We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of French Garden Tourist Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
French Garden Tourist Rest
Ranked #22 of 123 Anuradhapura B&B and Inns
tasmania
Level Contributor
132 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

A nice little guesthouse with small garden and restraint/Staff helpful/room medium size/clean bathroom with hot and cold water/aircon and fan/free Wi-Fi good speed/overall a good value budget guesthouse also beer can be purchased here at a fair price

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 29OAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    106
    42
    9
    8
See reviews for
20
132
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Good location, within walking distance of town but a little outside it. It was very loud one of the mornings we were there as the school (?) next door was quite noisy, but otherwise it was pretty quiet. Breakfast was good, and they were able to help us out with hiring a driver to take us to our next destination, as well as with advice regarding seeing the sights in Anuradhapura.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alphabetavenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We loved our stay here.Nothing fancy but accommodates our needs.Very quiet place in the night.A very nice location to rest.
Food was ok not superb but it was nice.
Room was nicely arranged.
Overall nice place to visit.
You could also get breakfast from outside but we took from the guesthouse as its was alright.
The staff does everything possible to make our stay a wonderful one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farah_mohamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We booked 2 nights at the French Garden after being turned away from the highly regarded Milano across town. It is actually owned by the same folks, so we assumed the same level of service, comforts would await.
The room was 2500-rps per night and basic, but looked clean enough. Unfortunately the bedding contained bed bugs, and we suffered for it with the tell-tale leg and back-bite wounds. The restroom had a working hot water shower and was also clean enough for the price.

The hotel itself is situated down a quiet side street, but only a few blocks from the New Bus station, and relatively convenient place to start a tour of the ancient city. The staff was helpful, and the odd-mannered manager was willing to provide some details concerning touring etc. He offered to provide a discounted tuk-tuk tour of the sites, that by-passed the normal fees etc. Instead we rented a couple jalopy bicycles from him for 300-rps a piece and opted to pay full price to see the ruins, which was easily done in half a day.

The outdoor hotel restaurant was pleasant although plagued by flies (like many other places in Sri Lanka) They served the ubiquitous eggs/toast/butter/jam w/ tea or coffee. If I never eat another slice of white bread toast, I'll be OK. There are some options down the main road towards the bus station that offer Sri Lankan food at discount prices. Kottu, and curry dishes await here during the day) and are spicy and delicious. Any place with a glassed-in kottu hut out-front will suffice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

stayed there spontaneously after a recommendation. was really one of the cleanest rooms in our whole time in sri lanka (and within 3 weeks, we saw a lot of rooms). the owner was very friendly, gave us a city map and some advices how to avoid the high prices for the sights. his brother even showed us a place where to repair a scratch in our rented motorbike, we drove after his tuk-tuk and he stayed with us and translated between us and the mechanic and that without asking any money! we wanted to give him something for this nice service but before we could do this, he was gone. the only thing is that the food in the hotel is a bit overpriced, but as it's near the bus station, you'll find some places to eat there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anna-pitchoune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

It seemed like a nice place until they STOLE 300 dollars from our LOCKED room! We noticed it a few hours after we checked out, that is when our driver called them, but they said that since we didn't say anything before we left, it is not their problem anymore.
There are a lot of other guesthouses around so I suggest that you find one that is a little bit nicer to the tourists. It was a really bad experience and it left a bad taste of Sri Lanka.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PetraDusko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano A, Manager at French Garden Tourist Rest, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Madam,
You checked out around 8.a.m. and we got the complain at around 4-p.m. (In the evening) .
When you checked out you pay the bill with your money and we did not got any complain about the 300USD loss. (Later you said by email that the robber left exactly 150 USD in bag and taken exactly 300USD So you are unaware of the loss.
After we got the loss through your drivers call at around 4 p.m. we asked him that we want contact you immediately to get more details about this loss, and he refused to give the line to you. This happened three times as we contacted him twice again in the same day.
More over, before you arrival , he gave a call and ask us to mention a higher rate to your room and give him the balance money and we refused it point blank .

So, we are confident that your money is not loss in our staffs laps.(the room key is always with you and-even when at you stay
at the restaurant at breakfast). Ask the driver as he refused to give the line on that day when we want to contact you while you travel with his vehicle.(He should probably help you to get the police assistance to probe this at first when he heard it as this is a big money.)
Later you said the driver is telling that we didn't call him and ,you said you believe the driver.
So Madam, cant you remember that we first came to know this loss by your drivers call to us in the same day evening?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

from the busy main street of Anuradhapura. Very clean and tidy. Staff so friendly and helpful. Had some really nice chats with them. Food great. Rooms great. The owner was very helpful in getting us a good price on a tour of the ruins. And explaining prices to pay for tuk tuks etc

Watch for guides at Mihintale asking for large tips when your driver isnt around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kierenreeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
0.6 mi away
London Palace
London Palace
#8 of 123 in Anuradhapura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lievi's Tourist Accomodation
Lievi's Tourist Accomodation
#4 of 123 in Anuradhapura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.8 mi away
Milano Tourist Rest
Milano Tourist Rest
#5 of 123 in Anuradhapura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melbourne Tourist Rest
Melbourne Tourist Rest
#6 of 123 in Anuradhapura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Resort
City Resort
#28 of 123 in Anuradhapura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travel Lodge Lake View Tourist Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Garden Tourist Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Garden Tourist Rest

Property: French Garden Tourist Rest
Address: 488/4 Maithreepala Senanayake Mawatha | near Town hall, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Anuradhapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anuradhapura - The first ancient kingdom of Sri Lanka. We are here at Anuradhapura to make your stay comfortable and memorable. "French Garden Tourist Rest" is always considering with friendly manner to assist you to explore the ancient city and the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your French Garden Tourist Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing