We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small nice & clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Margosa Lake Resort
Ranked #8 of 157 Anuradhapura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Thilaka holiday home small nice & clean hotel close to anuradhapura town ,friendly staff,nice srilankan foods i think good price for any traveler with swimming pool, top class clean small comfortable hotel.lovely place stay and visit wilpattu national park,ancient city and Mihintale rock.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ran924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 197 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a lovely small hotel, the quality of the hotel and rooms was better than expected for the price paid. The rooms were good with big, nice bathrooms. Staff friendly. The restaurant opened onto garden and pool and had pleasant atmosphere. And the curry and rice dinner was excellent, one of the best eaten in Sri Lanka (interesting local dishes like banana flower curry, not just basic tourist rice and curry).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachcomber_bambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

During School Vacation We visited to Thilaka Holiday Home for the lunch and swimming pool. And after enjoying in the pool we took our Vegetarian lunch. Swimming pool was good ( please not that we are not good swimmer) and could taste delicious Rice and Curry which served by friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Upali88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

we only stayed for one night in this very comfortable hotel.We loved the soft bed, the very new and clean bathroom and the delicious curry at night. The staff was really friendly. We arrived late so we didn't try the pool but we can imagine that after a long day visiting the ruins and temples it would be very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabrioqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was so pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel. First when I heard from the driver that we were going to Thilaka hotel, I had the feeling it was going be a dinghy little place, I do not know why. The first thing that I noticed was how clean & neat the room was and how firm and comfortable the bed felt. One often gets soft beds in Sri Lanka.

It seemed like I was the only guest. The manager said there was one other guest the night before. In the morning I saw how nice the breakfast area was facing the pool and the greenery. And the local string hoppers breakfast also was really yummy.

Staff was very friendly and the service was great. Of course it was not too hard when I was the only guest there!

I got a very good deal through the travel agent and it was sweet too!

I slept like a baby and enjoyed the short morning stay at Thilaka. Didn't swim in the pool, but it sure was inviting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Friendly, efficient welcome. Decent large bedrooms with bathrooms. We enjoyed our first Sri Lankan curry and rice and breakfast was very good. There is a small, but not tiny pool, which is great for an evening or early morning refresh. Thilaka is in a quiet location with good beds, so we slept well. A good place to relax after the rigours of exploring the fascinating remains of Anuradhapura.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

really nice .hotel.staff was really helpful.manger mrs nishantha really helpful person,the food was delicious and lovely garden.rooms very big and comfortable.sri lankan rice and curry amazing.we highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baylisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
4.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 16 in Anuradhapura
536 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
2.7 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#9 of 16 in Anuradhapura
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Heladiv
Hotel Heladiv
#2 of 157 in Anuradhapura
194 reviews
2.6 mi away
Little Paradise Tourist Guest House and Holiday Home Anuradhapura
4.8 mi away
Gamodh Citadel Resort
Gamodh Citadel Resort
#2 of 133 in Anuradhapura
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margosa Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margosa Lake Resort

Address: Abimansala Road, Pulleyar Junction, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Thilaka Holiday Home)
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Anuradhapura
Price Range: $42 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
you're looking for is a conveniently located hotel in Anuradhapura, look no further than Thilaka Lake Resort. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the city access and Nuwarawewa Lake has to offer. A well-kept environment and its proximity to Nuwaraweva Resthouse, Galway Miridiya Lodge, Nuwara Wewa give to this hotel a special charm.Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Thilaka Lake Resort is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. A/C Rooms, Hot Water, Wi-Fi in entire location, 24hr room service, car park, Swimming Pool, Room Service are just a few of the facilities that set Thilaka Lake Resort apart from other hotels in the city.All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. The hotel offers fantastic facilities, including garden, to help you unwind after an action-packed day in the city. Enjoy unparalleled services and a truly prestigious address at the Thilaka Lake Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Margosa Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing