We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Major Hotel in Gwangju”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Gwangju
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Gwangju
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Gwangju is my birthplace and also where my wife's parents live, and since I have not been there since I was young, I needed a comfortable place for my family to stay. Traveling with a toddler is always challenging, especially choosing a hotel. Too many factors to consider. Anyway, the hotel was conveniently located. Both my wife and I speak Korean, so we never had any problems getting around. Nearby are a plenty of Korean restaurants and convenient store right behind. There is a Lotte-mart (somewhat like Costco, Tesco, or Carrefour). They have a supermarket, a fast food chain, Lotteria (A Korean McDonald's / Burger King) and retail shops. Ask concierge for direction, but I remember it is less than 10-minute walk. Upon check-in, we got our room upgraded to a suite, which has one double and one twin beds. The room was spacious with a separate sitting area and a small kitchenette. It was simply more than what a regular Ramada offers.

Room Tip: There are a plenty restaurants and shops behind the hotel. But it is also close to entertainment ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PapayaTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 102 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is just 10min far from the bus station (by taxi) and there are plenty of restaurants, starbucks and shopping malls around. The rooms are comfortable with a nice bed and several pillows (other Korean hotels only give you one hard pillow). There was a large flat screen and English channels.
There is not much to visit in Gwanju but its a great place to stop when visiting Boseong, Jirisan etc..
Also, if you are a kimchi soup lover there is a great place a corner away from Ramada, just in front of the Lotte Mart and it's 24h/7!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank the1travelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here for two weeks on business in November 2011. Our rooms were not luxurious, but they were spacious, decently furnished and clean. The bed is comfortable and I got a good nights sleep every night. Though the hotel is a bit away from the downtown area of Gwangju, it is an easy and inexpensive cab ride to get there (one thing to note: there are no cabs waiting at the hotel-you have to go out to the road and flag one down yourself). The hotel is directly acroos the street from a huge Lotte mart, which is convenient if there is anything that you forgot to bring with you! There are many restaurants and bars close to the hotel, but we felt that the places downtown had a lot more character. Of special note in the downtwon area are the street of "oritang (duck soup)" restaurants (great experience) and the Ethnic cafe (loads of cool atmosphere). The restaurant/bar at the top of the hotel is very nice with good views over the surrounding area. The complementary breakfast is of good quality, but the hot selections do not change much. The desk staff is friendly and courteous, though they don't always seem to go the extra mile like you would find in a true five star hotel. All in all, however, this is most likely the best place to stay in Gwangju.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I'd say this is one of the best places to stay in Gwangju. The rooms are modern, tastefully furnished and well equipped. Large bathroom and lovely comfy bed. The restaurant and bar has good views over the city and serves good quality prawns and salmon. The staff at check-in and check-out were friendly and good humoured. Free parking in a secure garage under the hotel. The only slight negative would be the rooms could be a little bit cleaner, they weren't exactly dirty but the carpet did have a few stains and the taps in the bathroom were in need of a good polish and a more thorough cleaning. There were hairs from other guests in the bathtub.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wre3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I was accommodated at the Ramada by the organisers of a conference at Chosun University. It took 20 or more minutes to get to Chosun each morning so it was not wonderfully convenient but it is close to the coach terminus and the railway station. It's also close to dozens of restaurants from cheap and cheerful to traditional and expensive. Some of the best restaurants seem well-hidden on the first floor of anonymous towers.

Talking to the other conference attendees, it seemed that the Ramada is 'the' hotel in town. The rooms, as the photographs show, are large, spotless and very comfortable. Huge windows mean lots of light and good views of the plethora of neon signs out towards the mountains.

The restaurant on the 17th floor offers an excellent breakfast buffet although it only opens at 7am which for jet-lagged travellers can be a bit late. At night the place becomes an expensive bar and an opportunity to see business men (and I mean men) 'enjoy' themselves with their new-found friends.

Service varies from the warm and welcoming to the cold and inscrutable. There are only two lifts and they seem to work independently so press both buttons. On the ground floor the right-hand lift button was hidden behind a notice-board so the wait-time was sometimes way too long. Some front-desk staff have exceptionally basic English. These, though, are minor gripes. The cost of the wi-fi is, as with most hotels, shockingly expensive which is a major gripe.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely - clean, very comfortable and cosy.

Room Tip: High rooms have good views but there are only two lifts and you can wait a long time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin_Dillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Standard room was huge, and had great floor to ceiling windows with excellent view of city. Subway station is about ten minutes walk from hotel. Staff were helpful.

Hotel is not really located near anything except restaurants, takes about 30 mins on Subway to get to nightclub/shopping/restaurant area of Chungjang. Found a empty condom wrapper under bed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I was in Gwangju on a conference and all the arrangements were made for me – and so well made – I could not wish for better!

The hotel was excellent – nothing was too much trouble. I had to leave very early and miss breakfast so I asked if they could do something. The result was a very substantial sandwich and 3 different drinks – very welcome as jet lag makes you very thirsty.

Most of the time I ate as part of the conference package – either at the Ramada or at the Conference Centre. But the first night I was in the hotel on my own. The staff were friendly and welcoming without being intrusive – just the right balance for a woman on her own. The food was excellent. Never having been this far East before, I was looking forward to trying the food. And the hotel restaurant was an excellent place to try. The basic meal was called ‘Korean salad’ served buffet style – if my memory serves me right. It was just what I wanted – the chance to taste small amounts of lots of different dishes – and I enjoyed them all!

As I did not pay the hotel bill, I cannot comment on value for money so have entered a 4 not to drag the score down too far. It is a 4 as I found Korea as expensive as the UK in many ways – and some much dearer. Sleep quality should have been excellent but my body clock was too far out of synch - bed, linen etc was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vivienne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gwangju hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Gwangju
Holiday Inn Gwangju
#1 of 27 in Gwangju
197 reviews
3.9 mi away
Geumsoojang Tourist Hotel
3.7 mi away
No photo provided
A.C.C Design Hotel
#4 of 27 in Gwangju
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Benikea Hotel Art Hall
Benikea Hotel Art Hall
#12 of 27 in Gwangju
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Firenze Hotel
Firenze Hotel
#9 of 27 in Gwangju
17 reviews
5.2 mi away
Shinyang Park Hotel
Shinyang Park Hotel
#13 of 27 in Gwangju
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Gwangju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Gwangju

Address: 149, Sangmujayu-ro, Seo-gu, Gwangju 61949, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gwangju
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Gwangju
Price Range: $129 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Gwangju 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Gwangju reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Gwangju Hotel Gwangju

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing