We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile visit”
Review of Mahmet Pasha Hamam

Ranked #8 of 19 things to do in Prizren
Attraction details
Hampshire
Level Contributor
340 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Worthwhile visit”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Do go inside the Hamam. It gives a good view of how these were laid out. There are no information boards provided.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank LoneBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Walk/jog down/up to the ruins for a view”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Leaving from the historical centre I attempted to jog up to it. I got just past the music school when I had to curb my ambitions. Walking the remainder, I was rewarded with fantastic views of the city (the size of Prizren only becomes apparent from above). It could do with safety barriers, signs indicating the significance of it and a general clean up, but it is superb.

Continuing my jog off to the right of the castle and further up hill (far more gentle), around a forrest path for about 20 more minutes until it meets the river and a main road. (For one thing, this is the longest/safest/crater free pathway I have traverses in Kosovo). The circuit was complete running with the river until it came in beside a playground, the Marashi mosque, that blue and White stripped building and ultimately the cafes on that bank ofvthe river before returning to the hisorical centre to top on water in the foundation by the large Mosque.

Not a bad way to justify a large breakfast.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Con76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Australia
Level Contributor
345 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Great Views - Needs Maintenance”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Well worth the walk up, the views are tremendous to the distant mountains. Friendly locals on way up offered drinks. Site itself was interesting but underwhelming in terms of information available and general condition of the site. Some work was in progress while I was there so look for improvement.

I found Prizren an interesting city and once there you have to climb and see this!

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
Thank Attilla64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

A bit of a steep walk up to the top but once you're there, you get 360 degree views of the area. Great way to get your head around the tiny little town and enjoy the mountain scenery.
There are a couple signs around explaining how to get to the top. Only takes about an hour to do but if you don't feel like wasting the day in coffee shops (easy to do when everything is less than a euro!) I say go for it. That's the great thing about Kosovo - it's not heaving with tourists yet so you won't be shoving fanny-packers the whole time.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahmet Pasha Hamam also viewed

 

Been to Mahmet Pasha Hamam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing