We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, very good food.”
Review of Saubagya Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saubagya Inn
Ranked #28 of 159 Anuradhapura B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our room was simple, very large and clean, with AC. Price/quality rate is very good. Very nice garden and very peaceful. The owner and his assistant are very friendly. There s no wifi but you can use free of charge the hotel Milano s wifi, that is just few meters away.
I highly recommend the food here. Rice and Curry was very good, home made and they will prepare it as you like , zero spicy, medium, hot...

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank paolakarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 65 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

Nice, simple, guesthouse well located for local sights and attractions.

Food is excellent, staff are very friendly and our room was clean and functional. Our room was air-conditioned, definitely an advantage in this part of the world.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IamSancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We completed a one night stay at the Saubagya Inn and found the place to be a good option that can cater both breakfast and dinner for you. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and while they may not have had perfect English (which I didn't expect), we were easily able to converse and figure out what was needed.

The room was clean and had a large bathroom (ours came with the complimentary frog to guard the sink at night) that was clean and had a ready supply of hot water.

If you are looking for a relatively inexpensive B&B then I would recommend this location without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoOhTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The owners of this guest house are kind and friendly. The rooms are simple and clean. We found the lack of airconditioning uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmiatae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

If you are looking for a non-hotel/resort style place to stay while in Anuradhapura, Saubagya Inn is the place to go to! This new guesthouse is located on the same street as Milano Tourist Rest. The place is owned by Sunil who has been in the Sri Lankan tourism industry for over 15 years and has dirt of information to share.

The rooms are clean and minimalistic. The cots have individual mosquito nets and the bedspreads are soft, clean and stain-free (which is difficult to sometimes find in Sri Lanka). The room also had a hanging rack and a dresser. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms. The bathroom are new with hot water available all day.

The service is great! A special shout out to Chiminda for going the extra mile to ensure everything was fine. Breakfast (included in the tariff) has a decent spread. They provide free accommodation and food for drivers.

I would definitely return here if and when in Anuradhapura.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Good_Tiding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Mr. Sunil and his wife opened this new guesthouse with five guestrooms in December 2010. Before they run another one near the Blow Hole in the South of Sri Lanka.
The rooms are basic but clean. There is a warm water shower in each room. The garden around the house is great. Saubagya Inn offers drivers rooms and food.
The food here is very good. Mr. Sunil cooks and serves himself. We loved to eat what he cooked.
We can warmly recommend this guesthouse to other travelers
pore

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Our driver had organised this "Grade A" guesthouse on a recent two week trip and we were pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious and very clean, with white sheets, airconditioning and mosquito nets. Best of all, the owner proudly showed us the new bathroom, which was spotless. The provided breakfast was eggs, toast, jam, tea and exquisit freshly made papaya juice - served in a lovely outside dining area. For the price this place is a very good option.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sawtellrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
0 mi away
Montana Rest
Montana Rest
#3 of 159 in Anuradhapura
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milano Tourist Rest
Milano Tourist Rest
#4 of 159 in Anuradhapura
457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bevary Holiday Home
Bevary Holiday Home
#17 of 159 in Anuradhapura
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lake Wave Hotel
Lake Wave Hotel
#14 of 159 in Anuradhapura
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Resort
City Resort
#29 of 159 in Anuradhapura
131 reviews
2.5 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 16 in Anuradhapura
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saubagya Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saubagya Inn

Address: 10/395 Bandaranayke Mawatha, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Anuradhapura
Price Range: $14 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saubagya Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Saubagya Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing