We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in Anuradhapura”
Review of Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
“Nice place in Anuradhapura”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed one night at Heritage and hotel seems to be pretty good with the standard their maintaining. Spacious rooms, Very nice location in front of Tissa Lake (wewa), Well layout garden, Closed to the ancient city (About 02 Km), Friendly staff, Good food (They had a buffet for the Dinner and Breakfast), Very nice swimming pool. Its located before Anuradhapura town so obviously you will not be disturb with the noise and the rush that you have face from hotel located in the middle of the town. Its very clam and quiet place and we had a peaceful time during our stay at Heritage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    125
    131
    38
    29
See reviews for
184
143
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Heritage Hotel looks great from the outside, but once you're inside, you notice that the place has known better days. Still, a simple clean-up would probably do miracles here: we found hairs in the shower (definitely not ours!), outside of our door was an empty tray with leftovers from a meal - which the next day was still there (and so were the flies...), and the restaurant is the most bizarre, aquarium-like room, cheerless, warm and unsociable, with very generic and bland food. We were seated at the end of the buffet: it felt as if you had to pay at our table. Rooms are big and have A/C, and if you don't mind some dust here and there (and some hairs in your shower), they are okay. The hotel is situated on the edge of a beautiful lake and is only a short ride away from the Anuradhapura site, but that's about it when it comes to the pros. The pool didn't look too bad either, but was closed when we were there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrusselsMangoKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anuradhapura hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for a night while visiting Anuradapura. 2 couples, my inlaws and two of us. From the outside the hotel looks impressive. The bellman, and wait staff are very friendly and helpful.

But.....the bathrooms were leaking water from the shower cubicle and the beds were dirty.
We asked to be moved to another room to find they had the exact same issues. The power to the had to be put on from the circuit breaker. Thw Aircon in the 2nd room was not regulatable and was freezing cold. The place looks quite neglected and very poorly maintained.

And on checkout we were billed twice by the reception staff. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eastrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morzine, France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Situated on the edge of a beautiful lake a few kilometers away from Anuradhapura. Very Colonial as you drive up through the gates. Pretty gardens and nice large pool. Dinner not brilliant, pretty basic which was a shame. Rooms all fine. Hot water, clean and air conditioned. Basic but nice large rooms

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 941ChillyPowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritage A, Owner at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for visiting Heritage Hotel. We really appreciate you choosing us for your stay. We are sorry that the Dinner was not up to your expectation. We do have a qualified Chef working with us at Heritage. However we take your comment seriously and will take action to improve our dinner buffet.

Thank you
Uditha Sunnadeniya
Director
uditha@heritagehotel.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The staff is very nice and helpful - and that is the best we can say about our stay.And the price was good.

But -

Lack of maintenance and supervision seems to be the major problem . The AC made a terrible noise in the night and leaked water all over the floor. The WIFI Zone boards are all up there but the WIFI is available only in the lobby. The under sheets were not clean. The food was nothing to write home about though it must be said, the breakfast buffet was better than the dinner.

This is a hotel which seems to have had good initial investment which is now being lost due to the poor management. A change of management style might yet turn it around.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms getting the afternoon sun as the curtains are not lined- it can get pretty warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmkaySriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritage A, Owner at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for staying at Heritage Hotel. We identified the AC issue and have take action to replace them with new units. The AC in your room was outdated. We are extremely sorry about the inconvenience that caused. From next month we will providing Wifi Facilities to all the rooms, currently the project is on going and it will take estimated 2 months to complete. Because of the ongoing project the network is temporarily down.However we instructed the staff to take down the wifi boards till the system is up and running. We have taken action to improve our dinner buffet as well. Once again Thank you for visiting us and for your valuable feedback. We will improve the maintenance of the hotel in the coming future. We hope you visit us again.

Thank you
Uditha Sunnadeniya
Director
uditha@heritagehotel.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were here only for one day...so the experience was only average.

> The rooms did not have hot water
> AC wasnt very effective
> The food was quite nice/ good (but no WOW factor)
> The people were warm and gave good service ...

Room Tip: beware of mosquitoes around.... all rooms have terraces...avoid ground floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritage A, Owner at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you visiting Heritage Hotel. We are sorry to hear that there was no Hot water in your room at the time. We have installed solar panels to provide hot water to every-room.However from now on we advised the housekeeping the staff to check every room for Hot water before the guest arrives.
The reason for the AC being not effective is that the unit is outdated , and now we are replacing all the outdated units with new ones. We are sorry for any inconvenience that was caused but we sincerely do hope you enjoyed your stay and will visit us again .

Thank you
Uditha Sunnadeniya
Director
uditha@heritagehotel.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The two days visit to this place was so memorable and not for the right reasons. From the welcome drink things were so bad. the food was so terrible and tasteless we sometimes just had the basic bread and jam. the same curries were served the following day with added water.

The whole place was full of flies and this obviously included the dining room. we were not surprised to find a dead fly in one of the cake slices.

They fogged the place to get rid of the mosquitoes without warning and the guests had to run for shelter and stay in the rooms till the smoke cleared.

I really can't think of one good thing to right about this place. it's not surprising why this place is at the bottom of the ratings for hotels in Anuraddhapura. I really regret going over there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArunaFernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
1.8 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#3 of 15 in Anuradhapura
491 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
3.1 mi away
Avasta Resort & Spa
Avasta Resort & Spa
#13 of 15 in Anuradhapura
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#6 of 15 in Anuradhapura
187 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel White House
Hotel White House
#10 of 15 in Anuradhapura
98 reviews
2.5 mi away
Palm Garden Village Hotel
Palm Garden Village Hotel
#5 of 15 in Anuradhapura
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel

Property: Heritage Hotel
Address: Galwala Road | Pothanegama, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Hotel is the latest jewel in the crown that is Anuradhapura which is a UNESCO world heritage site. Heritage Hotel which opened its doors in 2009 is an ( 42 Rooms ) enchanting hotel situated in the heart of Anuradhapura. Because of the Hotel's Proximity to many historic sites Heritage Hotel is the Ideal launching pad to explore this great kingdom which lasted over 1400 years. This simple and elegant hotel is equipped with all amenities, a dedicated team and a comprehensive service concept to make it the most pleasurable place to stay in Anurdhapura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing