We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, but hotel could be better maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boa Vista Guest House
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, but hotel could be better maintained”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My partner and I were beneficiaries of a careless mistake by the hotel staff. They put us in the deluxe AC rooms on the first floor with a view of the lake. Our booking was, however, for the basic rooms in the dungeon-like basement. Eventually, we paid the regular rates, but got twice the value for our money.

The hotel owner is friendly and helpful, but not too keen to keep things clean. By Sri Lankan standards, the rates are moderate to high though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uday C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    7
    6
    11
See reviews for
6
8
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scarborough
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel was in a lovely location overlooking the lake.The room was spacious and comfortable with a mosquito net provided.The bathroom was dated and in need of some tlc,but at the end of the day for £25 a night B=for two what more could you want?The owner was very charming and lovely along with her staff,extremely informative and helpfull.We had a gorgeous evening meal of curry for an extra £5.
The hotel got us in touch with an excellent tuc tuc driver/guide called Raiffe.He was very safe,informative and knowledgeable and charged us £30 for the full day including all the attractions/temples monuments.The trip was fantastic with all the mindblowing monuments and templesHis number is 0777036828 (when in sri lanka).it was awsome feeding the gibbons at the temples,they were very gentle and not aggresive unlike the monkeys which were very aggresive and tried to pinch your belongings and food,so be warned!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weldman1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

With two children and only two nights in Anuradhupura the proximity of the Boa Vista to the ruins was excellent. We were able to hire four bikes, two of which were adjusted to suit our 8 & 11 year olds, and we explored about as much as is possible between dawn and dusk.
The room was comfortable for four, and the 'curry & rice' delicious.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiloo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

It could have been a beautifull guesthouse but unfortunately it is in rapid decline. The rooms are spacious with a nice view but the whole guesthouse is in a poor state. The bathroom was old and dirty. The owner was friendly but had no interest in running her guesthouse. She was sitting having drinks and sigaretes all day. Our stay was fine but the guesthouse did not leave a very good impression.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin_ijpelaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anuradhapura hotels

Britain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Although we recognise this was budget accommodation, we genuinely felt this was not worth the money.

The room was not clean and it was damp. The bed had grubby counterpanes. There were mosquitoes and the mosquito net was damaged and didn't reach across the double bed. The towels were grey. The bathroom was dirty and the shower curtain ragged. There were two cockroaches. There was only 2 minutes of hot water. See photos.

There was a wedding the day we stayed, which resulted in no staff being available, nor access to any food.

They did provide free bikes and you are allowed to use the internet in the manager's office.

I can not recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harobed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
210 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

I made a reservation for two nights at this guest house... When making the reservation, I wrote that my time of arrival would be at 4 p.m.

Unfortunately, my flight to Colombo was delayed and, therefore, I couldn't get the bus I wanted to take to Anuradhapura. My cell phone wasn't working properly and, when I finally could charge it, I tried to phone to the two telephone numbers of Boa Vista I got... I phoned ten times each number and I got no answer (I made these calls at about 7 p.m. which, from my point of view, is not a ungodly hour of the evening at all).

So, when I finally got to the town at 11 p.m., I found myself with no accommodation at all. Fortunately, the bus driver took me to some places where I could find affordable guest houses.

After solving my problems with accommodation, I rented a bike the next morning to visit the archeological area of the town. I happened to ride the bike close to the Boa Vista Guest House and I could see how isolated the whole place is. It's relatively close to the ticket booth for the ruins but it's far from the main shopping area and even farther from any of the two bus stations.

Thank you for nothing, staff of Boa Vista!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JG_Vermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

After 2 weeks in Sri Lanka and staying at a variety of guest houses, I then came to Boa Vista. The dead flowers on the Reception desk, the large broken wall clock and the aquarium which hadn't been cleaned for months should have been a clue!Good location right next to the lake but that's as good as it gets. Grubby room, dirty bathroom. Staff, when there were any, couldn't speak English although all the guests were Westerners. Inadequate breakfast and a complete feeling that the place was in rapid decline. Shame as it could be a great base while in Anuradhapura

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
2.7 mi away
Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel
Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel
#12 of 14 in Anuradhapura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Moonstone
Hotel Moonstone
#22 of 125 in Anuradhapura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lake Wave Hotel
Lake Wave Hotel
#15 of 125 in Anuradhapura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cadjan Sacred
Cadjan Sacred
#19 of 73 in Anuradhapura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Indeevarie Hotel
#12 of 73 in Anuradhapura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villu Villa
Villu Villa
#14 of 125 in Anuradhapura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boa Vista Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boa Vista Guest House

Property: Boa Vista Guest House
Address: 142 Old Putlam Rd, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Anuradhapura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Boa Vista Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boa Vista Guest House Hotel Anuradhapura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing