We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
17
19
8
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
17
19
8
8
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 54 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2017

+ Positive
1. The house is near railway station and historical sites ( walking distance)
2. Friendly and helpful host. Provided me constructive local advice
3. Cute dogs at the house.

- Negative
1. Slightly overpriced for a room that doesn't have hot water, A/C and breakfast. It was advised at booking.com as 2,060 rupees. Then when it comes to payment it becomes 2,500 rupees as taxes were not included.
2. Noises from outside can be heard at night (temple noises and dogs fighting)
3. Odd colour room that makes the room looks dark
4. Had the hotel to organise tuk-tuk driver for me. Especially requested someone who can speak basic English and the lady said ok. Although my tuk-tuk driver was friendly and gentle, we were not able to communicate due to language barrier.

9/10 rating for the host's friendly advice. But 6/10 rating for overall score, due to the cleanness of the room, misleading pricing and tuk-tuk driver arranged.

Room tip: Be aware of the addition tax to be paid
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank regina_chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2016 via mobile

The woman in charge was not in the city (baby) and so the man who stayed as the keeper was a disaster, nice but cheeky, and his English was pretty bad, also it was our first night and we had lots of questions and doubts. Helpful but he always asked for high rates of his services. Not worthy to pay a tuktuk for visiting the ruins, you can walk around easily for 4 hours and visit most of monuments / insuficiente para ser nuestra primera noche, cerca de la estación y de la calle principal, la ducha era fría y bastante mala, el señor un poco caradura quería sacarnos la pasta por todo.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Par1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

We came here because of all these good recomondations and were really shocked to see how awful and dirty the house and rooms were. But we decided to stay because host offered us a good price: 2 nights in big room for 5000 Rs. When we wanted to pay in the end they told us it was 5000Rs per night! And that s definetly ridiculously overexpensive! Everything is dirty - especially bed sheets: disgusting! Also breakfast was not good. We would have never take the room if we had known the real price! Why didn t we complain? We had no reservation and our stay took the host by surprise. That s why we thought we have to ignore all that dirt... And we thought rooms were really cheap and fair price. But in the end we regret staying here even though host family was quite nice and friendly. But nothing special so I would not recomend this guesthouse!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 832lv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2016

The girl running Senowin wasnt in Anuradhapura at the time of our stay, but took care of all the organizations anyway - pick up from the railway station, day trip to the sacred city, while her mom took care of breakfast and check-out. We arrived in the evening, and immediately were upsold to an AC-room (thank goodness) - room was very comfortable, airconditioned, free wifi, bathroom clean but a bit small. Good location - we took the tuktuk option to explore the sacred city, but the owner can organize bicycles as well. Re: food, I have to admit that Anuradhapura is a bit wanting in the gastronomy sector - it would have been smarter of us to organize a home-cooked meal (we hadnt caught onto this culinary custom of Sri Lankan travels yet).

Room tip: Room with air-conditioning recommended
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bkochar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and had a wonderful time. The location is perfect and quiet, we had a room nearby the railway tracks but it doenst bother at all. The hostess is as helpfull as you can wish + very honest and gives you good tips and tricks to discover the city. You Will not regret your stay here AT ALL. Thank you for our experience in Anuradhapura! Elise en Teun

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Teun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews