We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stilish, recently refurbished, hotel with spectacular views on the River Moraca”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Podgorica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Podgorica
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Podgorica
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stilish, recently refurbished, hotel with spectacular views on the River Moraca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

Hotel Podgorica occupies probably the best location in town: it sits right on the back of River Moraca, with a view over what remains of the ancient walls of the old town (not much), and the spot where the confluence of a smaller affluent into the Moraca forms a little beach.

The hodel is very modern and stilish: its exterior walls are decorated with river stone, giving it a sophisticated touch, and blending the modern building well into the surroundings.

The hotel is located within a small park, next to the open air swimming pool, which often hosts waterpolo matches.
A short walk over the bridge will lead to the city centre.

The terrace bar with a view over the river is obviously its most attractive feature.

Internet (the chain of the business traveler) is offered in all rooms, with a cable connection that requires a small change to the settings of the computer: this may not work on corporate laptops which have security restrictions.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nymphaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    56
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
24
9
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

Hotel Podgorica is well situated and has a great terrase facing the river Moraca and a good restaurant. Its one of the better stays in the city, but quite pricy for this small town.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrunfSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

Rooms were a dgood size with large balcony's over look the river Morača. This hotel is located in a quite part of the city, but you must cross a bridge to get to the city center.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathan172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2008

Hotel Podgorica is built in 1967 in a style that can be characterised as "Eastern Europe meets Rocky Mountains". It is located along the river, and it takes a 10 minute walk to reach the city center that starts on the other side of the bridge (that is, in bad weather, you take a taxi). The immediate surroundings are not that impressing for the moment, as there are several construction projects going on. The hotel itself is in extremely good condition, where all modern amenities awaits the traveler - in our case, even a private jacuzzi.

Staff is attentive and welcoming, bar is good (slightly below international standard, though), breakfeast is excellent. Taxis are usually easily available, and it takes about 15-20 minutes to reach the airport in rush traffic.

Most restaurants and shops are to be found in the city centre, but there are also some excellent dining to be found on the same side of the river (not least the "Maws").

  • Liked — Service, rooms, breakfeast
  • Disliked — Present surroundings (construction sites)
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jorrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
440 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2008

Once we found it, we were driving from Buda, we were very pleasantly surprised. Location was good enough but not really walking distance to the centre.
Room was comfortable with a balcony overlooking the river. Bar was a little too modern for my choice but service was good. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Liked — View over the gardens and the river
  • Disliked — A matter of taste but I found it too modern
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank peter_glazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

I stay for one night in a junior suite at the Hotel Podgorica. One could be forgiven for wondering if the hotel is still in business as the website is down and several travel sites inaccurately list the hotel's old Yugoslavian phone number beginning with +381 making contacting the hotel sometimes difficult.

I arrived after a difficult 12 hour drive from Sofia, Bulgaria and was tired, stiff, and a bit cranky. But the hotel staff were lovely, quickly checked me in took my luggage and brought me to my room on the ground floor. It was a large, resasonably simple room divided by a half-wall between a living area and bedroom. There was no way to watch tv from the bed which was disappointing and few English language channels (no CNN, BBC, etc.) but I had a lovely balcony in both rooms with nice views to a residential area and a pond.

The bed was average, I would have perferred more pillows and a slightly thicker blanket but the furnishings were very useful and comfortable. The fitness was center was new and luxurious by Montenegrian standards. The bathroom was lovely with an increadible shower cabin and seperate tub which were great. The room was also kitted out with a new flat-screen television. (Although as I said, little to watch for English speakers)

On Sundays the resteraunt is closed so when I arrived I could not have room service. After such a drive, I was less than thrilled about this but a lovely staff member suggested a pizza place that delivers where he himself eats and I had 2 great calzones for less than 5 euro total. I look forward to eating there again when i return.

I would definately stay here again and while Podgorica is not the most picturesque of places in Montenegro I found a lovely hotel with helpful and friendly staff who seemed to genuniely appreciate my business.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank abcdxyz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2008

When we were looking for a hotel in Podgorica, we didn't have much information. But this one hotel kept coming up. All hotels in Podgorica are quite expensive - but we loved the setting of this completely remodeled hotel. We liked it so much we stayed there on two different occasions on the same trip.

It is definitely a 4 Star - with all the amenities that go along with that. But it is the setting - off the main street by several hundred meters, overlooking the river that completely sold us. The staff is very nice. They very kindly stored our bicycles in the luggage room behind the front desk. (Most places in Montenegro made no effort at all to accommodate our bicycles. They looked at us like - it's only a bike! What's the big deal?)

The restaurant is open from 6:00am to midnight except Sunday nights when they are closed. We found a very good restaurant about a 5 minute walk away. There are no elevators, though it is only 2 floors. Each room (I believe) has a deck overlooking the river. There is great high-speed internet. They will rent you an ethernet cable for 5 Euro a day. If you have your own, it is free.

It was a little odd for such a nice, luxury-category hotel there was no clock in the room. No CNN or BBC but there was some English language channels. Oh, and the bathrooms outside the restaurant downstairs?? Ladies beware of the mirror. It is difficult to describe why it is so disorienting but just take care. The green lighting doesn't help. Yes, who knows about the green lights! One of those funny quirks.

  • Liked — Great location, very nice staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mtdiablo-bike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Podgorica hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Podgorica
Ramada Podgorica
#2 of 17 in Podgorica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Aurel
Hotel Aurel
#1 of 17 in Podgorica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Podgorica Crna Gora
Hilton Podgorica Crna Gora
#4 of 17 in Podgorica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Philia
Hotel Philia
#9 of 17 in Podgorica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#10 of 17 in Podgorica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.7 mi away
CentreVille Hotel & Experiences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Podgorica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Podgorica

Property: Hotel Podgorica
Address: Svetlane Kane Radevic 1, Podgorica, Podgorica Municipality 81000, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Podgorica Municipality > Podgorica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Podgorica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Podgorica 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Podgorica offers 44 rooms and suites, equipped according to high standards, specialized in sports, business and MICE tourism. It was built in 1967 on the bank of river Moraca, based on the project of Svetlana Kana Radevic, for which she was awarded a architectural award of ex-Yugoslavia, with the special emphasis on fitting the hotel into its existing surrounding environment. The greatest uniqueness of the hotel's architecture is the cornerstone carved into the exterior walls. Situated in the heart of the city, along the river that flows beneath the terrace, green trees and chirping birds, it provides complete isolation in our oasis of peace. It disposes of conference rooms that are ideal for business meetings, conferences and other gatherings. Aperitif bar of the hotel is one of the most popular venues of businesspeople in the city. Within the hotel, there is a souvenir shop, gym, business desk as well as the free parking space for hotel guests. In the vicinity of the hotel, there are open courts of the sport center "Moraca", which gives an opportunity to the hotel guests for additional recreation and swimming in the swimming pool. The hotel's restaurant ,,Three centuries" with the terrace that faces the river is one of the most beautiful parts of the hotel, where you can enjoy in traditional and international specialties. We also kindly recommend you our sushi menu. If you love the drink of the gods, we strongly recommend our wine list, which has 138 types of wine. You can indulge in pleasure while you're tasting them in the mystic ambiance of Taverna, as well as in the JustClub. And finally our greatest value is our staff that is courteous, positive and always smilling. Visit us and find out why you will become our friends, who will always come back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Podgorica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing