We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly and peaceful rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake View Tourist Guest House
Ranked #30 of 150 Anuradhapura B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was my first guest house on my trip through Sri Lanka in March 2013.
The rooms are simple but good and the owner family was very polite and friendly. The meals were good and fair priced. They care a lot about their beautiful garden site. I liked the atmosphere a lot. The two men who worked there for the family were both were nice and friendly and they seemed to be happy to work there. 100% recommendable place!!

One more thing to mention in this context:
Anuradhapura is a phantastic place!! But Mihintale, as a smaller, less touristic town next to Anuradhapura is an even more phantastic place for the culture of Buddhism. It is the birthplace of Sri Lankan Buddhism and you can see so many wonderful peaceful places there. I visited it two times with a local guide from Mihintale, I met him on my first day there. His name is Amara. He was the friendliest person I met in my entire life, I am serious! And he showed and told me so many phantastic things out there. His English is very good and he has a license as tourist guide in Sri Lanka. I talked to him and he agreed that I write his number in here, which is 071 257 1472. You should definitely give him a call, when you are in Anuradhapura or Mihintale. He has got his own TuckTuck and he also offers trips around Anuradhapura. You can trust me, he is doing a great job :))

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benedikt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 90 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

not much of a view of the lake. Rooms are a bit on the small side but clean enough & sufficient for the independent "lonely planeteer"
A little bit out of town but a Rs 100 rikshaw gets you there quickly.
Friendly manager, mediocre breakfast.
Family room is only adequate for 3 really, as we 4 found out.
No mildew noted, strong smell of camphor; maybe they read trip advisor!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fallfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights,and have no complaints.It's not a luxoury place,but everything you need is there.Clean rooms,wifi,nice terrace upstairs,bicycles for rent and very friendly and correct staff.I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eveke2ndsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Quiet friendly place with accommodating host, bicycles, busy kitchen with OK rice and curry but far from the best I've had in Sri Lanka. Room was OK for the price, Rs 1800 and riding a bicycle around the Sacred Precincts was a wonderful experience.

I was only there for one night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamandJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. We had a simple room, price was ok, location of this GH is good, no noise from outside, breakfast and dinner was great, staff as well. We rent bikes there for traveling in Anuradhapura, which was great too (250 RS one bike).

What was not so good was strange smell in our room (milew?), mildew in bathroom and really noisy fan. So be carefull when choosing a room there, the others are maybe better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here one night and for the price and location it was fine. The room was clean; the bathroom clean enough (we had a shower curtain!) and there was no hot water. Not really needed because this area is very hot. We were told by the owner to get off at the old bus station since this guesthouse would be a 100 rupee Tuk Tuk ride. We told our bus driver this, but he still dropped us off at the New bus station so we ended up paying 250 rupees. The guesthouse has bikes for rent, but check them carefully before you set off since some of them are not that good. There is a restaurant and drinks available. We did not eat here so I can’t comment on the food. There is a nice garden area to chill out in when your day is done. For a night or 2 this place is good for the money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lovely friendly family. Had a basic room on the first floor and it was more than sufficient for my needs. You have to bear in mind that this is a budget option and should be reviewed as such. Good food, dinner more so than breakfast. Bicycle rental available, which I recommend for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
0.3 mi away
Lake Side Hotel
Lake Side Hotel
#74 of 150 in Anuradhapura
3 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lievi's Tourist Accomodation
Lievi's Tourist Accomodation
#4 of 150 in Anuradhapura
227 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bevary Holiday Home
Bevary Holiday Home
#18 of 150 in Anuradhapura
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
London Palace
London Palace
#11 of 150 in Anuradhapura
182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Secret Sanctuary Resort
Secret Sanctuary Resort
#8 of 125 in Anuradhapura
19 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travel Lodge Lake View Tourist Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Tourist Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Tourist Guest House

Address: 4C 4 Lake Road | Harischandra Mawatha, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Anuradhapura
Price Range: $13 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lake View Tourist Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing