We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommendable. Friendly staff”
Review of Gimanhala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gimanhala Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Dambulla
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2012. Clean hotel with a nice pool next to the restaurant. The staff is very friendly. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. Breakfast was good. For lunch they usually had a buffet and dinner you can order from the menu. We ate at the restaurant once. The other two nights we at a small restaurant not far away from the hotel (in walking distance). It was called the Travellers Stop - Chinese and Mexican Food. When you exit the hotel you turn right and walk about 5 minutes. The food was as good as if not better than in the hotel. The hotel food was good but afterwards you were still hungry.

Room Tip: If you need wi-fi the rooms closer to the reception have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gelbroeschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 193 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed two night at this place. I admit the reception area is a bit gloomy, but staff was very helpful, my room was spotless clean, tea, coffee, aircon, fan all in the room. The service was ok, restaurant facing the pool at the back. Yes, the road was very busy, but you have to keep the windows closed not to have mosquitos in, so you dont hear the sound of the traffic at night.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ozturkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We ended up here after leaving an other shabby dirty guesthouse. Although the price was higher than other places we stayed everything was great. Nice clean rooms, friendly staff, good food and a nice pool.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colin_ijpelaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The hotel is housed in a pleasant building,with a nice restaurant outside facing the pool.
Dont expect luxury but comfortable,clean rooms with a/c,staff is gentle and helpful.
Breakfast and meals are OK.The small take-away at the entrance of the hotel prepares good meals at very reasonable prices.
Good choise to visit the surroundings

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ennio36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

If you want to stay in the best place in Dambulla then I guess that this is it. The reception area was a bit dark and gloomy and so was the ground floor corridor but the receptionist was friendly and efficient and almost all the rest of the staff were too. The room was fine and so was the attached bathroom. The buffet breakfast (included) was OK as were the dinners I ate there. There was a nice small swimming pool with a seating area. The big negative was the service in the bar area - there wasn't any! It was necessary to go and find someone to serve and trying to get the bill to check and sign was an arduous marathon! The gentleman who seemed to be in charge of the bar area, but was never there, was not very helpful. All in all I would recommend this place although I do wonder if they rely on the fact that they do not have any comparable competition in the area.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor and it was fine...its location just off the main road was not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trav53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The hotel is clean and well appointed. Rooms are air-conditioned and of a decent size, without being large.
Staff are friendly and courteous and willing to make efforts to make you comfortable.
The restaurant is very attractive, being open to the outdoor swimming pool (unfortunately in need of cleaning), well laid out and furnished.
The service, however, was slow and less than efficient. The food was of an acceptable standard but nothing to write home about. A little more effort to cater to the tastes of overseas guests, while promoting local cuisine more effectively, would benefit the hotel greatly, considering this is one of its most vital functions.
Finally, while I would recommend the hotel, despite its minor shortcomings, it must be noted that the hotel stands on a busy and noisy street and is perhaps not the ideal choice for the light sleeper.

Room Tip: First floor and near the restaurant - furthest from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenPark35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Had 4 nights here as we used it as a base for exploring the surrounding area forsome R&R. The rooms were good with plenty of towels for a change and a shower that didn't spray the whole bathroom when you used it. The food in the restaurant was a reasonable buffet altho veggie choices were limited. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The pool was good and considering the main road isn't too far away, was peaceful & relaxing. There wasn't a lot of chioce close by (walk-able) for bars ot restaurants expect for one local bar about 10 minutes walk away where the food and beer was reasonable

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
2.1 mi away
Pelwehera Village Resort
Pelwehera Village Resort
#13 of 18 in Dambulla
203 reviews
4 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#4 of 18 in Dambulla
3,758 reviews
6.1 mi away
Arika Boutique Villa
Arika Boutique Villa
#12 of 18 in Dambulla
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Fresco Water Villa
Fresco Water Villa
#12 of 21 in Sigiriya
284 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#2 of 18 in Dambulla
215 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sundaras Resort & Spa
Sundaras Resort & Spa
#11 of 18 in Dambulla
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gimanhala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gimanhala Hotel

Address: 754 Anuradhapura Road | 754, Anuradhapura Road, Dambulla 21100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Dambulla
Price Range: $49 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, Gimanhala located in center of Dambulla, Sri Lanka since 1988 for last 28 years as two (02) star Hotel. We are capable in catering 150 odd guests meal during the Lunch hour. (12.00 to 03.00 - daily) Daily Breakfast Buffet is also available from 07.00 to 09.30 am. 30 standard guest rooms are most popular among the both Transit & Leisure based guests. Outdoor swimming pool, free push cycles, are available for resident guests. Traveler's cafe, Traveler's Boutique will be also open from 07.00 am to 10.00 pm. We handle Airport transfers, round tours, special events, and many more which meets guests requirement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gimanhala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing