We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge bill for an ordinary experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Garden Village Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My family and I stayed here during a conference in Vavuniya. We arrived prior to the check in time, we were given a standard chalet temporarily until our room was ready. We immediately spotted a dead cockroach under our bed. The standard chalet/room was not maintained well at all. After about an hour we were given a Deluxe room which was much spacious and hygienic. The bathroom is much like a hospital bathroom with old and filthy fittings. The bathrooms are in high need of renovation.

The hotel is very neat with its own arboretum which is filled with an assortment of Butterflies and other insects, endemic animals, birds and trees. I don't recommend the pool which is filthy and filled with chlorine-concentrated water.

The food served at the main restaurant is superb and clean.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms closer to the pool and reception are easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelier8311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 737 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Palm Garden Village Hotel in Anuradhapura is in an attractive environment at Pandulagama, Puttalam Road Anuradhapura. The hotel is quite nicely constructed with duplex and triplex cottages spread on a vast area with full of greenery. The rooms are comfortable though the toilet would be insufficient in space for a fat person especially the shower cubicle where one can get trapped, The spring mattress is too soft. The mini bar in the room contain only two bottles of soft drinks. The service is poor and one will have to wait for some one to come and ask what is needed. Even after taking an order it can take unreasonable time for the order to be brought.
The food is simple Sri Lankan food, EXORBITANTLY priced.
The lunch comprising of very few dishes is priced 10 times its price in a Colombo restaurant. It is sad to add that the items served in this hotel is much less than what one can get from a road side restaurant in Sri Lanka.
We expected a better dinner. But alas, it turned out to be another disaster of the day. Boiled rice in its several forms was all that was in the main course, with few curries and condiments. The Soup was horrible in taste.
We had to take a decision of cutting short our stay from the planned two days to just one day just due to the quality of food served
But at the end of the day we got an unforgettable bill .......................

Room Tip: Just stay on ROOM ONLY basis so that one can get food from the nearby restaurants in Anuradhapura.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRABHU60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The staff does not understand english and they do not make any effort to assist guests in any way, no one smiles expect for the ladies racking the garden and the maids.

The garden is stunning as well as the pool area they have a lake behind the property where you can see some nice birds.
Rooms looks like a kind of a upgraded youngster holiday camp

Food is terrible and extremely slow, they mention on their menu the waiting time ranging from 15 mn to one hour ..?????
The one & only staff who has a clue is the chef that stands at breakfast and explains you what he has prepared.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordonray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The design of the hotel is very nice in small cottage type rooms built in a vast area, running up to a big lake, which has its natural beauty. This is the best in Anuradhapura. I have stayed in the hotel several times during work related trips and continue to stay there as it is very convenient.

I stayed in a standard room. Hotel room is good with necessary things for a relaxed stay, however, looks slightly old and need attention of the management.
The buffet breakfast is average, should serve more variety, compare to the B/B price, as it is in the high side.

I rated hotel as average because some staff members, particularly in the check-out desk needs training to be more customer friendly and should always value their customers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vidya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was our first hotel in Sri Lanka and it was very appealing on arrival. The room was roomy and attractive, with mosquito nets. The pool was lovely and the gardens were very attractive with butterfiles, birds etc. I give the hotel 3 because the buffet meal was fine but not impressive. It was very quiet when we visited and there was no alcohol as it had just been POYA (full moon buddist festival). Wifi is available in the restaurant. It is very expensive to play pool in the games room (priced in dollars).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, and we would return, depending on what other hotels are available in the area. That said, I give it a 3 because for the price, the bathrooms were a bit old, the food and cocktails were not amazing, and the pool had a lot of chlorine. It also just lacked a bit of character. But, as I said, I would stay there again, if there was nothing of the same standard in the area, as it really wasn't bad and we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms are further away from where it all happens, so depending on if you want exclusivity or ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waffle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Fantastic hotel made up of cabins in the jungle. Beautifully designed to fit in with the natural surroundings. The communal areas are exceptionally well designed with an open dining area and paths through the trees where you can spot a huge range of exotic birds. Massive pool surrounded by trees that makes you feel like you are in a tropical lagoon. Cabins have four posters with mozzie nets, and cramped, rather old fashioned bathrooms, but satisfactory.
Management staff were lovely although I found the bell boys a bit intrusive with their expectations for tips and waiters made a few mistakes. Food just OK .
Booking can be difficult through the usual hotel sites as rooms are block booked by travel agencies. However they seem to remain empty a lot of the time, there were very few people staying there during our visit and we had the pool to ourselves. Best to book directly through the hotel and negotiate a price.
Location is excellent for visiting Wilpatu National Park and Anuradhapura historical site.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hypat1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
2.5 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 16 in Anuradhapura
531 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#8 of 16 in Anuradhapura
536 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#5 of 16 in Anuradhapura
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
5.5 mi away
Avasta Resort & Spa
Avasta Resort & Spa
#14 of 16 in Anuradhapura
145 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel White House
Hotel White House
#10 of 16 in Anuradhapura
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Village Hotel

Address: Puttalam Road, Pandulagama, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Garden Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Palm Garden Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Village Anuradhapura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing