We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed only one night; would have loved to stay longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palm Garden Village Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I loved this at first sight. This large property is spread out amongst beautiful trees. We were told they were planted by the owner, but we got a feel of a natural forest. Rooms are in bungalows, with sit outs with lounging chairs. Birds chirping, the ambience of the forest charmed me completely. There is a lake adjoining the property, which is easily accessible from the hotel. Numerous birds were at the lake. As I was part of a tour group, I am not aware of the price, so I cannot comment on value for money. Rooms are spacious. The pool is huge and inviting. If I return, and I would love to,I would definitely consider this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoshanShroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 759 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

Location and Access – Situated in a wooded tranquil location. A vehicle is recommended to stay here and there is free parking. On the outskirts of the city the main sights are 10 to 15 minutes drive. No local shops, bars or restaurants. Note there are some stairs/steps to negotiate in the grounds and to reach the public areas

Google Earth - the hotel cannot be seen on street view

Architectural Style – The main reception, restaurant and public areas are colonial style. The guest cabanas/bungalows are situated over a wide spread area in the grounds

Reception – A large open space with grand furnishings and very stylish.

Public Areas/Decor – All is well maintained reflecting the grandeur of a former age with antique style furnishings and fixtures. Large open air swimming pool

Guest Rooms/Cabanas
We chose not to stay due to some construction and improvement work being carried out – but we did have the opportunity to view the accommodation

Space – Quite large and sufficiently comfortable for 2 people as an overnighter. outside verandah with seating

Decor/Maintenance/Cleanliness – Everything appeared clean

Furnishing/Bed – Ample furniture including wardrobe and seating

Bathroom – spacious with shower and all looked functional

Amenities including entertainment – Free wifi (in public areas) old style tv

Lighting – Dim

Air Conditioning and ceiling fan

Food Offering – Although not staying we returned in the evening for dinner. This was buffet style or a la carte. My companion opted for the buffet which he proclaimed acceptable. My choice from the a la carte menu was chicken cordon bleu – lacked any filling and really was spoilt by a covering of acrid barbecue sauce. Service was polite and sedate. Extraordinarily no Lion beer (a Sri Lankan staple after curry and rice)

Security – Reception is staffed 24 hours

Other Guests – Mainly Indian and some Europeans. The hotel was hosting a conference and so we also enjoyed live music played by the pool

X Factor – The wooded location is pleasant and some will enjoy the colonial ambience of this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterh125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Palm Garden village hotel is 6 kms from Anuradhapura. The hotel is situated on 38 hectares and has several cottages. Each cottage has a verandah in the front and several rooms for accommodation. On the verandah, in front of each room there were arm chairs. The main cottage has a verandah in the front and the lobby, reception, bar and the restaurant. Opposite the main cottage there is a lovely pond surrounded by a variety of trees and the ubiquitous coconut trees.

My guide cum driver took care of the check in process, while I sat on a chair in the reception and was offered a welcome drink of papaya juice. The reception area had large wooden doors and windows giving it a colonial look. There were bronze statues, a large round wooden table as a centre piece with a large porcelain vase with flowers on its top and two large stone elephants by the side of the table. There were several smaller round wooden tables and chairs with cane seats around them.

The check in was quite fast and the bell boy carried the luggage to my room located in a cottage which was a little further from the main cottage. The drivers’ quarters were nearby making it noisy with the radio turned on at full blast till late at night. There were a number of rooms in the cottage all opening up to a common passage. The air conditioned room had a double bed, and an extra bed although I was the sole occupant. There was a small TV at one corner and a few chairs. There is no Wi-Fi in the room. The room is quite spacious. The large bathroom was clean and with shower..

An interesting feature that I noticed in all the hotels that I stayed in Sri Lanka (except the ones in Colombo) was that they provided free accommodation in a separate quarter for the drivers. This was mostly within the premises or a little further off (as in case of Mirissa).

The buffet lunch included chicken, barracuda fish and gammon escallops. The buffet dinner was also substantial. When there are a lot of tourists the hotel offers only buffet lunch and dinner. The complimentary breakfast was also ok.

The garden and the lake are well maintained and impressive with a pond opposite the main cottage.
All said this may be the best place to stay in Anuradhapur.

Room Tip: Avoid the cottage located near the drivers' quarters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sen1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Large, well maintained, campus with an attractive pool but the long walks to the lobby and restaurant make it inconvenient rather than luxe. Room was clean but oddly arranged (TV in a corner for no reason). Bath dated and could use a re-do. WIFI only in bar area and not always working. Breakfast and evening restaurant food somewhat limited but fairly good.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Deano50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed in March for three nights and August for two.Attractive chalets surround an extensive beautiful forested area of rare trees. Bounded by a dam and lake to one end and the hotel and large open air pool to the other, Rooms and bathrooms could do with a makeover soon but were spacious and comfortable. Restaurant fine with friendly helpful staff. Good location to visit Anuradhapura and national park at Wilpattu. . Probably best place to stay to visit this area. Best to take a hotel packed lunch or breakfast and spend quality time at the national park as it is enormous and refreshingly uncrowded.

Room Tip: Towards the lake may be quieter away from the hotel and road but nowhere was distractingly noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwall0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Lovely grounds, great staff and service, all very friendly, lovely hotel, my standard room was very nice indeed
A very handy place to visit the north of Sri Lanka and ancient Anuradhapura
Nothing like previous posts when I checked the place out
Food met expectations for buffet style

I would come again and recommend this property

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was aw struck by the quality and level of serenity that this hotel offered. Just located adjacent to the Puttalam Anuradhapura highway where busses pass with high volumes horns, it is surprising that nothing is heard just few yards inside in the lush greenery surrounded hotel. The ambience also is topped in by its service of friendly staff and the meals I am sure are excellent because We had rice n curry for lunch and it was amongst the best meals I have tasted. The rooms are spread out bungalow type with most of them having a few stairs to climb up. Someone with walking or climbing difficulties might want a room close by the reception restaurant area. Rooms are very good with all main amenities and quite spacious too. I wish I had more time than just lunch here.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Gavin2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
2.5 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 15 in Anuradhapura
555 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#3 of 15 in Anuradhapura
215 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#6 of 15 in Anuradhapura
580 reviews
5.5 mi away
Avasta Resort & Spa
Avasta Resort & Spa
#13 of 15 in Anuradhapura
146 reviews
5.2 mi away
Miridiya Lake Resort
Miridiya Lake Resort
#9 of 15 in Anuradhapura
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Village Hotel

Address: Puttalam Road, Pandulagama, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Garden Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Palm Garden Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Village Anuradhapura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing