We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Village Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 155 Anuradhapura B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Now I don't want to spoil the surprise, but when Muthalif's wife brought us fresh lemonade after our hot 5 hour bus journey, I nearly cried with happiness. Away from the usual hussle and bussle of main Anuradhapura, Muthalif and his family offer a secluded insight into 'the real Sri Lanka'. In his village not many people speak English, something that is becoming stranger and stranger to come across these days, but Muthalif himself takes pride in his conversational skills, his family and his business.
The room was great, the food absolutely amazing and even though we didn't get to experience Muthalif's full tour he was eager to show us everything we wanted and take care of us like a true host!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 71 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

We went with Muthalif on a Safari in his jeep and used his services as driver as well. We had a great time with him - he was most pleasant, knowledgeable and we had a very good time with him. We very much appreciated his efforts and patience on the Safari that ultimately let us to see one of the rather rare Leopard.
Certainly a good address for tours and transportation.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Stefan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were traveling in July 2013 with 2 adults and 3 young children and stayed for 3 nights. The B&B is located in a remote village about 30min drive from Anuradhapura. Here you can learn how life is on the countryside (nature, agriculture, lakes, wild animals, birds). You will meet friendly and interested people who still need to get used to tourists. At the time of our stay the Inn had 2 simple rooms with clean bathrooms; just enough for our family.The landlord, Muthalif, his wife and his young son Mohamed took care of us. Our children enjoyed playing with Muthalif's kids. The landlady can serve you with great, tasty home cooking of local Sri Lankan food. Taste fresh fruit and vegetables from the local gardens. Enjoy the fish from the lakes around the village. The remote location of the place is not an issue since Muthalif can provide all required transport; for the travelers with time there is also the local bus. We enjoyed guided tours to the temples of Anuradhapura and to Mihintale. Muthalif provided also transport to Nilaveli on the east coast.
We enjoyed our stay which was also every good value for our money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reiner J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed for two nights in August 2013. The location - 35 minutes from Anuradhupura - feels isolated, not relaxing.

The double bed is based with cardboard and pallet wood and tilted off the bed. The pillows were dirty and tiny. The fly screens fall of as they are only stuck on with tape, which was a bit scary after we saw a giant scorpion trying to enter the room (but we're pretty tough and from a farm, so we didn't mind that *too* much.) The room was boiling hot even when the fan worked.

The bathroom was terrible: a couple of sharp needles of water from the shower head, filthy drains, the toilet seat resting on the bowl, not fitting.

During a heavy rain storm the lights and power kept going out, which the owner thought was pretty funny, and it seems that the wiring is pretty dodgy, which doesn't bode well for aircon apparently due to be installed.

The owner does talk a lot about his ongoing success - repeatedly, actually. That was not my cup of tea, and I was a bit uncomfortable with the constant 'company' (intrusion) of the owner (eg calling through the window right near my head.) This may charm other people though. His wife was kind, the children sweet, the food rustic, but overall we couldn't wait to get away.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank byropaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at the guesthouse either but went on a jeep safari with Muthalif.

He was very kind and brought a yummy breakfast cooked by his wife.

He was very chatty and we really enjoyed the safari tour in his open top jeep.

Would recommend, however might be a better idea to add a trip advisor page for tours separately so it's clear what people are reviewing!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Holzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

During our visit to Anuradhapura we didn't stay at the Village Garden Inn. But we had the pleasure to meet Muthalik and used his service to take us from Anuradhapura to Polonnaruwa, with a few stops along the way, with his faithful white van.

Three words that describe Muthalik: enterprising, voluble, and tenacious. He likes to recount how he has built his small tourism business from scratch, well back to his bygone days of tuk-tuk driving, and the plans he has in mind to expand his emporium, which currently consists of the B&B, transport services, and jeep for safari to the Wilpattu National Park. That said, if he happens to drive for you, suffice it to say that the road ahead would be the theater for the war of attrition between your ears and his yackety-yak.

However, he is scrupulous, helpful, and is willing to go a few extra miles (but not more) with you, should you need what you might usually need along the way or throughout your stay in his supposedly nice B&B. Never hesitate to bombard him with questions, for he doesn't have issue to come up with practical ripostes.

Satisfaction is almost as certain to get from his services as the fact that once you get it he won't ever hold back from asking you to be evangelistic about him.

Get to know him. There's plenty of background stories about Anuradhapura and its social interplay waiting inside him, the self-proclaimed village boy, to be told.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Virakocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

this home is lovely and muthalif and his family have so many plans to make it even better. near the lake it is so peaceful and after this season it will be an eco aware persons dream. vegetable and fruit grown in a nice homely place. muthalif has amazing english and will bring you as far as you like at whatever pace. we spent a whole day visiting different places on the way to kandy and even stopped for a massage. he is so patient and kind and has some great stories. we thank you and wish you well.

Room Tip: no pool or fitness centre, the area has a huge lake that you can walk around, even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank irelanders13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
0.4 mi away
Bevary Holiday Home
Bevary Holiday Home
#18 of 155 in Anuradhapura
34 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villu Villa
Villu Villa
#17 of 155 in Anuradhapura
132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travel Lodge Lake View Tourist Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Resort
City Resort
#29 of 155 in Anuradhapura
129 reviews
2.4 mi away
Heaven Upon Rice Fields
Heaven Upon Rice Fields
#7 of 155 in Anuradhapura
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake View Tourist Guest House
Lake View Tourist Guest House
#30 of 155 in Anuradhapura
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 55 Mosque Road | Ihala Kotiyawa, Parasangaswewa, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Anuradhapura
Price Range: $14 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we are highly welcome anuradhapura village garden inn is managed by a srilankan Muslim family with well experience of hospitality ls.s located within the city out site very quiet gangling poorest village area wchin for berds & precooks and yahuwanas in the garden and forest area main hiway anuradhapura to jaffna road parasangaswewa junction 20 mi nits for tuk tuk village garden inn very clean and maintained with high standard & cabana rooms are en-suite air condition with hot water and privet garden village garden inn foods with orignal srilankan traditional food we do airport pickup including in bound tours day trip and wilpaththu national park day tours sigiriya dambulla taxi service to we offer free wi-fi all rooms if you are travel bt train get down (parasangaswewa railway station) call we come to pickup free we are place your well come (IF YOU STAY 3 NIGHTS WE GIVE 1 NIGHT FREE IF YOU NEED PAY ONLY MILS ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Village Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing