We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nadeeja Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Nadeeja Guest House
Ranked #63 of 125 Anuradhapura B&B and Inns
colombo
1 review
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good place to stay and value for the money ....

Clean, Friendly and helpful staff ... highly recommended

Had meals from outside, Plenty of cheap places around the town.

No Swimming Pool or Fitness center

Can contact Saman : 0723717486 (blue color piaggio taxi driver) .... Very friendly and supportive guy helped us a lot on going around the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GAVISL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were looking for accomodation in many guest houses in Anuradaphura, but this one was the top! We were very happy we found this one. Lovely familly guest house with smiling housekeepers was really suprise. The lady who probably runs this house was amazing.

Rooms are very clean and cosy for very reasonable price (when compared to others). Great terrace for evening sitting.

I would totally recommand this place to everybody. Don't go for guide book tips. This place is lovelly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DozdCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We chose this one based on reviews and their website but it was all a big disappointment apart from the breakfasts. Arrived at night on a late running train and no one was there to pick usd up as we had been promised. Our triple room was very small, with 3 single beds with damp and stained sheets and damp mattresses. The shower was good but the toilet leaked out onto the floor and holes in the flyscreen let in many mozzies. I don't know what we might have done to upset the family running the place but they generally acted like we didn't exist. They didn't even try and sign us up to any tours (but often visiting taxi drivers would)! When our driver didn't show up and we had to wait longer the young guy that was the "manager" couldn't be bothered offering any assistance at all and just watched on as we tried to find where our driver was. It was very overpriced (which seems to be a common thing in Sri Lanka). The mother of the family was helpful but wasn't around very often. The bicycles we hired from them were very poor too. Location is OK, walking distance to main road and in a peaceful street with lots of birds and cute squirrels. Dogs not so nice..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpossums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anuradhapura hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are spacious and look clean. There are some maintenance repairs and insecticides necessary but the price is fair. Breakfast with fruits, fried egg and toast is good. The rice & curry I had in the evening was nice.
The hotel is located at the end of a road and a calm place. The mango tree in front of the house is huge. Good place for budget travellers spending not more than 2.000 LKR a night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LxBuhler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Delicious Rice & Curry! Family atmosphere and friendly service make a pleasant stay. Good rooms for the price. Very beautiful huge mango tree with birds and squirrels in front of the breakfast terrace.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MagdalenaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Good place to stay for visiting anuradhapura. You can take a bike from the guesthouse and cycle to the old town. The family is very nice, especially mom; she doesn't speak very good english but she will go out of her way to give you a pleasant stay. Good curry. Clean rooms. Accomodation for driver.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvaLine_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Myself and my girlfriend visited Anuradhapura on the way back from Trinco, we spent about 2 hours looking at about 5 places to stay. Then we stumbled upon Nadeeja, and were pleasantly surprised.

The prices are very decent, the rooms are lovely, the bathroom is clean. They even offered a room for my driver at a fraction of the cost.

The hosts are a family who live in the back of the guesthouse, they were very nice and welcoming.

We had breakfast in the morning and it was delicious. They will do continental breakfasts as well as Sri Lankan, but after 2 weeks of Sri Lankan certain places were sort of on fire.

Lovely place to stop off, would love to visit again.

Mayuka & Elsa

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monkimus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
1.6 mi away
Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel
Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel
#11 of 14 in Anuradhapura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villu Villa
Villu Villa
#13 of 125 in Anuradhapura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montana Rest
Montana Rest
#3 of 125 in Anuradhapura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travel Lodge Lake View Tourist Resort
0.8 mi away
French Garden Tourist Rest
French Garden Tourist Rest
#24 of 125 in Anuradhapura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melbourne Tourist Rest
Melbourne Tourist Rest
#6 of 125 in Anuradhapura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nadeeja Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nadeeja Guest House

Property: Nadeeja Guest House
Address: 4 C 6 Stage one | Mihindu Mawatha, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Anuradhapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nadeeja family resort is situated in the heart of Anuradhapura. Nadeeja is a family hotel. It It is Conveniently Situated closed proximately to the old bus station (0.5 km away) & Railway station (1 km away), Nuwarawewa lake, Banks, Main Post office and about 1km far away from Historical Ancient City of Anuradhapura.surrounded with quite, well maintained garden .There are 10 comfortable, spacious rooms, which includes A/C with balcony or terrace, fans, wireless ADSL WIFI internet facility, IDD Telephone, Mosquito nets, Electrical Mosquito Vaporizer, satellite television, telephone facilities .If you prefer, you can choose rooms which provides you hot water facilities. Here guests can utilize Internet and email facilities free of charge. This hotel consists a well stocked bar, mini library, roof top terrace/ beer garden. wifi facilities are available in hotel premises. There are one restaurants available in this hotel. For your conferences and weddings you can use modern conference hall. (seating capacity 200)Anuradhapura is an ancient city, located at a distance of 206 km from Colombo. The city is in northern Sri Lanka and is the capital of North-Central province. Anuradhapura was established in 4th century BC. It was the first capital of Sri Lanka and remained so until 8th century AD. Anuradhapura is an archaeologist's delight and contains several monuments of historical importance. The city is considered very sacred by the Buddhists and is home to the largest dagobas in Sri Lanka. A dagoba is a dome enshrining sacred relics or the bodily remains of the Buddha, or articles used by Him like the alms bowl and other objects of veneration. It is built in different sizes on a pedestal with a spire on top crowned with a pinnacle. The earliest dagobas had a stone umbrella on top of the dome in place of the spire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Nadeeja Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing