We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel”
Review of Hotel Alakamanda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alakamanda
Ranked #12 of 147 Anuradhapura B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and were not at all disappointed. Completely met our expectations - a clean, quiet, average hotel. Rooms well kept and comfortable, and friendly staff, although not well trained in hotel customer service. We were happy with our stay. We asked for local food and our requests were met - we had a lovely curry and rice one night and hoppers for breakfast. Would recommend the hotel put local good on their menu as other guests asked us how we managed to have these meals provided. Down side? While room service was available, the only time we requested it was one morning when we wanted tea, and were told we had to wait until breakfast was served (and not with a smile!) However, a small detail and we would certainly recommend this hotel, one shouldn't expect too much in this price range.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room - a good choice, very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizandMikeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 357 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Our room smelt really damp. We were in the cheaper rooms - the first room on the left. The damp smell and damp feeling really put me off the place to the extent that we left after a day having paid in advance for two.

The room was decorated to a high standard and was better furnished than many other hotels in sri lanka at this price range.

The food seemed pretty good and the service good also - if a little over attentive.

If you choose this hotel check the room out first.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeLondon84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Location and Access – Situated in a suburban tranquil location. A vehicle is recommended to stay here and there is free parking. On the outskirts of the city the main sights are 10 to 15 minutes drive. No local shops, bars or restaurants. Note there are some stairs/steps to negotiate in the grounds and to access the public areas and accommodation

Google Earth - the hotel cannot be seen on street view

Architectural Style – Low modern with a main block containing reception, restaurant and lounge areas. 2 separate accommodation blocks one single and one two storey. The two storey block containing the newest, designer chic, luxury accommodation

Reception – A small functional space with staff that are very welcoming and hospitable. A great first impression

Public Areas/Decor – All is well maintained to a very high standard with modern furnishings. The garden in particular is a delight, kept beautifully with faux stone features reflecting some of the stonework that can be seen at temples in the area. A small swimming pool makes for a great place to cool down after a hot day sightseeing

Guest Rooms
We chose to stay in the new modern block with luxury rooms. Driver accommodation provided

Space – Very large and comfortable with seating area and outside balcony with furniture overlooking the garden and pool

Decor/Maintenance/Cleanliness – Everything was fresh, new and clean

Furnishing/Bed – Ample furniture including arm chairs and coffee table. A comfortable bed with pillows, cushions and good standard linen. Minimal décor. The drapes do not provide a blackout which might be a problem for anyone who is light sensitive – but an eye mask is a great solution!

Bathroom – One of the best of all the hotels I have used in Sri Lanka. Contemporary tiling quality fittings including “rain” shower and a limited range of toiletries. Good towels

Amenities including entertainment – Free wifi (in public areas) in room large wall mounted flat screen tv with many channels. Coffee and tea making

Lighting – good

Air Conditioning and ceiling fan

Food Offering – We did not use the hotel for dinner. However breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit, western style cooked items and eggs to order, toast and coffee. Tableware, like everything in this hotel, is absolutely immaculate

Security – Reception is staffed 24 hours –We returned early morning after a late party and were welcomed and escorted to our room with no problem

Other Guests – Mainly Indian and some Europeans. Relatively quiet when we stayed

X Factor – The designer chic rooms and public areas and the well maintained grounds and pool will appeal to the tastes of more sophisticated travellers. Certainly the best of any of the hotels we viewed in Anuradhapura

Room Tip: Choose a room in the new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterh125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A very small Hotel, but lots of really helpful staff. They even waited outside to escort us to breakfast on rainy days. Great pool in really serene surroundings. A bit distant, so a driver is essential. Only negative is the total lack of local food. They were happy to give our driver rice and curry, but our requests for same were met with a blank look. Generic western/asian food, think nasi goreng to pork chops with french fries, but both were well cooked. Still happy to recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AustraliaPinball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We spent one lively night here. We enjoyed the best bathroom we've experienced all over Sri Lanka. The rooms have an interesting indoor/outdoor feature that creates light but retains privacy and bug protection. The pool looked great although we didn't use it. The food was good and the chef made us a banana split which wasn't on their menu. The WiFi didn't work beyond the reception area and was using a weak and old router. We were awoken by the sound if sweeping at 7am which was annoying. Check-in took far too long. Overall we enjoyed our experience and would recommend this hotel. experience and would recommend tyher hjoye

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AmyB1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is new but still needs a bit sorting out the pool is cloudy and a few things don't work first time. But don't let that dissuade you the staff are incredibly keen and the food is excellent especially if you are keen to eat Sri Lankan food. If you ask the chef nicely he can be persuaded to run a cooking class where you visit the markets and select produce and then have a full Sri Lankan cooking class.

The ancient city has a plenty to see so you need more than a day but probably not more than 2 this is a good hotel to use as a base

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank crispin_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Lovely new hotel about 10 min. outside of town. You have to take a car or Tuktuk to go into town. The staff is very young and eager. The rooms are spacious and clean. Try the local curry and rice which is not on the menu. Possibility to book tours.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tariwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
2.9 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 15 in Anuradhapura
527 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#3 of 15 in Anuradhapura
534 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#6 of 15 in Anuradhapura
192 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel White House
Hotel White House
#12 of 15 in Anuradhapura
106 reviews
4.9 mi away
Palm Garden Village Hotel
Palm Garden Village Hotel
#5 of 15 in Anuradhapura
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alakamanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alakamanda

Address: No 11/1 Nagasena Mawatha, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Anuradhapura
Price Range: $66 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alakamanda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among lush greenery and surrounded by picturesque ancient ruins in the exotic and cultural city of Anuradhapura is Alakamanda...a unique boutique hotel that upholds tradition and vows to leave you with a beautiful yet magical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Alakamanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing