We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers”
Review of Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Reviewed October 25, 2011

So pity, 3 night for lots of money and they can do nothing good. Oh, sorry the restaurant was. What I'm talkin' about? There was a purse stolen from other guests. Must be one with a key cause nothing was broken and the door was closed. One did nothing to help these poor people. Then we look at our balconydoors. They slots were completely damaged. So we called the manager. He said, tomorrow, maybe another room. We said okay. And then the man was gone. We didn't hear anything from him. So we slept with chairs for the doors. That was the first day/night. The second day, it was 10:30 pm. A terrible noise of workers for the new part of the hotel. I thought of the children who wanted to sleep and I phoned the reception. No one takes the phone. At 11:00 p.m I went to the reception but nobody was there and the noise goes on. The I went to the workers myself and asked them in anger to stop. They did. I went to bed and had a good sleep, but what happens? We cant go out of our room. We were locked in all night. Again I phoned the reception and we were liberated by two men. Not to think about a fire in the night ( we slept on the second floor!) When we left I tell the manager, another man than before. All he did was saying: well, well. I said: perhaps an excuse!? Than he said, I allmost couldn't hear it: 'excuse'!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moesker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
There are newer reviews for Heritage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 514 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

Great people but they are trying to build at the same time as book rooms.
Not many people at the hotel so it will take awhile for the place to finish being built.
They need more tourists in the area. Will be a nice place when finished.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erock15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

After an exhausting bus journey to Anuradhapura, we were excited to arrive at our first hotel only to reach the room to find a terrible odour coming from the bathroom. We requested a change of room and management gave us a MUCH better room. Wonder why they do that in the first place? Unfortuneately the group whom we travelled with were not so lucky. They explained that the 'trap' was blocked, which was meant to explain the smell.
Aside from the smell, the room floor was dirty and the food at the restaurant was boring and bland.
The location of Heritage is convenient and near to the ancient sites in Anuradhapura.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belle_Jorja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We spent 1 night here in March 2011 while visiting the Sacred City - the location of the hotel is ideal for this.

The hotel seemed very new - reception was still having bits of work carried out and the staff seemed very distracted. Room was very very spacious if a little sparse to my taste although the bed was very comfortable and everthing (TV, water, ac etc) worked fine. The pool area behind the hotel is attractive - we didn't actually use the pool but it looked clean and inviting ! We went for a roam around the hotel and grounds and it seemed deserted - on asking we found we were the only guests !

Service in the restauraunt (being the only customers all night) was really really good - the manager being very professional and attentive. Food was reasonably good.

All in all a perfectly acceptable hotel - lacks a bit of charachter although this could be down to it being new.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in January, 2011 with spouse and friends. Hotel facilities are reasonable and it has a good pool. Location is also convenient and relatively close to the Sacred City. However, we all got food poisoning, which seemed to be the result of them reheating and reserving food.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonymousCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

This is a new place and the new staff seem to lack experience. The new Manager was however very helpful.
You can walk in about 20 mins to the attractions (there are no bikes) by the lakeside but this has to be extracted from the staff who seem bemused that a Euopean would want to do anything other than drive. To their credit loan of a staff members bike was offered!
Rooms are functional and clean, meals ok too.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Cristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
1.8 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#3 of 15 in Anuradhapura
515 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
3.1 mi away
Avasta Resort & Spa
Avasta Resort & Spa
#13 of 15 in Anuradhapura
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#6 of 15 in Anuradhapura
190 reviews
2.5 mi away
Palm Garden Village Hotel
Palm Garden Village Hotel
#5 of 15 in Anuradhapura
730 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel White House
Hotel White House
#12 of 15 in Anuradhapura
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel

Address: Galwala Road | Pothanegama, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Anuradhapura
Price Range: $58 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Hotel is the latest jewel in the crown that is Anuradhapura which is a UNESCO world heritage site. Heritage Hotel which opened its doors in 2009 is an ( 42 Rooms ) enchanting hotel situated in the heart of Anuradhapura. Because of the Hotel's Proximity to many historic sites Heritage Hotel is the Ideal launching pad to explore this great kingdom which lasted over 1400 years. This simple and elegant hotel is equipped with all amenities, a dedicated team and a comprehensive service concept to make it the most pleasurable place to stay in Anurdhapura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Otel, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing