good food. This country is trying to get back on its feet, and this hotel is certainly trying to match western standards. There is free wifi in the lounge as well. It is well situated for the Temple Caves, which is the only reason for coming here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadiaHVal_des_Monts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed only 1 night on an Intrepid tour. This was probably the nicest hotel of our tour. My room was very attractive...wood panelling and furniture, a lovely tea wagon, TV, comfy bed. I believe it was room #1 (right beside reception). The staff at reception were women (unusual) and very polite/nice to me (in Sri Lanka and India, I found that male staff at some hotels were arrogant, I presume due to my gender). My bathroom was humid and uncomfortable due to the window opening to the outdoors (which as usual allowed some mosquitoes to get in) but the shower was fine and the bathroom was clean and bright. The pool is large and excellent for doing lengths; also nice for just chilling beside due to the lovely foliage/trees.
We had the "special" at dinner (a Sri Lankan dish) and it was stupendous. Wine/beer are also available (which was not the case often in the hotels we went to).
Located on a busy street...I recall hearing traffic early in the a.m., though. Not far from the wonderful buddhist temple at Dambulla, including the gorgeous views of the countryside from the top (watch out for those monkeys!!). Highly recommend it! My only "four star" rating for Sri Lanka (Intrepid picked my hotels for me, of course)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

the Gimanhalla has the look and feel of nice 60's motel:

because it's on the main road in Dambulla, it can get pretty noisy no matter when you are in the hotel. the rooms don't really have a view on anything - they barely have a window, so most people go in the hallway/patio, or by the pool area which is quite nice.

the people at reception are very nice, but in the restaurant not so much.

not bad to stop in for a night, but no more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeTwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
4.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,440 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#4 of 15 in Dambulla
81 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pelwehera Village Resort
Pelwehera Village Resort
#12 of 15 in Dambulla
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,555 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
542 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Paradise Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gimanhala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gimanhala Hotel

Property: Gimanhala Hotel
Address: 754 Anuradhapura Road | 754, Anuradhapura Road, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, Gimanhala located in center of Dambulla, Sri Lanka since 1988 for last 28 years as two (02) star Hotel. We are capable in catering 150 odd guests meal during the Lunch hour. (12.00 to 03.00 - daily) Daily Breakfast Buffet is also available from 07.00 to 09.30 am. 30 standard guest rooms are most popular among the both Transit & Leisure based guests. Outdoor swimming pool, free push cycles, are available for resident guests. Traveler's cafe, Traveler's Boutique will be also open from 07.00 am to 10.00 pm. We handle Airport transfers, round tours, special events, and many more which meets guests requirement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gimanhala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing