We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low price, but you get what you pay for here”
Review of Hostel Izvor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Izvor
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Location is not great so would only recommend you stay here if you have a car. It is about a 15-20 minute drive to old and new town.

we had a private double with bathroom. The place was dirty, dusty, and it smelled. The sheets were faded and rough. The breakfast included was ok, not great.

The staff was nice enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 31 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

The room I was in was stinking. It was an eight bed dorm without heating. The smell was literally of a cat litter tray. It's also a bit too far from the town centre. The building looks ok from the outside, but the work inside is a bit of a mixed bodge job. Almost like they've only ever half finished anything.

The guy on reception seemed helpful, but in reality wasn't that helpful apart from booking my taxi the next morning to the bus station.

This has to be one of the worst places I have ever stayed. I was very glad to get out of this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thejournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Hostel is a little bit away from the centre of Podgorica which isn't really a problem since taxi cabs are really cheap (around 3€ to the centre). It's located next to a beautiful river with the first market only 10min away. The building itself is maybe not in the best possible condition but considering the price you are paying (about 10€/night) it is a decent place to stay. The staff is very helpful and simply fun to be around. If you're lucky you might get to attend one of their parties, they tend to be quite...amusing! I do however recommend you bring your own toilet paper because it tends to run out fairly quickly and also, if you're a vegetarian be a little flexible when it comes to food, Montenegrins tend to eat meat three times a day, And cabbage, Lot's of cabbage.

Room Tip: There are two parts of this hostel, try to get one on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Špela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed for 7 days in Hostel Izvor for a training with 35 other youngsters.
I enjoyed time that i stayed there,the staff was really kind and helped us with everything.
The nature was amazing there,in hostel is a free-internet everywhere and staying there was very comfortable.You have to go in Hostel Izvor and for sure you will enjoy time there.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tirana_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed at Hostel Izvor in October 2011. The purpose of my stay was because England were playing football in Podgorica so decided we would like cheap accomodation but where we were likely to meet other travellers.

We had come someway to get to Podgorica as we had travelled around the Balkans en route. It is ideally situated because after we made our way from our previous stop in Kolasin (and before that Serbia) it was on the main road we were coming in on. If you continue on that main road you end up in Podgorica itself or make tracks to other places in Montenegro (Nikisc where the beer is brewed - not a tourist place but nice people and plenty of bars, Budva - beautiful, Kotor and Tivat equally beautiful.) In fact Kotor is a must!

Back on the subject of the hostel, we were in touch with Nikola Pesic who owns the hostel. He made sure we had all information we needed, travel directions and booked is in for as long as required.

When we finally met Nikola he was extremeley helpful and ensured there were beers waiting for us whilst the rooms were prepared! We also met his family who were also very nice people.

The hostel has a little wooden chalet which is the bar area. It is a good bar, plenty of room and good beer available. Service was quick and the music was always good. It was quite a party in there on the nights when the hostel was full.

The rooms are big and just like any other hostel rooms. Beds, bedding, wardrobes and lots of room! The bathroom facilities are communal.

Nikola was happy to help with anything we needed and even secured us with match tickets for the game. I suggest when you book to stay here you contact Nikola and he will ensure everything is sorted for you.

I would not hesitate to return here and I made some friends for life both guests and staff. I will in fact return in March when the football is on again.

The hostel is not far from the centre. The price in a taxi can differ but still it is cheap. We paid 10 euros for the taxi for four people. When the football had finished this was just 2.5 euros so clearly the local taxis marked it up because 'England were in town'. That said 10 Euros seemed reasonable anyway!

On the occasions he was not working Nikola drove us to town.

The town is very untourist like - which we liked! No McDonalds, no KFC etc. Quite communist and not as beautiful as the scenery in and around the hostel. But still interesting.

All in all, like the country itself the hostel makes you feel at home from the very warm and friendly people.

Would definitely return even if just travelling independently. Good base.

We went in October and the weather was fantastic but for one day (although that day we were treat to a fantastic lightening show!)

As mentioned the people were extremely friendly to the point where we spent more time with the Montenegrins than the English.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hostel and enjoyed it verry much. The staff is really kind, the rooms, dorms, toilets and showers are clean and there is a coasy atmosphere. There is free internet and it's a good starting place for your trip around Montengro.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erik-en-Bart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hostel is 100m off the main road into town, very well signposted so it's easy to find and has everything you want from hostel accommodation - clean sheets, big rooms, wireless internet, several bathrooms, hot water, plenty of space to park your car/motorcycle, etc.

However, they advertise a restaurant and "breakfast included"... the restaurant has no food whatsoever, which means there is no dinner option, no lunch option, and no breakfast. The nearest restaurant is a 2km walk away so eat before you arrive and bring breakfast with you.

If I'm being 100% fair, the receptionist last night was a nice guy (3 words of English, 5 words of German) and this morning they did make me a coffee. But that's not breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diebschlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Podgorica
0 mi away
Lodge Between The Pine Trees
Lodge Between The Pine Trees
#1 of 1 in Gorazdevac
2 reviews
3.2 mi away
Montenegro Hostel
Montenegro Hostel
#2 of 32 in Podgorica
47 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hostel Podgorica
Hostel Podgorica
#11 of 32 in Podgorica
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Laguna
Hotel Laguna
#1 of 27 in Podgorica
208 reviews
4.2 mi away
Guest House Radonjic
Guest House Radonjic
#8 of 32 in Podgorica
7 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Kosta's
Hotel Kosta's
#16 of 17 in Podgorica
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Izvor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Izvor

Address: Smokovac bb, Podgorica, Podgorica Municipality 81000, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Podgorica Municipality > Podgorica
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Podgorica
Price Range: $28 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Izvor 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostel Izvor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing