We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Paradise Tourist Guest House and Holiday Home Anuradhapura
Ranked #1 of 164 Anuradhapura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

As a local, I was visiting the city of Anuradhapura after well over a decade with some friends. We were looking for a reasonably priced place to stay for one night and came across this B&B establishment on the internet. I can say, me and my friends were very impressed with the quality of the rooms, the size of the bathrooms and the overall cleanliness levels for the price we were paying. Breakfast was also included in the rate and what a substantial meal it was. Very friendly and helpful staff though I'm not sure how fluent in English they are. It's location is also no more than 3km from the ancient city. Overall, no complaints at all about this holiday home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shehanrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suman t, Owner at Little Paradise Tourist Guest House and Holiday Home Anuradhapura, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Many thanks for your recent comment. Further to your review we happy to note that we are extremely happy to hear you had a wonderful time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 474 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in 10 different locations in Sri Lanka and the rooms at Little Paradise were the best in terms of price and the quality of the rooms. The reindeer garden ornaments are a bizarre touch but the garden is very sweet. The staff are very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Great choice for Anuradhapura!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tans_in_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suman t, Owner at Little Paradise Tourist Guest House and Holiday Home Anuradhapura, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thanks for your recent comment. Certainly it's appear more encourage to provide better service to our clients. Once again thanks for taking your value time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is something between a guesthouse/B&B and a mini-hotel. The rooms are very clean and spacious, with an attached bathroom. They have mosquito-nets and a good working AC. The food is very good. People and staff very nice. It's close to the Anuradhapura-site. You can even rent a bike to explore this site.

Room Tip: If you travel with children, you can ask for the room with a bunk bed. It's a huge one, even 4 c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingwithtw0kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suman t, Owner at Little Paradise Tourist Guest House and Holiday Home Anuradhapura, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thanks for staying with little paradise. Your comment will help us to give much better service to our clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here mid April 2013. Although it is a bit difficult to find and out of the center, It is a great place for discovering the old city of Anuradhapura. The rooms are more then adequate and dinner was excellent. The price / value is perfect and the staff is lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthijs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suman t, Owner at Little Paradise Tourist Guest House and Holiday Home Anuradhapura, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

We are happy feed back for your great comment.Many thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

For the price range, my room was the nicest I've experienced in Sri Lanka. The room was stylish, with tile floors and a nice bathroom, plus a place for luggage and a rack for drying/hanging clothes. Towels and sheets were fresh, and the room was spotless and cleaned daily.
Was only given one egg for breakfast- not really enough with the thin, white sandwich bread toast- but was given a 2nd on request. Fresh fruit would be nicer if cut up into a salad, but still a better variety than I have received elsewhere. Service was attentive and friendly. Dinner was a bit expensive at 850, but the best I have been served in a guesthouse.
Everything is out of the way in the town, which has few restaurants and not much going other than the rather disappointing (and very expensive admission ticket) ancient city. This guesthouse saved my visit from being a complete disappointment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suman t, Owner at Little Paradise Tourist Guest House and Holiday Home Anuradhapura, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Many thanks for your great comment,And we appreciate Your wonderful choice for being with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

What's not to like? Nice room, very clean, balcony overlooking the local cricket pitch.
Friendly staff and owner, attentive service and lovely vegetarian meal. Breakfast wasn't great but was OK. I don't eat eggs so it's always a challenge!

It is hard to find - our driver had to stop and ask. They don't have a room for drivers - ours had agreed to take us to Wilpattu the next day and he had to sleep in his van!

It is very reasonably priced and its nice to stay in such a local, residential area. The family seemed lovely and very eager to please.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suman t, Owner at Little Paradise Tourist Guest House and Holiday Home Anuradhapura, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Many thanks for staying with us. We glad to hear That you had a wonderful time with little paradise. certainly we appreciate for your value feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

In so many ways, this is a perfect hotel. It's situated in probably the nicest part of Anuradhapura, around a cricket field next to other large, beautifully kept homes. It's just enough secluded, while being a 15-minute walk to the new center of town. (However, most taxi drivers have no idea where the hotel is. Bring a map.) The food was simply wonderful, though certainly not cheap! Still it was one of my favorite dinners in Sri Lanka. The room itself, on the second floor, was spacious and well appointed; bathroom was very clean. Really, everything was fine, though the staff speaks very little English so there isn't much of an opportunity to get any advice or tips about what to see or do. That, unfortunately, is outsourced to the property's "appointed" tuk-tuk driver. We asked for a simple tuk-tuk ride to Anuradhapura, where we wanted to walk around. The driver wouldn't leave us alone offering his tours, saying that it is impossible to walk around Anuradhapura and that we would see nothing, claiming it's 20 km between places (obviously, wrong), etc. When we asked for a tuk-tuk to the public bus station, the hotel called the same guy again and instead he took us to a private bus station where his friends are running a bus service. The hotel's driver offered $80 minimum for a trip to Dambulla, 1.5 hours away. The bus ticket is $1. The manipulative, price-gouging drivers of "Little Paradise" ruined my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eab2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suman t, Owner at Little Paradise Tourist Guest House and Holiday Home Anuradhapura, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Many thanks for taking time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
2.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 15 in Anuradhapura
551 reviews
1 mi away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
0.4 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#9 of 15 in Anuradhapura
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Heladiv
Hotel Heladiv
#2 of 164 in Anuradhapura
200 reviews
0 mi away
Montana Rest
Montana Rest
#3 of 164 in Anuradhapura
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lievi's Tourist Accomodation
Lievi's Tourist Accomodation
#5 of 164 in Anuradhapura
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Paradise Tourist Guest House and Holiday Home Anuradhapura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Paradise Tourist Guest House and Holiday Home Anuradhapura

Address: 622/18 Godage Mawatha, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Anuradhapura
Price Range: $38 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are highly welcome to Anuradhapura. Little Paradise is managed by a Sri Lankan lady with well experience of hospitality industry. It's located within the city at very quiet residential area which is facing to children park. Easy access to main bus stand, train station and shopping centres. In addition close to ancient city. Basically our rooms are very clean and maintained with high standard. All Rooms are en-suite, air conditioned, hot water and private balconies. Little paradise serve foods with original srilankan recipe. We do airport pick up including inbound tours. Day excursion to Dambulla, Sigiriya, Willpatthu Animal park, Pinnawala Elephant orphanage. We offer free internet, Wi-Fi Public areas And rooms, Laundry service, bicycle hire. Internet access-Wireless (complimentary).If you are travel by train get down at Old town train station and take a taxi . Please note to Avoid bogus guides.They will mislead you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Little Paradise Tourist Guest House and Holiday Home Anuradhapura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing