We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool, high prices, stand offish service”
Review of Gimanhala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gimanhala Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Porirua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pool, high prices, stand offish service”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Srayed two nights here. It's a big impersonal hotel with a great pool. The food was ordinary from a limited menu and twice the price of elsewhere. The room only has one power point. The pool is fantastic though, the location is great and there is a well stocked bar .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdrianParkerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    75
    56
    13
    4
See reviews for
43
60
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I recommend this hotel to everybody who are going with family or otherwise. Very honest, impeccable staff. From day one I arrived I was amazed at the way they had arranged for my two kids.
Breakfast was sumptuous and tasty.
Very close to all near by places and restaurants

Room Tip: Very Good and value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avid_traveller7267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for two days there. Though the room was clean enough, there was no room service. We had to carry our luggage on our own and no enough tea or coffee in the room. We had to ask for them several times. Cannot comment on food, because not enough choices we had. But the soup was AWFUL! Not worth for what you pay :-(

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dambulla hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here 3 days (ideal to visit Pollonaruwa, Sigariya and Dambulla). Staff is very friendly, rooms are great (and big), food is very good as well. And it is great to sit and relax at the side of the pool after a day-trip. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An_Dirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lopburi
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

This place is very confortale and clean. Staff is always smiling. The swimming pool is open from 7 to 18:30 to guests only. The restaurant is nice, with buffet formula (1300 per person) at lunch time and 'à la carte' in the evening. This hotel is a good base to visit Sigiriya and Polonnaruwa. You will not need more than two nights to complete the tour.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lopbuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel was recommended to us and we would visit Dambulla again just for this hotel. It is nicely clean and beautifully built with cool red floors. The swimming pool is a gem. Food in the restaurant is swiftly served and supertasty (both Western and Sri Lankan). Of course, there's wifi and all other amenities.
Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MomandKiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, Essex
Level Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Hotel is located at the northern end of town just off the busy road about which it has spread, so traffic noise is evident, particularly in the morning. However the hotel possesses extensive gardens and a large swimming pool that allow a degree of escape in the late afternoon after sightseeing. Rooms are large, comfortable and well equipped with satellite TV, a/c, toiletries and excellent showers. Restaurant provides an extensive menu and the 3 course dish of the day was very good value. Western dishes were biased towards meat and would have benefitted from more vegetables. Buffet breakfast provided an excellent range of Sri-Lankan and western-style cooked items as well as breads, cakes and fruits. All staff were courteous and efficient. All in all, the hotel represents excellent value.

Apart from the Cave Temples, which are spectacular in their imagery, the town of Dambulla has few attractions but it provides a good base to visit Sigiriya and allows onward travel if travelling by bus to other locations in the Cultural Triangle or south to Kandy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prujim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
4.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,414 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#3 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pelwehera Village Resort
Pelwehera Village Resort
#11 of 15 in Dambulla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#10 of 15 in Dambulla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#8 of 15 in Dambulla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gimanhala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gimanhala Hotel

Property: Gimanhala Hotel
Address: 754 Anuradhapura Road | 754, Anuradhapura Road, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Dambulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, Gimanhala located in center of Dambulla, Sri Lanka since 1988 for last 28 years as two (02) star Hotel. We are capable in catering 150 odd guests meal during the Lunch hour. (12.00 to 03.00 - daily) Daily Breakfast Buffet is also available from 07.00 to 09.30 am. 30 standard guest rooms are most popular among the both Transit & Leisure based guests. Outdoor swimming pool, free push cycles, are available for resident guests. Traveler's cafe, Traveler's Boutique will be also open from 07.00 am to 10.00 pm. We handle Airport transfers, round tours, special events, and many more which meets guests requirement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gimanhala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing