We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palm Garden Village Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is the first hotel that we stayed in Sri Lanka. The staff was nice enough to allow check-in at 6 am. Room was clean and amenities adquate. No English channel TV programme though. Beautiful surrounding. Nice pool, but never had a chance to use it. Breakfast is good and sufficient, though staff took long time to lay out the buffet spread. Recommended.

For photos and my travels: http://clumsycompass.blogspot.sg/2013/03/blog-entries-on-sri-lanka.html

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 742 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

Visually, this was a great hotel. Set in a lush forest like area, the layout and gardens were superb. Unfortunately however this meant details lacked and the rooms/pool/food needed some help. Our room did not have a mosquito net, although some others did, and there was a large bug population. The pool looked beautiful, but the water wasn't maintained and the vinal floor was separating from the concrete. The food, we had the buffet even though there weren't very many people, was actually one of my least favorites on the entire trip (and we had over 6 hotels to choose from). It didn't seem fresh and rather dated. Overall, this is one of the few hotels to stay in the area, but needs a little freshening up to match its location.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank tigger2lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Made a very enjoyable return visit to this hotel, staying for two nights in early March. Hotel was not fully occupied and as a result there was no buffet for either the evening meal nor for breakfast. The set menus were rather limited. The upside of this was the pool area and bar were very quiet. The room was very pleasant and the facilities perfectly adequate. The garden setting for the bungalows and pool is very beautiful and well kept. The only downside is the lack of safety deposit box in the room. You have to visit reception to access or deposit valuables. Staff were excellent. We would have no hesitation returning. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyretraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed for one night after visiting the ruins. Staff was helpful - e.g. with suitcases and umbrellas - although seemed a bit clueless at times.

The room was average, not well maintained and not well cleaned (lots of bugs, spots, broken parts, old furniture). In need of renovation/TLC. Having a mosquito net over the main bed was pleasant though.

Breakfast and dinner buffets are average. The selection and quality of the food is mediocre and I felt we had to pick carefully what we would eat as there may be hygiene issues.

Overal area and jungle setting are nice. Pool area is good although they use a ton of chlorine in the pool (which gives the pool a white glow, I recommend not to dive and don't accidentally swallow some water, which my daughter unfortunately did...) Well, I guess it gets rid of all the bacteria...

It seems this is the best hotel in this area. However, all our other hotels throughout Sri Lanka were much much better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A welcome relief after a 5 hour drive from Colombo airport. Very clean grounds, attentive staff and cool room. A pool to die for. Evening meal was lovely, wide choice and piping hot. Relaxing place and a true gem. Even had mosquito killers in every room. Even when it rained it was a joy, the sound of the rain in the well matured grounds was memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamariaandcoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel has a beautiful setting, and the accommodations perfectly adequate though not luxurious. Bedrooms are good but bathrooms look a little tired. Quality of buffet is mediocre. Staff are very pleasant but give the impression of inexperience. The pool and grounds are undoubtedly some of its key features. Staff manning the reception desk appear quite inexperienced and very slow. Not a good first impression! If management could spend funds to update Dining room(which has little to no ambience), bathrooms and provide training to the staff, this hotel has all the potential of upgrading its ranking considerably!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Serendib100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a tour of the island. The hotel is well located for visiting Anuradapura etc. The cottages are set in extensive woody grounds and are very quiet. The rooms are quite dim due to the privacy curtains on the windows, but very pleasant. Each room has a veranda. The pool, which we did not get chance to use, is very big and looked very inviting. Meals are served buffet style and are good. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. A good stop over hotel, but one or two nights would be the maximum I would want to spend here. Remember, this is Sri Lanka, not London or New York. Service can be a bit "relaxed" so enjoy and go with the flow!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickMJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
2.5 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 16 in Anuradhapura
535 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#5 of 16 in Anuradhapura
195 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#9 of 16 in Anuradhapura
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
5.5 mi away
Avasta Resort & Spa
Avasta Resort & Spa
#14 of 16 in Anuradhapura
145 reviews
5.2 mi away
Miridiya Lake Resort
Miridiya Lake Resort
#8 of 16 in Anuradhapura
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Village Hotel

Address: Puttalam Road, Pandulagama, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Garden Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Palm Garden Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Village Anuradhapura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing