We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A marvellous “Rice + Curry” dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boa Vista Guest House
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Shani and her Canadian husband have built a modern, 10 room guest house with nice views of the big water tank (artificial lake) .

The rooms were clean and the A/C was kept working by an ever present electrician.

They serve western food too but if you’re fond of Sri Lankan food it’s worthwhile staying here because you’ll enjoy one of the most varied,tasty,imaginative “Rice +Curry” meals that I’ve ever had –and this was my 21st trip to Sri Lanka! The long bean curry ,devilled chicken ,chicken curry ,banana flower sambol, yellow dhal ,seeni sambol, cardamom flavoured beef curry etc were all memorable –as were the egg hoppers and fish curry for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 31 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2011

The tuktuk drivers in town do everything they can to avoid this place because the owner refuses to pay them commission. I had trouble getting someone to take me here. But it is a fantastic place at a bargain price.

Overlooking a lake, it is in the middle of the historical area, far more conveniently situated than almost every other place. The rooms are absolutely clean and to a high standard, and some have magnficent views and balconies overlooking he lake.

The owner is exceptionally helpful, and is especially keen to give advice and make sure
visits to he area are successful. She negotiated to get best value for a tour for me.

This is of a much higher standard than most other guest houses in Sri Lanka and
very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

When we arrived we were told they were fully booked and they always had problems with hostelbookers as they would not pass the bookings on. We were really tired after our trip, but when we decided to find some new accommation we were told that maybe one room would be free. Sri Lankans had booked a room and they had not turned up yet, so we could have this room for more than twice what we had booked for.When we said it was too much, we were shown a filthy small room, which we declined. All of a sudden he addressed me with my name. On challange he admitted that he had our booking and showed us a room in the basement without a window. This is the room you booked.All the time he was beeing coached by his well English speaking landlady. Beeing tired, not knowing the place and any availability of other guesthouses we then "upgraded". This seems to be a common tread reading other travellers comments, this landlady uses unashamedly. Apart from this nasty deceitful experience the superior room stank, the furniture is shabby, the bathroom mouldy and filthy and the mosquito net is full of holes. The room is never cleaned. All breakfast tables are full of old muck.
It is a shame as this hotel could be a winner with its location and how it looks on the outside. Unfortunatly it is run by a greedy and ignorant lady who clearly does not care about her guests and her property.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alwayslookingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Лучше выберите другой отель, а если выбрали не жалуйтесь)))
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ksenia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellinrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giakos76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
0.0 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#2 of 16 in Anuradhapura
532 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#8 of 16 in Anuradhapura
538 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montana Rest
Montana Rest
#3 of 156 in Anuradhapura
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bevary Holiday Home
Bevary Holiday Home
#17 of 156 in Anuradhapura
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
0.0 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#5 of 16 in Anuradhapura
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boa Vista Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boa Vista Guest House

Address: 142 Old Putlam Rd, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Anuradhapura
Price Range: $19 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Boa Vista Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boa Vista Guest House Hotel Anuradhapura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing