We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat.”
Review of Hotel Shalini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Shalini
Ranked #69 of 143 Anuradhapura B&B and Inns
Peebles Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great place to eat.”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Went here for a meal in a small group one night and would recommend the experience.Very tradational Sri Lankin food was served which was of a very good standard.Wide choices of rice and various dishes layed out down the centre od the table and there was ample amounts for everybody.Staff were friendly and helpful.Great experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    56
    32
    13
    15
See reviews for
20
64
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We had a nice stay here - the first room we had was clean but smelt a bit damp. We asked to move the next day and the next room was fine. The food was lovely and there was lots of it - great value full board option with a whole range of unusual sides such as baked okra, deep fried aubergine and sauted lotus shoots. We went across the road to the Galway Miradya hotel and used their pool for 350 rp pp / towels provided - although that hotel is not well reviewed the pool was lovely. Its fairly close to town and a tuk tuk cost 150/200 rps. If you want a change of food there is a chinese restaurant on the main street of town.

Room Tip: fine - good base to see the sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Some previous reviews have been a bit harsh: ok, Shalini does have old furnishings, but it's clean, staff are friendly, and we thought the food was some of the best we had in Sri Lanka. The guide who works from the hotel, Rameez, gave us an excellent tour round the Anuradhapura's remarkable sights. Overall, a decent, good value place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I stayed at the hotel 2 nights. I arrived late the first one, but I was still served some delicious food, really yummy and as usual in Sri Lanka, extremely veggie friendly. I had only one day to stay in the city before going back south so I decided to take the guide for the day in order to make the most of it. I think that was the best decision I made. the guide Rameez speaks good english and he really knows his stuff. We visited everything on bikes, which was an absolute pleasure, he showed me everything that I wanted to see and more, he understood that I didn't want to be rushed and so we took our time. One of the best day of my stay in Sri Lanka. For the hotel, I don't remember it being over priced and I definitly know that the food is really cheap compared to the quantity and quality. Overall, I would recommand the hotel.

Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank aventurina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The room was clean but small. The food was delicious and the friendly waiter taught us how to eat with our fingers, Sri Lankan style. We had a good stay, but it was overpriced, compared to the places we stayed at in the rest of the country.
They organised bikes for us to hire - great value and an amazing way to explore all the ruins.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKerr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We have spent 2 nights here. The house has a lot of charm from outside, but the rooms are very old with run-down furniture. The glass door of our room let all the noise in, plus the light from the common areas. Some other reviews mentioned this place is dirty. I found it clean but it might look dirty because the furniture/bathroom is old. Meals (especially breakfast Rs 500 pp) were expensive, and nothing included in price. Although I must admit the meals are delicious.
This was the most expensive accommodation we stayed at, but the least pleasant experience we had. If they just halved their prices, I would not complain but you get no value for your money here.
WiFi internet for extra cost.
We were disappointed by the staff who was too keen on finding transportation for us for an incredibly high price that obviously we did not accept but made much cheaper deals directly with the tuk-tuk owners.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anuradhapura hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

The staff were very friendly,hard-working and helpful.The food was good and the room was very comfortable.The hotel is close to the centre of the city and they offer a free pick-up service.
The only downside was the overpriced tuk-tuk trip to Mihintale.The driver wanted 1500 rupees for a trip that costs 50 rupees return by local bus.Needless to say I went by bus!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slonukhi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
0.4 mi away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
0.5 mi away
Milano Tourist Rest
Milano Tourist Rest
#3 of 143 in Anuradhapura
447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Senowin Holiday Resort
Senowin Holiday Resort
#47 of 143 in Anuradhapura
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
London Palace
London Palace
#10 of 143 in Anuradhapura
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Omelga Family Resort
Omelga Family Resort
#92 of 143 in Anuradhapura
8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Side Hotel
Lake Side Hotel
#70 of 143 in Anuradhapura
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shalini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shalini

Property: Hotel Shalini
Address: 41/388 | Harischandra Mawatha, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Anuradhapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 A/C & 02 Non - A/C Rooms with Balcony or Terrace, H/C water with Jet Showers, Fans, Wireless ADSL WiFi Internet facility,IDD Telephone, Mosquito Nets, Electrical Mosquito Vaporizer, Satellite Television (TV5, DW TV, BBC, NHK, CNN, STAR Channels etc). Room Service, Conference and Banquet facilities, Free tourist information service, same day laundry facilities etc....Homely atmosphere and quiet environment with open air restaurant at first floor serving western, eastern and Chinese food, roof top beer garden, satellite television, Cyber cafe with wireless ADSL WiFi system. Bicycles for hire.Free pick up on arrival & free drop off on departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Shalini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing